We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in an excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Montague on The Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Montague on The Gardens to your Saves list
The Montague on The Gardens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BJ, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 nights for 2
Ranked #9 of 1,066 Hotels in London
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in an excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The communal rooms were warm, welcoming and well-appointed, and the staff were polite, friendly and always willing and eager to help.The attention to detail was evident throughout my stay, and I loved the home-made cookies delivered to my room on my arrival. The first room in which I stayed (a single) was comfortable, but very small. However, due to an issue with the shower (to which the staff responded quickly and efficiently), I was moved to another single room, which had a different layout, more space and was more comfortable. The bathrooms were modern and clean and and even though I had a room facing the street, it was very quiet

I loved my stay here and would definitely recommend it

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments following your stay with us.

I was sorry to read that you had an issue with the shower in your room; however I am pleased that the staff were able to find you another suitable room quickly and efficiently.

I am delighted to read that you found the communal rooms to be warm, welcoming and well appointed. We aim to create a comfortable home from home feeling and I am glad that we have been able to provide this.

We are very proud of our staff at The Montague and it is always pleasing to receive such kind comments as yours. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed.

Thank you for your kind recommendation to others and I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,970
    426
    77
    21
    9
See reviews for
397
1,198
182
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Fantastic Hotel near the British Museum. Staff could not be anymore helpful. Love teatime in the afternoon. Makes you feel like royalty ! Its just a great Hotel and makes traveling fun! Even all the rain in London does not spoil your mood when staying at this Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review following your recent visit to the Montague hotel.

It pleases me to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the bad weather didn’t spoil your mood whilst in London!

Our staff take genuine interest in our guests and we try to make their stay one that is comfortable and memorable. We are very proud of our team and it is always pleasing to receive such kind comments as yours.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was our second stay at the Montague and this time we were there for 9 nights.
From our previous trip in May to this last one in December, the Montague has climbed from 10th to 5th in Trip Advisor's rating preference and it is very easy to see why. The hotel is a gem and the staff is the highlight.
They are ALL really kind and helpful and will do anything possible to make you feel special!
Their location is a plus too.. They're really close to Holborn station, to all major theatres, some great restaurants and right across the British Museum.
Seriously: look no further.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely comments about your recent stay with us.

As much-valued guests, your feedback is extremely important to us as it helps us to improve the services and facilities that we provide and I am therefore delighted that we have once again met your expectations.

Here at the Montague, our staff take genuine interest in our guests and aim to make them feel at home and ensure they have a comfortable and memorable experience. I shall ensure that your kind praise and thanks is passed on to the staff and that their service is duly recognised.
I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Firstly it was real easy to get from Heathrow Airport on the underground-Piccadilly line all the way. Location - Superb. We were met with friendly enthusiasm and a reception filled with beautiful Red Flowering Amaryllis. The Christmas cheer was in full force. A harp was played throughout Christmas day and it created a wonderful tranquility. Everyone we encountered working at the hotel went out of their way to assist with whatever we required. The kids enjoyed the Xmas stockings filled with treats and gifts. Both rooms we stayed in were beautifully decorated and spacious. Thank you making our stay over Xmas so memorable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback following your stay with us.

I was thrilled to read that you had a pleasant festive break with us here at the Montague and that enjoyed the harpist and stockings for your children.

Our staff take much pride in ensuring that our guests’ stay is one that is comfortable and memorable and so I am delighted to read that we were able to fulfil this. I will ensure that your kind comments are passed on to the team.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Booked this hotel for two nights in November. Very easy to get to from 2 tube stations, and right next door to the British Museum. Good restaurants within a three block radius as well as a couple of pubs.
We had a standard king room which looked out onto the garden and was therefor very quiet. The room was very well appointed though cramped for two people and their luggage. Very comfortable bed and great shower. Staff were more than accommodating and were certainly anxious that your stay was as pleasant as possible. This hotels reputation seems to be well deserved. Would stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the garden side which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review following your recent visit.

It pleases me to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the mattress to be comfortable and felt that the shower was great.

We are very proud of our staff at The Montague and it is always delightful to receive such kind comments as yours. I am thrilled that they made your stay as pleasant as possible. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed.

I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The title fully express our feeling. We stayed at the hotel in the suite in October. It is nicely located right next to the British museum and 10 minutes walk from covent garden,it has a very British ambiance and the staff are probably the most friendly competent and helpful we have ever met ( only Egerton hotel compares with them). On the other hand the suite although spacious is located in the basement a fact which was not disclosed to us when we booked. The bathroom and shower room are tiny with with only a ceiling shower and the mattress of the second bedroom uncomfortable. In general the furnishing was larger than the appropriate size making movement in the room a bit difficult. A 5 star rating is more appropriate than it's current rating.

Room Tip: Rooms are generally small but ask them to remove some of the furnishing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay here at the Montague.

I was sorry to read that you were disappointed with the location of the suite and that you felt the bathroom to be small. I am very concerned to read of your discomfort with our mattress in the suite. We do regularly inspect our mattresses and replace them as necessary. Please rest assured that we shall re-check all the mattresses in the suite as a priority.

I would like to thank you for your feedback and apologise for any disappointment this would have caused to you.

However, I was pleased to read your kind comments about the staff. We are very proud of our staff at The Montague and it is always pleasing to receive such kind comments as yours. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed.

I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel or our sister hotel, the Egerton in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Our U.S. travel group of 32 could not have been more delighted or impressed with our stay at the Montague. The entire staff was fantastic and went out of their way to make sure everything was wonderful. The warm ambience of the hotel was welcoming and cosy, we all felt totally at home.
Fabulous location, ski lodge was charming (what a brilliant idea). Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a visit to London. Thank you for all you did to make this the most memorable New Year's for all of us!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your lovely review about your recent stay with us.

We are very proud of our staff at The Montague and it is always pleasing to receive such lovely and kind comments as yours. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and create that home from home feeling and so it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the Ski Lodge and found the hotel to be warm, welcoming and cosy.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Montague on The Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montague on The Gardens

Address: 15 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn , Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in London
#5 Family Hotel in London
#9 Luxury Hotel in London
#11 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Montague on The Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Montague on The Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montague On The Gardens Hotel London
The Montague On Gardens
Montague On The Gardens London
Montague Gardens
The Montague On The Gardens London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Montague on The Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.