We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect first night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Montague on The Gardens

Save Saved
You added The Montague on The Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Montague on The Gardens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BJ, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 1,073 hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect first night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I stayed at the hotel the night before my wedding, and on my wedding night. The hotel were brilliant. Attentive, considerate and kind. They upgraded my room to a suite, and surprised my husband and I with champagne, candles and rose petals in our room. The cherry on top of a perfect day. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments about your recent visit to the Montague.

Many congratulations on your recent wedding. I’m delighted to read that you found the hotel and staff to be attentive, considerate and kind. I shall ensure that all of your kind comments and praise are passed on to the staff and that their service is duly recognized.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,800
    396
    74
    19
    9
See reviews for
369
1088
176
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights with our 17 year old daughter who had a sofa bed. We found everything clean and ready for us when we arrived an hour before check in time. During our stay the bar area was closed off for a private function on the Saturday night which meant that hotel guests had a very small area to sit and have drinks. However, staff were very attentive and hotel guests were treated to complimentary drinks.
We ordered late supper one night after being out for a show, about 11:30, just a plate of dips. After half hour we cancelled as room service had not shown up and we were ready for bed. In the morning, after my husband had been to breakfast, we had a call from a member of staff to apologise about the slow response from room service. The hotel said that my husband's breakfast that morning was complimentary.
We enjoyed our stay and found everything was tip top and the staff extremely well trained, polite and attentive. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay here at the Montague.

I was sorry to read that you were unable to access the bar during your stay. Unfortunately during the festive season we do have private functions on occasions. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the disappointment this would have caused to you.

I was also disappointed to read that you had ordered room service which you didn’t receive. I am extremely sorry about this, but am glad to read that the issue was dealt with and the staff were able to apologise to you. I have passed your feedback on to my Food and Beverage Manager in order that we may revisit our procedures and training in this area.

I am however, pleased to read that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and found everything to be clean and ready for your arrival. Your kind comments about the staff being well trained, polite and attentive are very much appreciated. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

When I pop into a hotel for a drink, almost never, or pick up my daughter from a teenage party in a hotel, first time, I dont expect to have a very pleasant experience, however this hotel gave me such personal, and charing service, I wanted to make a note.

Personally shown to the old fashioned traditional bar by a receptionist, there was popcorn, olives and nuts on the tables, Champagne and Prosocco by the glass, and plenty of choice in the way of drinks. Deckland the waiter / barman was very pleasant, had time to tell me about the hotel.

As No 5 on the tripadvisor, website, it well deserves this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments about your recent visit to the Montague.

We are extremely proud of our staff and it is always pleasing to receive such kind comments as yours. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed. I shall ensure that all of your kind comments and praise are passed on to Declan and that his service is duly recognized.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel that absolutely lives up to all of the wonderful reviews it receives. The location of the hotel combined with the fabulous staff and lovely atmosphere of the rooms and all of the common areas made this a wonderful choice for our family's first trip to London. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments about your recent visit to the Montague.

I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the staff to be fabulous. Here at the Montague we aim to create an atmosphere that makes our guests feel comfortable and their visit one that is memorable.

I would like to personally thank you for your kind recommendation and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I really can't say enough positive things about The Montague. I was there for four nights in November 2012. My room, while small, was exquisitely appointed. I felt like I was a guest in a palace. Bathroom, toiletries--top notch. I loved the rainstorm-type shower. It was fantastic that a full English breakfast was included, so I could fuel up before heading out each day. And when I came back to my room, exhausted from exploring London, I could order delicious comfort food from the room service menu, which arrived promptly and prepared to perfection. And now for the service--the staff could not have done more to show that my comfort and happiness truly were priorities for them. Feeling a little ill? They'll offer to send peppermint tea to your room. Not sure of the best way to get to your desired attraction? They'll give you detailed, easy-to-follow directions. Fussy eater? They'll prepare your food just as you want it. Have an early flight? They'll hire you a comfy car and pleasant driver to get you to Heathrow on time. No muss, no fuss. Bonus: The Montague is just steps from the British Museum. Wonderful, wonderful, all the way around. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and especially your room and the rain shower.

Here at the Montague our staff take genuine interest in our guests’ needs. We like to ensure that you have everything you may need during your visit to London to make your stay comfortable and pleasurable. I’m delighted to read that we were able to provide this for you.

I would like to thank you for your kind recommendation and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We just came back from a weekend stay at this hotel and have to say we loved it. It really is a little gem of a hotel and will be my go to base for London from now on.
The hotel is a boutique hotel just off Russell Square so walking distance to all the major attractions or just a short tube ride away.
The hotel is lovel and the room we were assigned (227) was beautiful and opulent. Our room was over two floors which was a nice surprise and we were even given a box of homemade goodies to devour when we checked in.
The hotel staff could not do enough for us and the service was second to none. Its rare these days in alot of london hotels to be treated like the staff actually care about your custom and I know because this is a small boutique hotel they can afford the time but honestly the staff are amazing.
We managed to visit the Ski Lodge as well on this trip and really wish we could fit in another trip to London before Christmas to do this again as it was so much fun and so Christmasy. If you are in London try and book to go as it really is something different and the food and the flavoured vodkas are great.
I will be back.

Room Tip: Love room 227. Split onto two levels but big enough to sleep three comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you liked your room and felt it to be beautiful and opulent and that our staff gave great service. We are very proud of our staff and it is always pleasing to receive such feedback as yours.

I am also delighted that you enjoyed the Montague Ski Lodge and thank you for your kind recommendation to others. I am pleased to let you know that the Ski Lodge opening has been extended to the 3rd February 2013.

Thank you for your kind comment that the Montague is a ‘gem of a hotel’ and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

my partner and I stayed here for 3 nights recently we were totally blown away by the staff and the service they provide. we have never felt so cared for in a hotel before.
nothing was too much trouble . I was unwell and all efforts were made to help me get up and about quickly including helping to find a doctor. We enjoyed our meal in the bistro and they also went out of their way to accommodate my fussy eating request!!
noting my partners birthday and our first year wedding anniversary was so special to us as a gay couple. ( married in NYC) last year.
Yes the rooms are small but so fantastically appointed I cannot imagine there is anything you could want that's not provided.
We were thrilled with our experience and will stay nowhere else in London in future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay with us.

Congratulations on your first wedding anniversary. Here at the Montague we aim to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible and ensure they have everything they may need. I’m sorry to read that you were not feeling too well but am glad that the staff were able to help with a doctor and hope that it didn’t interrupt your stay too much.

I’m thrilled that you enjoyed your meal in our restaurant; the Blue Door Bistro and that you had a memorable time celebrating your partner’s birthday and your anniversary.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Montague on The Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montague on The Gardens

Address: 15 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn , Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#4 Business Hotel in London
#9 Luxury Hotel in London
#12 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Montague on The Gardens 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Montague on The Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montague On The Gardens Hotel London
The Montague On Gardens
Montague On The Gardens London
Montague Gardens
The Montague On The Gardens London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Montague on The Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.