We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Love You Montague! Truly amazing wedding anniversary experience xxx” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Montague on The Gardens

Save Saved
You added The Montague on The Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Montague on The Gardens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BJ, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 nights for 2
Ranked #6 of 1,071 hotels in London
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“We Love You Montague! Truly amazing wedding anniversary experience xxx”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Firstly, The Montague hosted our wedding reception in November 2011, making our day truly memorable, we organised the whole event in 10 weeks (!) and they made it as smooth and as seamless as possible, the whole team are professional and approachable as they ushered two novices through the whole process! Guests could not praise the reception highly enough, saying it was the best wedding venue/food/atmosphere they'd been too. If you want an intimate, boutique, stylish but not pretentiousness, affordable and accessible venue in the heart of literary London, this is your place!

As the day was such a whirlwind, and because we had been hankering to return since then, we decided to come back for the night to celebrate our 11 years together and our 1 year wedding anniversary. As others have described, from the moment you step in, it is a haven of tranquility from the starkness of London, to the timeless warmth and beauty of the hotel. Check in was smooth and we were greeted like we were the first guests ever to arrive, happy to be there. THEN, we could not believe our ears when they congratulated us on our anniversary and said they were upgrading us to a very special room, none other than the Guv'nor suite! We were just so touched and so excited - even more so when we entered the 2 bedroom apartment! It was amazing!!! And we couldn't believe they had done that for us. They simply didn't have to, but they did. The pictures are accurate, but don't quite do justice to the way in which you will relax in the sanctuary of this suite. But it was not over yet - we returned from dinner to rose petals on the bed, and in the bath, a plate of delicious canapes, Bea's home made cookies, happy anniversary written in chocolate (yum!!!), lip balms on our pillows and a hand written note from the manager. Truly special.

Thus, I can only emphasize what others have said before, and will continue to say again - it is the small touches, the attention to detail, the genuine and authentic way in which the staff engage, the feeling of knowing you are in good hands, without ever feeling intruded upon, that makes this place different. We are both born and brought up in London, but we experienced our time as though we were tourists, which is no mean feat! We relaxed in comfort and style, enjoying our suite, the terrace bar, a scrumptious breakfast, and slept like babies. We not only reminisced on our memories of the year before, but made new ones. Amazing.

As you can tell we loved every minute of our stay - and we look forward to recommending it to others and to revisiting over our coming years together.

So once again, thank you from the bottom of our hearts.

Kelly & Georgina xxxxxx

and p.s in case it needs to be said, yes, they are 'gay friendly' - but more than that they are 'people friendly' - regardless of gender, sexuality, nationality, etc... that is at the heart, as it can and 'should' be, a home from home for us. Ty xxx

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely feedback regarding your recent stay here at the Montague on the Gardens hotel.

Many congratulations on your 1st wedding anniversary. I was delighted to hear that you returned to the Montague in celebration of this.

We are very proud of our staff and it is always pleasing to receive such complimentary comments as yours. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the romantic turndown and little gifts we left for you. We aim to give our guests a home from home feeling and I am so happy that we were able to provide this for you both on this special occasion.

I would like to thank you personally for your kind recommendation. I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to stay at the Montague in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,068 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,616
    357
    70
    16
    9
See reviews for
326
980
168
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at The Montague on The Gardens for one night when we were up in London for a show. The hotel is in a quiet road behind the British Museum.

Everything about is was wonderful - elegant & stylish. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The room was luxurious and very comfortable. Afternoon tea was delicious.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your stay at the Montague.

I was pleased to read that you felt everything was wonderful during your stay, especially the comfort of your room and the afternoon tea. We are very proud of our staff and it is always pleasing to receive such kind comments as yours.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bury st edmunds
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I have stayed here on many occasions, my oldest friend stays there all the time, it is truly a gem, the staff make it truly great, they are all friendly and helpfull. I was therejust yesterday. The amosphere is classically ellegant. The rooms have been styled with gentle elegance and very comfortable, the only downside like many fine hotels, they do not have really bight lighting available in the bathroom, for old gentlemen like myself, no problem, ladies need to see to do their hair and make up. All in all a delight to return again and again, great selection of wine and champagne at a cosy comfortable bar and the afternoon tea, is not to be missed.

Room Tip: They have garden rooms which are lovely no need to go in the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your complimentary comments regarding your recent stay at the Montague.

As regular and much-valued guests, your feedback is extremely important to us as it helps us to improve the services and facilities that we provide and I am therefore delighted that we have once again met your expectations. We are very proud of our staff and it is always pleasing to receive such kind feedback.

I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed our selection of wine and champagne in our bar and that you would recommend our afternoon tea.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Montague on the Gardens soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I managed to get a great deal for this hotel and couldn't have been happier. From an earlier than expected room being ready for me, to the wonderfully responsive and polite concierge staff, from the coffee freely available in the lounge to the cosy and comfortable bedroom overlooking the gardens, it was a joy to stay here. I would be happy paying the full rate for what was a lovely stay. I came and went a few times doing the day and their attention to detail and to me as a customer never waned or seemed forced - a pleasure. So easy to get to and a nice walk to covent garden and around Bloomsbury.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback following your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you had a comfortable stay here at the Montague and that you appreciated the room being ready earlier for you. We are very proud of our staff and it is always pleasing to receive such kind comments as yours.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Montague on the Gardens in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights to take in 2 shows and Remembrance Sunday at the cenotaph. We have passed the hotel when staying in other hotels in the locality and thought it was time to try it. We weren't disappointed and will definitely stay here again, We were greeted with a warm welcome plus complimentary tea and cookies, We had a room at the back overlooking the garden and although it was small it was beautifully furnished with a lovely bathroom with mood lighting. Complimentary bottled water is provided as well as tea and coffee. When the maid came in to do the turn down service she changed the towels for the 2nd time that day, emptied the bin and cleaned the bath and sinks again! Robes and slippers are provided as well as luxury toiletries and all the usual appliances, The bed and pillows were very comfortable, the air con was quiet and we never heard a sound all night, The breakfast was very good with very attentive staff. The location is excellent for us as we prefer to walk rather than using the tube - it's 20 mins from Kings Cross and 15 mins from Covent Garden. We had afternoon tea at a famous store in Knightsbridge but wished we'd have taken it in the hotel - it looked far superior.
This hotel receives and deserves high praise and I would recommend it for something a bit special and different to the usual hotel chains,

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet and have a nice view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us at the Montague.

I was delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you appreciated the warm welcome, tea and cookies we provided. Here at the Montague, our staff take pride in all that they do to provide a comfortable and memorable stay for all of our guests, I am glad to read that these expectations were met.

Thank you for your kind recommendation, I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Montague on the Gardens to stay with us or to enjoy an afternoon tea.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I absolutely LOVED my stay at the Montague on the Gardens. The hotel was so quaint and charming and the room was wonderful. I loved the furnishings, my bed was divine, and it was so wonderful to return at the end of my very busy days to such a delightful room. I also loved the care taken to turn down my bed each day - what a treat!

All of the staff were great but I must make special mention of the concierge, Jorge, who was FABULOUS!!!!! He was extremely helpful with every request and really went out of this way to provide directions, custom made maps, suggestions, etc. I wish every hotel had someone of his calibre. You can tell he really wants to make sure people enjoy their stay and that he loves helping guests. He really is an asset to the hotel and is a true gem. I also really appreciated the help the reservation staff gave me even before I arrived. They always replied very promptly and gave me very helpful information on the various options re: how to get to the hotel from the airport (including the ease of each when lugging a very heavy suitcase!) and information on the safety of certain areas I was considering going to (i.e. theatre district) when travelling alone.

On a more logistical note, I also loved the location for a number of reasons: I felt very safe even when coming back to the hotel later at night, it was about a five minute walk to Russel Square tube station, a five minute walk to major bus routes and was within a nice walking distance to SOHO and other areas. I hope to return to London one day in the not so distant future and will certainly chose to stay there again!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your stay at the Montague on the Gardens.

We take genuine interest in the comfort and experience that is given to our guests right from the moment they book and so I was pleased to read that our staff were able to make your stay memorable, especially Jorge and our reservations team. I will ensure that their service is duly recognised.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

When my wife and I stay at the Montague, we look forward to a special experience - and it delivers.

From the moment of arrival/check-in we are made to feel welcome. All staff (I can't pick out one in particular) were friendly, efficient, knowledgeable in their area and seemed genuinely to care about meeting our requirements/desires in order to make our stay as pleasant as possible.

The complimentary biscuits and canapés were much appreciated and of the highest quality (and very indulgent). The food we had (just breakfast, plus an afternoon tea) were also of high quality and served with both expertise and a smile.

Overall, we were more than pleased with our stay and will certainly stay again. Dirk Crockaert (and Red Carnation Hotels) should be proud of the team he has put together in the Montague.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your stay at the Montague.

It made me happy to read that you were pleased with the service given by our staff and that you were made to feel welcome from the moment you checked in. Here at the Montague we aim to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible and I am glad that we were able to do this, as we had done for your previous visits.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the biscuits and canapés as well as the afternoon tea.

I am indeed very proud of the staff and will pass on your complimentary comments. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Montague on The Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montague on The Gardens

Also Known As:
The Montague On The Gardens Hotel
The Montague On The Gardens Hotel London
The Montague On Gardens
Montague On The Gardens London
Montague Gardens
The Montague On The Gardens London, England
Address: 15 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn , Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#4 Business Hotel in London
#6 Luxury Hotel in London
#10 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Montague on The Gardens 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Otel so you can book your The Montague on The Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Montague on The Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.