We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, convenient position” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel London Waterloo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel London Waterloo to your Saves list
Novotel London Waterloo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   113 Lambeth Road, London SE1 7LS, England (Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% OFF THIS WINTER
Ranked #291 of 1,066 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
gr
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice stay, convenient position”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed there for two nights, family of two adults and two teenagers. The room although a little small for 4 people, it was comfortable. Breakfast was very good. It is in a very convenient position. Bus No 3 to Picadilly and Bus No 344 to Liverpool str whose stops are just outside, offer a quick transfer to key points. As we arrived at Standsted, it was very easy to reach the hotel from Liverpool str station. Overall it was a nice stay, taking into account the difficulty to find quadruple rooms or family rooms in London. Tea/coffee making facility in the room is always a nice asset. It is also worth mentioning the free WIFI facility throughout the hotel as well as the possibility of internet access from the pcs at the lobby.

Room Tip: Some rooms' windows are just beside the next building's wall. this is not a problem for shor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWaterloo, General Manager at Novotel London Waterloo, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments.
I am pleased to hear that we were able to offer you a bedroom that it is not so easy to find in such a big city as London.
We are very proud of being able to offer complimentary wifi to our guests and as you say the Imac corner with free internet and printing facilities are also very convenient to our guest that we take most proud on.

I hope to see you again in a very near future.

Kind Regards
Bernard Panisse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    816
    238
    51
    18
See reviews for
799
317
75
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Great location, walking distance to many attractions and tube, clean, great service, comfortable rooms with great shower and excellent breakfast. We are a family of four and had an awesome time, if you've been looking around...look no more, disregard the negative reviews, after all it's a reasonably priced hotel not a palace.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWaterloo, General Manager at Novotel London Waterloo, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel.
My team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,
Bernard Panisse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I were paid to stay at this hotel for the night while at a conference in London. The hotel is in a nice central location good for sight seeing, it also had good secure parking underground with lift access.

Hotel reception was nice, bright and clean the receptionist was very polite and helpful.

Room was clean and although very big is was large enough for an overnight stay. Internet access was free and fast which was also good. The bed was HARD and I didin't have a great nights sleep.

The restuarant had a nice contempary feel and the staff were very, very good. The food was great ! I was amazed at how good it was and felt it well worth a worthy review :)

Breakfast was ok but not as good as the restuarant but the staff were just as helpful.

I hope you enjoy my review.
Diana

Room Tip: Our bed was hard, might be worth asking or checking for a soft mattress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWaterloo, General Manager at Novotel London Waterloo, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review.

I am pleased to know that our team was friendly and welcoming and that your enjoyed your meal in our Elements Restaurant.
We have solutions for guests that find the mattress hard, usually we can offer a topper mattress when available or other solutions are also available.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,
Bernard Panisse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed 5 nights on the trip to london. Hotel is nice though its a bit far from the train station. Coming from the US suburbs initial idea of walking everywhere seemed like a pain but after few days got used to it. Its about 15-20 mins walks from all attraction. though you can take a bus to westminister or waterloo train station from right outside the hotel. Hotel is ncie, though compared to American hotel, the rooms are small and the bathroom is real small. But the service was very good, no complaints there. They were inflexible with the checkout time though, which has never happened with me before at any hotel.
Please note, no restaurants around apart from their own restaurant so you do have to go all the way to London eye which is 15 min walk for anything

Room Tip: You ask for a room overlooking the big ben, though as the hotel is not that tall you can just see th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWaterloo, General Manager at Novotel London Waterloo, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind review.

It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,
Bernard Panisse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Just opposite of the Parliament and Westminster thus hotel is ideal for sightseeing. Bus Stop right next to the Hotel. Rooms very clean, Sleeper Sofa is nice and big. One of the fewplaces that do accept dogs.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWaterloo, General Manager at Novotel London Waterloo, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Benedita Sousa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Martin de los Andes, Argentina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed in London for 4 nights, July 2013. The hotel location is good, next to the Lambeth Bridge and a 10 minutes walk from the Parliament.

We booked a double room, but when we saw it... it was tiny! No closet, just one shelf and 5 hangers, small shower and very uncomfortable arrange of furniture.You can not even put a small suitcase anyhere without having to jump on it to walk!

We use the Accord fidelity card to get an upgrade to an executive room. This one has a closet, and extra room if you have big luggage. The rate is very expensive, yet the room is not great.

Nice staff, most of them foreign young people.

Breakfast is not very good, and crowded all the time. The restaurante has a limited menu, but it could be much better than what it is.

Wi fi very slow, and if you need a better service you have to pay for it.

We stayed in other Accord hotels before (Novotel, Adagio, Ibis). We always got better rooms and nice and complete breakfast for less money.

We know London is an expensive city to stay, but Novotel should have a standard of comfort and service to keep in every hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWaterloo, General Manager at Novotel London Waterloo, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Novotel London Waterloo.
I am pleased to hear that you found the location of the hotel convinient and that our team was welcoming.
We are in the high season and breakfast times get busy but nevertheless is quite a holiday mood atmosphere and very family friendly.
I am glad that the room upgrade was at your satisfaction, we try to provide different solutions for every guest’s individual requirements.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Novotel London Waterloo and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Yours sincerely,
Bernard Panisse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed 5 nights on a tourist visit to the big city. As we did not know London at all we wanted an Hotel that was a good base for our daily excursions.
Turned out that the "hop on hop off" bus stop was 1 minutes walk around the corner and the Thames, London Eye and Westminister all within very easy walking distance.
Nice hotel, clean and our room was very quiet - reception was fast friendly and efficient. We arrived early but were able to check in (nice upgrade as a bonus too!). Our room was spacious (for London), quiet and had good views.
During our stay we used the dining room for both breakfast (best breakfast I have had of all the many Novotels I have stayed at) and dinner, the bar for refreshment after a days sightseeing, the services of the counter staff for sorting out a travel consultant mistake and for on booking our next city accommodation. At all times we encountered pleasant helpful staff who were happy to have a conversation with us.
The food was good (London prices though) and the environment was very comfortable. WiFi could have been better but were able to use the lobby internet when needed.
All in all a very pleasant and convenient place to stay and I think the Manager and staff are providing a great service.

Room Tip: 4th floor corner room facing Lambeth Palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWaterloo, General Manager at Novotel London Waterloo, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind review.

It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind Regards
Bernard Panisse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel London Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London Waterloo

Address: 113 Lambeth Road, London SE1 7LS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in London
#197 Luxury Hotel in London
#216 Family Hotel in London
#308 Business Hotel in London
#314 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London Waterloo 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one step away from the River Thames, Big Ben, the Houses of Parliament and minutes away from the London Eye. Enjoy a fantastic stay in our spacious air-conditioned bedrooms, with an exceptionally comfortable Queen size bed, en-suite facilities, LCD TV, large desk and a laptop size safe. Some rooms offer amazing views of the London skyline. Be tempted by our varied buffet breakfast and our tasty international cuisine served in our Elements Restaurant. Sit back and relax with a cocktail in our Elements Bar. Up to 2 children (under 16 years) can stay free (with breakfast) when sharing a room with adults. Access to kid’s play corner, an Xbox console, Vauxhall City Farm and other family friendly activities mins away. Unwind in our In Balance Fitness and Wellbeing centre, complementary for our guests. Convenient links to the heart of the city within walking distance to underground stations, bus stops and city rental bikes. On site paying car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel London Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London Waterloo Hotel London
Accor London Waterloo
London Novotel Waterloo
Novotel London Waterloo England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel London Waterloo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.