We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton – London Islington.

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton – London Islington. to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton – London Islington.
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Pentonville Road | Islington, London N1 9LA, England (Formerly Jurys Inn London Islington) (Islington / Clerkenwell)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #260 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My friend and I stayed in this Hilton property in early December because of a vacation.

Keeping in mind how expensive and how small a hotel room would be in London, we did search extensively and find this (relatively) new hotel with a reasonable room rate and size, and its proximity to underground.

We've made a reservation for a room with Twin bed with Lounge access for 4 nights. At the end, we have assigned a room, 439, with one Double bed and one Twin bed. Actually, the room is relatively big but because of that Double bed, one may find that the room is quite crowded. Nevertheless, the room is nice - at least it's new and it's not as small as those in many other hotels of the same / similar grades in London. We are satisfied.

Being a Diamond member, we would have our breakfast either in the Lounge or in their Grill Restaurant at the lobby level. We did have our breakfast at Grill Restaurant - the variety is good and the waiters and waitresses are attentive. The lounge is fine - breakfast, snack, and evening cocktail, as well as some hot/cold drinks are provided throughout a day. I believe it is very good for business travelers too!

There is a compact fitness center at the lobby level with 24/7 access. It is good and I enjoy it.

As for the location, it is very good. It is within 5 minutes walking distance to Angel underground station (tube). Alternatively, you would walk a-bit uphill from King's Cross London to the hotel via Pentonville Road (head towards the McDonald and Starbucks signs) about 10 - 15 minutes or take the bus, e.g., 30, 73, 205, and 476, from the King's Cross London station too.

Anyway, it's a hotel that I will definitely visit again because of its good location and room rate.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOO82, Deputy General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton – London Islington., responded to this review, today
Dear Edward-AA,

Thank you for your very complimentary review following your stay in December. We are delighted to hear that you had the opportunity to avail of all of our new Amenities and enjoyed them. It is also good to know that has a diamond member you found the location adequate for your needs.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

We wish you a happy Christmas & New Year.

Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    63
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
29
33
7
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We chose the Doubletree by Hilton Islington for price and location; the special offer made it less than £130 for one night and it is right round the corner from the Sadler's Wells theatre. Check in staff was friendly and the room was clean, modern and comfortable. We would stay there again and happily recommend it to tourists and business travellers alike.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOO82, Deputy General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton – London Islington., responded to this review, today
Dear Scrat718,

Thank you for your review following your stay with us, we are delighted that you fond the location suitable to your needs and enjoyed the Islington experience.
I will pass your comments onto the front office team, they will be delighted to have been mentioned.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Louise O'Gorman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed here because of the area which has lots of great bars and resturuants, the hotel was ideally situated 2 minute walk to the tube station.
Staff at the hotel were first class and I could not fault any of them from the welcome staff, dining room to the room service, we were given an upgrade to the executive lounge which was fantastic, the girl who saw to our every need was wonderful (Lishma I think) the room were warm and comfortable.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

First time trip to London to visit our daughter who was studying abroad. She recommended the hotel as it was down the street from where she lived. It was very convenient to St Pancras Station, Angel Tube Station, and bus stops right outside the door. Nice restaurants and shops nearby., I was warned by well-travelled friends that English hotel rooms tend to be very small and can be quirky. The Doubletree standard came through - was as nice as any hotel at home in U.S. Double room with full bath. The only complaint is that we only had one chair in our room - a desk chair. we had to sit on bed if we wanted to be comfy. Hotel featured full English breakfast buffet (extra charge) and a bar. Both mostly seemed to cater to business travelers. If you want quick access, but want to retreat from tourist areas of London, this would be a good fit.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOO82, Deputy General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton – London Islington., responded to this review, today
Dear RNMOM331,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am that the area was convenient for your needs and that you enjoyed the Islington Experience.
Thank you for your feedback regarding the chairs, if you visit Islington again and decide to stay with us I would ask that you contact me directly and I can organise for some chairs to be out into your room for you.
You can contact me via email on louise.ogorman@hilton.com.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind Regards,
Louise O'Gorman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a hotel that worths a stay when in London. Perfect location, in a walking distance from Angel Station. Located in a great neighbourhood full of shops and places to eat.

Very warm welcome with a great cookie, spacious, clean and tidy rooms with all amenities. I will not stay anywhere else when in London.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOO82, Deputy General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton – London Islington., responded to this review, today
Dear CyTraveller,

Thank you for your fabulous review following your recent stay with us at DoubleTree By Hilton London - Islington. It is great to hear such positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Louise O'Gorman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a nice stay here recently, upgraded to executive lounge on arrival, staff were very good especially Lishma in the lounge she really looked after us.Would recommend staying here.The Islington area is great for bars and restaurants day and night.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOO82, Deputy General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton – London Islington., responded to this review, today
Dear Peter9559,

Thank you for your recent review, we are delighted you took the opportunity to upgrade and visit the executive lounge and that Lashmia looked after you. I will be passing on your comments to her this evening an she will be delighted to have been recgonised.
We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Louise O'Gorman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited the Doubletree by Hilton Islington for the first time at the weekend and was impressed. The entrance to the hotel was lovely which a pleasant atmosphere. The staff were friendly and inviting.

I have to say the room we stayed in was cold, bland and very uninviting. I will say that it has space and two double beds in it which was great, and the beds were really comfortable.

Breakfast was ok , the few staff that were there didn't really care so much, we waited for at least 10 minutes to get our first tea and coffee and had to ask all the time for more or refills. The choice wasn't great either , I've stayed in several doubletrees and each hotel offer different options, this one didn't compete.

a nice hotel , lovely reception staff but wouldn't return.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton – London Islington.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton – London Islington.

Address: 60 Pentonville Road | Islington, London N1 9LA, England (Formerly Jurys Inn London Islington)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Islington / Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#149 Family Hotel in London
#184 Luxury Hotel in London
#246 Romantic Hotel in London
#302 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton – London Islington. 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn London Islington is situated adjacent to Islington High Street, a few minutes' walk from Angel tube station. Located at the hub of a convenient transport network, the hotel is the ideal base to explore everything that London has to offer - high fashion houses, shopping quarters, financial powerhouses and West end's theatres. The hotel features all day Costa Coffee bar, a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city's hectic hustle and bustle. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6pm to 10pm for dinner. If you are arriving by car a nearby public car parking is available at Upper Street Car Park. Our comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. Our rooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi - guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. Enjoy warm welcome, comfortable rooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to London at Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LondonMarketing.com, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton – London Islington. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Islington Hotel London
Jurys Hotel Islington
Jurys Hotel London
Jurys London
Doubletree By Hilton – London Islington. England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton – London Islington., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.