We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland hotel, excellent location for East London however.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added City Hotel to your Saves list
City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12-20 Osborn St, London E1 6TE, England (Whitechapel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #608 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Bland hotel, excellent location for East London however.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

Stayed here for 1 night on business, as my usual hotel was booked out.

The location of the hotel is excellent for those who need to be in East London or The City. With numerous bus routes and Underground/Overground links within easy reach it makes it simple to get to where you need to go.

Staff seemed friendly, check-in was quick and the breakfast selection was adequate if not astounding.

The downside, for me, was the rooms. My room was spacious, but the decor was just bland and uninviting. It lacked any real style, and just seemed to be as minimal as possible, and not in a designer sort of way. The chair and desk weren't particularly useful to work, and it didn't have free wi-fi.

It wasn't an awful experience, but I suspect it gets a lot of transient trade from people who couldn't find somewhere else and as such they don't particularly "wow" you with facilities. While I wouldn't refuse to stay here again, it wouldn't be my first choice of hotels especially for the (rather expensive) price paid.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    261
    125
    62
    55
See reviews for
115
119
74
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

I found this hotel by looking for a cheap, reasonably central hotel just for 1 night. I would certainly go back again - no pretentions but clean, slightly worn - but for £64 really good value. I felt safe, in a really wonderful location at the end of Brick Lane and just a minute from Aldgate East tube.
Good efficient staff, check in and out quick and straight forward.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

This Hotel is very nice, the staff very friendly and its nearby the tower of London (15 minutes by walking). This hotel is recommended.
The rooms are clean and spacious for the price of the appropriate. We would come back any time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walgrave, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

This was my first visit to this hotel but will not be my last. It was ideally located for where I wanted to be, the room was vast, clean and very quiet. Clearly, travellers not used to this area of London may find it a little daunting, and there was an interesting altercation on the derelict site outside my window, but then you have the Gherkin in all it's glory just beyond. I have not found better value than this before and is perfect if you need to be in the City.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymoney (N.Ireland)
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Stayed here for two reasons. First reason was the special offer price of £98.00 for two nights & the second reason was to do with the description and the pictures of the hotel rooms on the official website. The staff were helpful & friendly, the location was very good & very convenient to tube stations etc. The gallery pics on the website were very deceiving though, my room certainly did not look as new and clean as the ones depicted. The bedding was clean, if a little dated ! I wasn't overly impressed with the rather dusty and crumpled looking blinds, and they didn't shut out the light either! Carpet was old and cheap & the odd hair kept popping up in the bathroom, which i know weren't mine! I also noticed that the address of the hotel is given as Osborn Street, where in fact the hotel sits on Brick Lane. Osborn Street is directly opposite the hotel , so it would seem the hotel feels it more desirable to have Osborn street as the hotels address, perhaps they think it sounds nicer! All in all its an ok hotel, but only if you get a special offer price & don't mind things being a little dated & not entirely cleaned properly.

Room Tip: Search for offer price, its not worth full price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

I recently stayed at the City Hotel during a trip to London and I was pleasantly surprised. The room was really quite large, very clean and had everything we needed – including bath, complimentary magazines, large TV, nice lighting, 24 hour reception. We noticed there was only 1 bath towel provided but after a quick call to reception there was a knock on the door and another one provided – about 5min wait.

We were on the first floor and it was noisy ALL night, but we have learnt before and never travel without comfortable ear plugs and got a really good night sleep. Perhaps the if the it hasn't already the hotel could look into getting double glazed windows?

The location of the hotel is excellent. Lots of great restaurants nearby and Liverpool station only a short walk away. We did't have any trouble in the area and didn't feel unsafe.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

A Street that City Hotel is Very NOISY - at the morning and especially durring night - Durring the Weekdays - NIGHTMARE !!!!

Never Again.....

Also I have to mention that Some rooms are very OLD ... especially some BathRooms... only rooms located at 6th Level - are OK but thay are too EXPENSIVE !!!!

All in all - NEVER AGAIN - and I was on businness trip - I did not pay for It, eaven a PENNY - I am LUCKY... because If I would stay there and Pay from My POCKET... - let's say that this Particular Hotel is very VERY OverPriced ....

This is my Personal Opinion - I was there for almost Three Weeks

Regards

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Address: 12-20 Osborn St, London E1 6TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #608 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a minutes’ walk from Aldgate East Tube Station and on the gateway to Brick Lane, one of London’s foremost tourist attractions, City Hotel London is ideal for those people on a business trip and for those on a City break. The West End for its theatres and shopping is only ten minutes by tube to the west and the Olympic Stadium, including the fabulous Westfield Shopping Centre, is ten minutes to the east. We are within a short stroll to Spitalfields, famed for its great shopping and eateries, as well as The Whitechapel Art Gallery, The Tower of London and the East End’s famous street markets. The hotel offers a full English breakfast, noted for providing the best English sausages we can find. 24 hour room service is available and the Lane Bar and Restaurant is a great place to eat, drink and relax. Our rooms can sleep up to five adults and two children and are all en suite with great showers, flat screen TV and in-room safes. We also have car parking if required.Conference and banqueting facilities are also available at great prices and we can arrange for pick ups from all London Airports and Railway Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.