We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best burritos in London” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Picante Mexican Grill - CLOSED

Picante Mexican Grill
18 Greencoat Row, London SW1P 1PQ, England
02078340027
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Description: A small Mexican café just off Victoria Street in Westminster, offering a selection of tasty Mexican specialities for eat-in or take-away. All the food served is prepared from scratch everyday on the premises, from the freshest and most authentic ingredients.Opening Hours Breakfast Wednesday, Thursday, Friday 9.30 – 10.30 Lunch Monday to Friday 11.30 – 15.30 Dinner Monday to Friday 16.30 – 21.30
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best burritos in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We come here on Fridays for work lunch and they are definitely the best burritos I've tasted in London. The pre-order service means you don't have to join the queue which stretches out the door and along the street, they're not too expensive and they taste amazing! No faults that I've found!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    21
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic authentic mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I enjoyed a fantastic birthday party - It was BYOB, we had a feast and it worked out about £10 per head and we were all stuffed by the end. I've spent a lot of time in mexico, south California and central america and this place was authentic, super tasty and matched the best food out there, even the prices were similar!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great bargain for an evening feast in the centre of town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Lost for places to go for a cheap eat outing in central London, we stumbled across this little marvel. About 10 minutes walk from Victoria station it is tucked away on a little side street, and so in the evening has its own quite little piece of authentic Mexico in the centre of town. I understand the queues stretch down the street during the day. Jason the manager was really friendly and gave us an intro as to what we could order. It didn't disappoint, the shredded pork was delicious and the guacamole was perfect with just a little bit of chilli to add to the flavour. Go as a couple, a group or on your own and you won't be disappointed. In fact go now as in six months, once it has caught on, the queues will be stretching down the streets in the evenings as well!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wow! Delicious Mexican food in London!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Yes, I was prepared to be disappointed. London is not known for its great Mexican food for good reason -- most so-called "Mexican" restaurants here cater to diners used to Asian rather than true Mexican tastes -- "Chilli" (with two "Ls") that tastes like a cross between curry and Ketchup, flavorless burritos that resemble overgrown Chinese dumplings, and stale tacos stuffed with every variety of canned filling. Surprisingly, Picante is true to Mexican flavours and makes every effort to ensure authentic, rather than contrived ingredients. While I would say that Picante offers more of a California-Mexican variety rather than a purist's strictly authentic Mexican menu, the food is freshly made, deliciously satisfying, and definitely a cut way above the usual Mexican fare found in London. All of that, and relatively inexpensive too. Although it is tiny now, has a relatively limited hours and menu, and does not yet serve alcohol, it is well worth a visit or take away.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Mexican food that is so colourful and carefully prepared.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We had an excellent meal. The owner was very helpful - my friend has a gluten intolerance and vegetarian.
She wanted a starter as a main, no problem. I wanted a milder beef dish, he made sure of it. My beef was so tender, the black beans were amazing and I really enjoyed the zingy lime.
We would love to go back.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Picante Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Picante Mexican Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.