We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks every box!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Alma Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Alma Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Alma Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   499 Old York Road | Wandsworth, London SW18 1TF, England (Clapham / Battersea )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 525 London B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ticks every box!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were fortunate enough to be able to stay in the Alma for two whole weeks while we were waiting for our Visas to come through and it couldn't have been a better choice. The staff are so friendly and happy to accommodate any request. The food downstairs is first rate (not to mention the bar make's the world's best scotch eggs and sausage rolls!).
The rooms have lovely furnishings and are very comfortable - haven't slept so soundly in ages.
While you stay you have access to the local Virgin Active Gym which is only a short 5 min walk from the hotel. You are literally across the street from the train station that gets you in to central London in 10 minutes. Close enough to the action but far enough away to provide sanctuary from the chaos.
I highly recommend the Alma to anyone coming to London - or from London for that matter!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    40
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
64
6
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just returned from a weekend break in London and stayed for two nights at the Alma. What a lovely hotel!!!! What makes this hotel so special is that it seems to have been designed with the needs of the guest as a priority. We booked a standard room with shower, the room was spotless with comfy bed and crisp cotton bed linen (no polyester here). An excellent large rain shower, decent shampoo etc and large fluffy bath sheets. My husband was delighted with the free high speed wi fi, docking station and dab radio. There was also a flat screen tv and excellent tea and coffee facilities. There is a mini fridge (supplied with drinks and snacks etc) Although the room was not huge, it was beautifully decorated and provided a comfortable feeling of comfort and ambiance. There was also a digital safe and decent quality hairdryer etc.
We came to the area to visit family and ate in the restaurant one evening. The food was really good quality combined with friendly efficient service. The breakfast was of excellent quality and shames many of the overpriced hotels which we have previously stayed at in London.
The hotel is located directly opposite from the main line station, which made it very convenient but once in our room there was no noise from the surrounding area.
Locally, there are restaurants and shops around within close proximity.
Overall, I would say that having stayed in many expensive London hotels in the past and often come away feeling somewhat dissatisfied, the Alma made a refreshing change. The cost of the stay was very reasonable by London standards and the whole experience was pleasant from booking the room to checking out.
When we next visit London, we will be booking the Alma.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We attended a wedding at the Alma on Sunday 17th March - yes St.Patricks day and it was an Irish/Spanish wedding! Whilst the restaurant and bars downstairs were teaming with people we were seconded in a wonderful romantic haven upstairs in the function room and had a terrific time.

The food was lovely tap-pas type picky bits circulated the room for a good hour as we sat and drank and chatted, then a hot food buffet was perfectly presented and made the whole affair informal and very sociable. The staff were very attentive, polite, funny and nothing was too much trouble, even though the whole please was packed to the rafters!

It was a perfect day. We were lucky enough to actually stay at the hotel that night too and it was very nice. The room was very modern and clean with all modern amenities. This is a great place to stay if you find yourself having to stop over in London, great alternative to the chain hotels or the stuck up hotels that make you feel unworthy and then want to charge you £6 a pint! I will definitely stay again and stroll over the river to shop and sightsee!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

About a month ago we stayed at "The Alma" in Wandsworth London and thoroughly enjoyed a few days there. Inexpensive for London with very pleasant accommodation, helpful staff, superb food in restaurant and spacious bar also serving food. Very close to the centre of London - shops etc and less than 30 minutes on train with station 100 metres away. I highly recommed this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed for two nights over a weekend in a Tonsley View room. We were blown away with the quality of the room, the food in the restaurant and the great atmosphere in the Alma pub.

The room was spotless, it looked as if it was brand new. Huge comfortable bed, massive shower and very quiet. We were on the top floor and despite being a weekend there was no noise from the pub or the street.

We had dinner in the restaurant and it was very, very good. Lovely atmosphere with lots of mixed ages/families/groups enjoying their meals. Good reasonably priced wine list.

The pub next door was busy but not too noisy or boisterous, just people having a good night with friends.

Breakfast was a feast! They will find something to suit every taste.

All in all, this hotel is a GEM. It knocks spots off most 5 star hotels. The staff are friendly and the whole place gives you a lovely neighborhood feel. We will be back!

Room Tip: Splash the extra and get a Tonsley View room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

During a family visit to London I had a lovely lunch in The Alma last Friday.

This is the third time I have visited and on each visit I have found that there is a cosy welcoming atmosphere and very
tasty food and nice staff. The menu is interesting and varied.

The building is lovely too.

I would recommend xx

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Alma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alma Hotel

Address: 499 Old York Road | Wandsworth, London SW18 1TF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 525 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alma Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your The Alma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alma Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alma Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;