We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Would definitely return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Alma Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Alma Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Alma Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   499 Old York Road | Wandsworth, London SW18 1TF, England (Clapham / Battersea )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 522 London B&B and Inns
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    40
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
63
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We attended a wedding at the Alma on Sunday 17th March - yes St.Patricks day and it was an Irish/Spanish wedding! Whilst the restaurant and bars downstairs were teaming with people we were seconded in a wonderful romantic haven upstairs in the function room and had a terrific time.

The food was lovely tap-pas type picky bits circulated the room for a good hour as we sat and drank and chatted, then a hot food buffet was perfectly presented and made the whole affair informal and very sociable. The staff were very attentive, polite, funny and nothing was too much trouble, even though the whole please was packed to the rafters!

It was a perfect day. We were lucky enough to actually stay at the hotel that night too and it was very nice. The room was very modern and clean with all modern amenities. This is a great place to stay if you find yourself having to stop over in London, great alternative to the chain hotels or the stuck up hotels that make you feel unworthy and then want to charge you £6 a pint! I will definitely stay again and stroll over the river to shop and sightsee!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

About a month ago we stayed at "The Alma" in Wandsworth London and thoroughly enjoyed a few days there. Inexpensive for London with very pleasant accommodation, helpful staff, superb food in restaurant and spacious bar also serving food. Very close to the centre of London - shops etc and less than 30 minutes on train with station 100 metres away. I highly recommed this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed for two nights over a weekend in a Tonsley View room. We were blown away with the quality of the room, the food in the restaurant and the great atmosphere in the Alma pub.

The room was spotless, it looked as if it was brand new. Huge comfortable bed, massive shower and very quiet. We were on the top floor and despite being a weekend there was no noise from the pub or the street.

We had dinner in the restaurant and it was very, very good. Lovely atmosphere with lots of mixed ages/families/groups enjoying their meals. Good reasonably priced wine list.

The pub next door was busy but not too noisy or boisterous, just people having a good night with friends.

Breakfast was a feast! They will find something to suit every taste.

All in all, this hotel is a GEM. It knocks spots off most 5 star hotels. The staff are friendly and the whole place gives you a lovely neighborhood feel. We will be back!

Room Tip: Splash the extra and get a Tonsley View room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

During a family visit to London I had a lovely lunch in The Alma last Friday.

This is the third time I have visited and on each visit I have found that there is a cosy welcoming atmosphere and very
tasty food and nice staff. The menu is interesting and varied.

The building is lovely too.

I would recommend xx

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A wonderful small hotel that has a great 'feel'.
The staff are always pleasant and smiling, the rooms feel spacious and are very comfortable.
The very popular pub that is a part of the hotel is invisible when in your room. No noise at all gets through.
Breakfast is plentiful and of high quality.
The only issue I have had is rather churlish but worth pointing out. The free wifi is somewhat intermittent.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 18 and 19, the wifi struggles to reach you there at the end of the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verwood, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed Feb 8/9. A newly created hotel (Dec 2010) offering good value, friendly staff, comfortable rooms and superb breakfast - we recommend the Eggs Florentine. Although we didn't have dinner at the hotel as we were meeting people elsewhere, the menu looked good and varied, and based on the breakfast cuisine we'd certainly have dined there if we had stayed another night. The hotel's website makes much of its green credentials by providing no car park to encourage guests to use public transport. Fortunately we could park at our son's a couple of miles away but the staff told us that parking in the surrounding streets is free over the weekend (from 16.30 Fri to 09.30 Mon) which would have been useful to know in advance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Alma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alma Hotel

Address: 499 Old York Road | Wandsworth, London SW18 1TF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 522 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alma Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your The Alma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alma Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alma Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.