We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price for the location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Equity Point London Hotel

Save Saved
You added Equity Point London Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Equity Point London Hotel
100-102 Westbourne Terrace | Paddington, London W2 6QE, England (Paddington / Maida Vale)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #197 of 623 Specialty lodging in London
Leuven, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great price for the location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights, and honestly it was worth the money.
The location is amazing, you're a few minutes away from the underground, bus station, pubs, bars, restaurants, fast food places that are all open past midnight.
In the description it says that it has a bar. Now, downstairs there was a common area (in the mornings for breakfast) and next to the common area there was *the bar*.

Note that this bar had no alcohol, only soft drinks and muffins. So that is misleading, but the bars and pubs in the area fix that.

The hostel is also very strict. For some this may be good, for some not. For example, after a certain hour, you weren't allowed to drink/bring alcohol in the hostel. You were also not allowed to eat in the rooms, that didn't stop my 2 roommates from actually ''cooking'' in there (electric stove and everything!).

Past 22 o'clock there is a doorman, who checks every person who goes in, he asks for your keycard, so people who aren't guests may not come in. (Again inconvenient if you invite a friend over, even if it's just to have a talk in the common area.)

But for the first night, I was there on my own, and these restrictions made me feel safer. (The drinking and doorman, not the eating.)

Overal, the staff is okay, it is okay clean, the bathroom is tiny, breakfast is very basic, the location is SUPERB, and it really is value for money. I highly recommend it to friends who are on a budget, but still want to close to everything, and to solo travellers.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    91
    89
    45
    44
See reviews for
17
17
63
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Located on Westbourne Terrace, which gives you a charming walk to and from your hostel every day. Close to Hyde Park and easy access to the underground. I used Lancaster Gate station to get on the tube and explore London. The hostel is clean and comfortable, no problems whatsoever, but there isn't a common area to hang out -- London is big enough to spend 90% of your time out and about anyway so this isn't a big deal. Overall, I was very impressed and I would recommend Equity Point London to friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Everything. staff was so rude from the minute we got there. I thought I was invisible for a moment. He could of at least achknowledge us by saying hello or something. He just sat there and I can fully see him on Youtube from the reflection behind him. Even an elderly man came in and was upset about something that happen before we got there. After we got his attention by saying hello first after 5 mins of standing there silently, he told us that our room was not ready. You can look in the security camera that the cleaner was busy chatting in the hallway, he knew that too and just started chuckling. We seen how they clean the room, they just sprayed some scented stuff on the smelly carpet to cover the scent and barely clean the washroom. When our room was finally ready, he took our payment, info and gave us the keys. Never explain anything else to us, we have to find out on our own that breakfast was included and ect.. For the price we paid, WIFI should of been included. OVERPRICE! I guess they just thought that we were just asian small girls and we don't know any better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is a cute hotel located in a quiet neighborhood of London, but within walking distance to Paddington Station and Hyde Park. The staff are very friendly who are always joking and laughing. There are some nice chill-out areas and also a bar.

Only bad things: the room was very hot for two of the nights and the bathroom is probably the smallest I have ever seen!

Overall, good hostel by London standards!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We booked a bit later so had limited options of backpackers in London. Equity point was chosen because it was available and the pictures online made the place look awesome. However, if its atmosphere you’re looking for I would go somewhere else. If you are a single traveller or looking to meet people on your travels, then this place is not for you. The only people we really saw staying were school groups. This was particularly annoying because they were noisy and very annoying at breakfast when you’re trying to reach the communal food.

I think the most annoying thing was that there is no kitchen. I have never stayed in a backpackers without a kitchen. This means not only can you NOT cook any meals but it also means you can’t even store food anywhere. This meant we had to buy all our meals and certainly increased the amount we spent in the first week in London, which was an expense we had not factored in. Backpackers trying to travel on the cheap be warned.

The rooms and bathroom were cleaned regularly. I found the staff friendly and helpful and the location is awesome. It’s about a 5 minute walk from Paddington tube and the overground gives you access to Heathrow which was really helpful for first time travellers to London.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Very comfortable and clean, it is also in the center of london near a metro station so transportation is good, it is also in a very rich neighbourhood so it is so calm at night. Rooms are of 8 double decker beds, i would not like staying at the top level as you have to climb to your bed somehow but beds are cozy. No free wifi but u can pay like 7 pounds for 3 days wifi access for only one device. Breakfast is included with the price of the bed, good food every morning.
Totally recommed it, actually i never thought a hostel would be as good as that.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This hostel is in Paddington. It is very close to the train station and the tube station - less than 5 minutes walk. Very convenient if you are arriving at Heathrow as the Heathrow express train runs to Paddington station.

The hostel itself is very nice, clean and comfortable. The rooms are quiet big in comparison with other hostels I have stayed in and our 4 bed female room has en-suite which is good for the bargin price of £30 each per night. The hostel itself was quiet and the location of the hostel is also quiet, off the main road.

Towels are £4 to hire, so remember to take your own!

Overall, I would recommend to anyone looking for a cheap place to stay in London!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Equity Point London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Equity Point London Hotel

Address: 100-102 Westbourne Terrace | Paddington, London W2 6QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 623 Specialty lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Equity Point London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Equity Point London Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Equity Point London Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.