We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Spa in London!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza London - Battersea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza London - Battersea to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza London - Battersea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bridges Wharf Battersea | Battersea, London SW11 3BE, England (Formerly Hotel Verta) (Clapham / Battersea )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #248 of 1,052 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Spa in London!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

I could not recommend spa verta enough. The staff were so welcoming and professional. The treatments I recieved were by far the best I have ever had. From start to finish the whole experience was everything and more that I could of wanted. The facilities are great. Even the manager was extremely efficient, friendly and made us feel extra special. This spa is definitely one of the best spa for all round experience. I will definitely be recommending to all my friends.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verta1, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Battersea, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Hannah,

I agree with you that our SPA is amazing. All facilities and the treatments offered are really great. Next time why don’t you try our new RIVERSIDE GRILL Restaurant that has now a new amazing menu?

Brandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    288
    100
    25
    32
See reviews for
62
485
43
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is a lovely hotel, with all the facilities you'd expect of a 5 star. The restaurant and bar look directly over the Thames and are a nice place to spend an evening. The rooms are luxurious, with many having great views down the river. Located in Battersea, a short walk from Clapham Junction, with a free shuttle service, it is conveniently placed for southern ad central London. The staff are all polite and helpful, the food is excellent. All in all the Verta is a little oasis of calm in a busy city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verta1, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Battersea, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Nick,

Thank you so much for your review.

Brandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The hotel is a bit out of the way for most of tourist London however the savings make it worthwhile. I took my wife to london for her birthday and booked at the verta based on price. Very happy with what we got for the price however not so sure worth 5 star status.

The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The room was nice and spacious. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable.

However there were a few little gripes, the pannel on the light switch fell off without anyone touching it. The bath was lovley and big with tv at the end but the switch to open and close the plughole was missing its casing and reqired a fair amount of force to move it. Finally the use of the shuttle bus into town was excellent however the driver's reckless and downright dangerous driving was a bit of a shock.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verta1, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Battersea, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Chris,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us and rest assured that we already taken on board all your feedback.

Kind regards,

Brandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The hotel looks really posh. The staff was lovely. The rooms were spacious and cosy. The over all ambiance was great. Could really have been nicer if it was closer to the areas that we go to as we always need to pay £10 for taxi going back. But there is a shuttle for the outward journey. It could have also been lovely if the jacuzzi was hot instead of a cold one as it was winter when we visited. Still had a lovely experience though. Will be coming back somehow :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verta1, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Battersea, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Kathleen,

Hopefully you will manage to came back to enjoy summer in our hotel. The Spa will have the perfect temperature and for the time when you need some Sun, you can enjoy our Terrace Bar or Riverside Grill which the new menu.

Coming back to the hotel, not as difficult- 10min walk from Clapham Junction station or bus 170 for 3min.

Looking forward to welcome you back again

Brandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night after spending the day in London to celebrate a friend's special birthday. It was wonderful!
On check in we were offered an upgrade to a two bedroom suite by a very pleasant young receptionist whose name I'm afraid I can't remember. Of course we said yes please ! The suite was lovely, very modern, beautifully comfortable beds, but it did take me a while to work out the plumbing in the bathroom, but that was just me! The views were breathtaking and standing on the balcony which ran the length of the suite at 5am watching the sun rise over London is something I'll always remember.
Breakfast was excellent, a very good choice of hot and cold. The restaurant is next to the heliport, and even we older ones enjoyed watching the comings and goings! Unfortunately we didn't have time to sample the restaurant for dinner.
The staff were attentive, professional and friendly. We used the hotels courtesy bus which runs at designated times to either Clapham Junction or Sloane Square, but it does get busy, especially the 9.30 am one, so it's advisable to book your seat ASAP. The two drivers have to be mentioned, I think their names were Rosemary and Darius, sorry if that's the wrong spelling.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, would stay again without hesitation.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verta1, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Battersea, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Jane,

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our suites from 14th Floor; it does have amazing views that makes you fall in love with London.

Thank you for your mentioning of Rosemary and Darius; they are a really asset to the hotel, as well as all the staff. Hope to see you again and try next time to have some time to relax in the SPA. It’s great!

Kind regards,

Brandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This hotel is situated on the river and next to London Heliport. There is nothing else in the immediate area other than industrial units. We were going to Wimbledon and it was the perfect location. Just a 10 minute drive and cheaper than staying in Wimbledon itself. The hotel staff were all very helpful and friendly. The corridors were quite dark but the room was bright and a nice size. The bathroom had a lovely big bath with a television fitted in the wall and was fully fitted for disabled access with a sliding door, wet room style shower and grab handles everywhere. But would question whether the room was quite big enough for a wheelchair! We only had a snack on the evening we arrived which was nice. There was a good selection of food for breakfast, although there were only scrambled eggs in the hot section which were not cooked enough for my taste and there was no chef to ask for an omelette or a fried or poached egg. All in all a nice hotel but don't think it's convenient enough if visiting London itself.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verta1, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Battersea, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and I am delighted we looked after you well. The location really does offer very easy access to Central London - the 170 bus is amazing and only 100 yards away straight to Victoria - and we offer several complimentary shuttle services to both Clapham Junction and Sloane Square throughout the day from 8.00am to 6.00pm. Clapham Junction to Victoria is only 5 minutes and to Waterloo is less than 10 minutes.
Do come and see us again

Beverly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
116 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Location is 2 miles from a Tube stop in any direction. There is nothing to see in the "neighborhood" other than the helipad next door. Our room was nice, but the view looked out on a recycling plant. The hotel offers a shuttle to limited Tube stops, and requires a reservation. Otherwise you're stuck with a taxi fare that will cost you more than you save on this budget friendly location.

Warning: DO NOT eat dinner here, it was an abysmal limited and awful menu. Breakfast is a standard buffet, reasonably well done.

There is a huge Buddha outside the hotel, and it is haphazardly decorated.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verta1, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Battersea, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry we did not communicate with you the best transport links into central London - it really is quite simple and there is no need to get taxis into central London Clapham Junction is actually only 10 minutes walk away and we do offer the complimentary shuttle service throughout the day to both Sloane Square and Clapham Junction.

Kind regards,

Beverly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Crowne Plaza London - Battersea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - Battersea

Address: Bridges Wharf Battersea | Battersea, London SW11 3BE, England (Formerly Hotel Verta)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in London
#166 Business Hotel in London
#181 Luxury Hotel in London
#201 Romantic Hotel in London
#298 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - Battersea 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south of the River Thames, adjacent to the London Heliport and within easy reach of Chelsea and Sloane Square; Hotel Verta provides the perfect destination when visiting the capital. From panoramic views of the River Thames, the intimate ambience and the very modern facilities, Hotel Verta has become London's most exclusive 'Hidden Gem'.The hotel's design, inspired by the Halcyon days of aviation, combines timeless elegance and the lobby is a striking double height atrium with a signature sweeping staircase up to the mezzanine level. All of the 70 bedrooms are fully furnished in a classic modern style, each with original artwork and the finest bespoke fittings.All day dining is available in the elegant Ambrosia located on the mezzanine level. A glamorous, fun and contemporary bistro/bar perfect for meeting friends and family for afternoon tea, informal meetings and after work drinks. As dusk falls, Champagne is the signature drink and guests can dine whilst admiring the views.The two level subterranean SPA Verta offering an innovative sanarium, heated loungers, steam room, sauna, gym and signature spa treatments, sets Hotel Verta apart from any London Hotel.Settings don't come much more inspiring than this, with the majority of our hotel meeting room facilities in London, featuring panoramic views of the River Thames and the London Heliport. Features include floor-to-ceiling windows and flexible inter-connecting options, when it comes to keeping you in touch; we have state-of-the-art audio-visual and telecommunications equipment, as well as wireless throughout. Hotel Verta offers 7 Meeting Rooms for between 12 to 200 delegates.Hotel Verta is the most wonderful, unique and romantic London hotel location in which to hold your wedding. For this very special occasion, we will enchant you with its addictive atmosphere and seductive environment, providing you and your guests with a magical wedding experience. The romance of Hotel Verta is beyond compare and has everything to make your wedding experience unique - superb cuisine, magnificent settings, meticulous and personalised service. The individuality of each couple is reflected in the smallest and most important details. Hotel Verta is licensed for civil wedding and civil partnership ceremonies with a dedicated Wedding Co-ordinator to help you organise the finer details of your special day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - Battersea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - Battersea England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza London - Battersea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.