We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In America, we'd call this a Motel 6” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn London Kensington - Olympia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn London Kensington - Olympia to your Saves list
Premier Inn London Kensington - Olympia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22 - 32 W. Cromwell Rd., London SW5 9QJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rooms from £93
Ranked #137 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Sherman, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“In America, we'd call this a Motel 6”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Made reservation for a week's London stay based on trip advisor, and the location near tube station. First, the rooms were EXTREMELY small. Though a room on the lower level was quiet, it made us think of a dungeon. While clean, it seemed cramped. Staff, while friendly, seemed to lack the ability to solve problems...always having to call "the office". We never were able to get "the office" to respond to our own requests to speak to them. Breakfasts were satisfactory, but we were unable to charge to the room. Seems a simple request. No washcloths (facecloths) were provided, and when we asked for them, it seemed an unfamiliar concept. WiFi was not universally provided, and the 30 min per day complimentary was only about half that after the cumbersome logon procedures. I can't fault the on-premises staff, as they appeared hamstrung by "other" levels of management, none of whom were on the property, and to this day, unresponsive to our requests for contact. Since our trip, I've emailed the company, to no avail. Overall, had we known this location to be nothing more than a Motel 6 or a Super 8, as we in the US will identify with, we'd not have used it. The positives were clean sheets and proximity to the Earl's Court tube station. Nothing more. Not recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn London Kensington - Olympia, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    418
    85
    21
    11
See reviews for
480
328
38
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed here for one week in August. Room was small but very clean, functional and comfortable. Short walk to Earls Court Underground station (5 minutes) and good access by rail to all parts of London and surrounds.

Reception and dining room staff were great. Range and quality of food was excellent for breakfast as well as dinner after a hard day visiting the sights.

Would certainly stay here again and recommend to friends visiting London.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Having never visited London, we chose this hotel based on its location on the map and the cost (compared with other hotels in the area). Overall, our stay was satisfactory in that the room was comfortable, the beds and the pillows, especially, were excellent, and the Earl's Court tube (and dining/shopping) was a 10 minute walk. There is also a proper supermarket five minutes walk away which was super convenient.

However, the hotel is located in what seems to be converted town homes and so has a really strange layout. Our room was in the back of the hotel and we had to climb down, then up and then down again several stairs all in between walking down long, narrow corridors. Since were were taking a break-journey onwards, we had several really heavy suitcases with us which we had to drag all the way up and down and around since they did not have an elevator accessible room for us. Not fun! Also, the ten-minute walk to/from the the tube or get a bite to eat was a complete downer with a tired child along.
On the plus side, the staff were really friendly and as helpful as they could be and housekeeping did a really great job.

If I made a trip back to London, I would probably look for a more modern hotel closer to the thick of things.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We booked months in advance for a 5 night stay through Booking.com. On arrival we asked to see our room first and were taken to a small, dark room below the main floor. The room also had a very strong smell of chemical cleaners to which my wife is extremely sensitive. Though initially told there were no other rooms available, we were shown another room that was much better and we decided to stay. This room was between the main floor and the second floor and neither room was accessible by elevator and to reach our room there were a maze of stairs and hallways. This room was quiet and we did sleep well and had no other issues.
Was booking through a third party the reason for the poor rooms???

The hotel staff was good and especially Simon who did his best to help. The breakfast buffet was good and the staff there very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Nice and friendly staff. We got a room in the basement. That was special. Warm room, good beds and ok breakfast. Location close to Earl Court. Nice restaurants and pubs close by. Five minutes walk from mainstreet with a lot of shops

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

stayed 2 nights and loved the location. 5 minute walk to the Earl's Court Tube and has a Tesco store right on the adjacent corner for all the necessities. We checked in and upon entry to our room noticed a slight issue with the cleanliness of the bathroom. Called the front desk and they immediately came up and moved us to another room, apologizing all the way, which was wonderful service. The rooms were nice and well kept, the internet connection was spotty at best, which was a bit of a frustration since we paid for the access. The hotel referred us to the provider when it was out of service for several hours one night. But the staff were helpful, the beds were comfortable and the price was reasonable. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stadsbygd
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for four nights recently. It was a nice and pleasant experience - and we will definitely consider this hotel for a later occasion as well. A short walk from Earls Court tube station... A safe choice!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the backside (north) - as the rooms in front may have noise from the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn London Kensington - Olympia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Kensington - Olympia

Address: 22 - 32 W. Cromwell Rd., London SW5 9QJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#59 Family Hotel in London
#131 Business Hotel in London
#172 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Premier Inn London Kensington - Olympia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening February 2009: formerly the Comfort Inn Kensington,it has had a complete refurbishment in January 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Premier Inn London Kensington - Olympia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London Kensington (Olympia) Hotel London
Comfort Inn Kensington
London Premier Inn
Comfort Inn London
Premier Inn London Kensington - Olympia England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn London Kensington - Olympia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.