We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy stay in London” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday inn Express London - Vauxhall Nine Elms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday inn Express London - Vauxhall Nine Elms to your Saves list
Holiday inn Express London - Vauxhall Nine Elms
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   87 South Lambeth Road, London SW8 1RN, England (Formerly Comfort Inn Vauxhall) (Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #612 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Orlando,FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Comfy stay in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We got this hotel through our groupon getaway package. It was perfect, the hotel had all our details so check in was a breeze. The location was less than 10 minutes away from the closest tube station! We enjoyed every minute of it! I would highly recommend this hotel if you're looking to have the convenience of being close to central London without breaking the bank. The only negative thing I could think of was not having complimentary wifi for the hotel guests. However there was a service you could pay to have wifi in the room if need be.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    177
    153
    62
    43
See reviews for
121
106
44
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Picked this as I was looking for a reasonably priced room (not rock bottom - as in London that will get you nothing more than a dump!). Really pleased with the room.

Larger and better furnishings than Travelodge's. Good location for my requirements, although not ideal if you want to be right in the West End, but can get there very quickly by public transport.

Very quiet for a central London location. Nice views of Canary Wharf and the Shard.

The room was changed from double to twin without any fuss. Nice to have a couple of seats and a desk. Very clean and spotless throughout.

The breakfast is a little basic if you choose to have it. Only continental - nothing cooked.

Staff helpful. Very pleased with the stay - better than average.

Room Tip: Back is better - for the views of tall buildings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed 30.12.13 - 03.01.14

We booked this hotel for its location close to the London Eye (20 min walk) over New Years through Alpha rooms.com.

On arrival we were greeted by a friendly and helpful receptionist. We arrived at 11.30am to drop bags as I was aware of the later check in time, however our room was ready and we were able to go straight through which was great.

The room was clean and recently refurbished and had a good working tv and tea/coffee amenities which was replenished daily. The room was serviced everyday also.

Our room was facing the hotel car park so we did not hear any traffic noise, however the planes could be heard, but this was not a major issue.

My only comment is that the mattress in the room was very soft and quite uncomfortable at times although understand that this is personal preference.

Hotel is a 5-10 minute walk from Vauxhall tube station which is very convenient and is a 20 min walk to the London Eye.

Overall I would stay at this hotel again if I had a requirement to be in the area.

Room Tip: Any room not facing the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Clean, reasonably comfortable for a "standard" mid range hotel. Continental Breakfast good value. Staff friendly and helpful. Avoid all bedrooms on road side of hotel as very noisy, all night, from traffic. Needs at least 2 more panels of window insulation

Room Tip: See above - avoid road side rooms very noisy from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We booked this hotel for New Years Eve, it was the only reasonable priced hotel within central London. There were 4 of us (2 couples) and the cheapest option was a quadruple room which consisted of 2 x single beds and bunk beds.
We arrived at about 4pm, the hotel is very close to Vauxhall underground station and the bus station so it's a good base for getting around.
Upon arrival at the hotel I was pleasantly surprised, the reception is bright and airy and we were greeted by the receptionist straight away.
Our room was clean and really big for a 4 bedded room, plenty of space for 4 adults.
We had showers and got ready to go out for the evening.
The only thing that at this point we were put off with was the smell from the bathroom tap when the water was running was really bad......but once we wandered around London you notice the smelly drain smell quite often so don't think it was just confined to the hotel!
We came back after a night out and slept well.
There was no hot water in the shower the next morning but it woke us all up having a cold one!!
Good thing about this hotel is that check out is not until 11.30 which if you want to sleep in after partying all night is a bonus.
Breakfast is offered (we were on room only) but we went out and ate in Soho.
Very good hotel for the price we paid. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Quadruple rooms are excellent value for 4 people if you don't mind sharing! We had a room facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We booked fairly late for New Years Eve through Secret Escapes so we didn't know which hotel we were booking until we had our booking confirmed! After reading some reviews on here we were a little worried about what to expect but we were pleasantly surprised! We arrived an hour estlier than the 3pm check in time but were able to go straight up to our room. Ours was a double room with twin beds and was lovely and warm, there was also a big ceiling fan with a remote which we used for a whiile and was extremely quiet.The hotel was very comfortable and very clean, the spacious bathroom was spotless, although the temperature of the shower was a little cool for our liking. We were attending Gary Barlow's New Years eve concert which was in Westminster so we booked a taxi throgh reception to take us to the venue, although we could have taken the bus (the stop was just outside the hotel) or train (which was a short walk away) to take us into the city. The staff were very friendly and helpful, when our booking was confirmed we tried to book a parking space but as there is only limited spaces they were all taken. The hotel receptionist advised us to keep trying after Xmas in case of cancellations. We called 3 days before New Years eve and were pleased to hear they had one space left. The cost for parking was £22 which was very reasonable and saved us having to worry about getting trains into London on such a busy day.
We had a brilliant time at Gary's concert and afterwards intended to get a cab back but as most of the roads were still closed due to the celebrations, we ended up walking back to the hotel which took around 35mins (in heels!) which really wasn't too bad. On arriving back at the hotel we were greeted with a cheery Happy New year from the two night staff and were able to buy drinks to take back to our room. The hotel was quiet and although we heard the odd door banging as people were arriving back to their rooms, we did not hear any voices and had a very good nights sleep. All in all we had a fantastic evening and a very comfortable stay at the Comfort Inn - we would definately book again when staying in the area.

Room Tip: Hotel entrance and parking is at the rear of the building-as the allocated parking is limited I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Last minute booking in London pre-Christmas and was a little bit concerned as to why such a value accomodation was still available. Maybe others thought the same hence vacancies...
Well this turned out to be a good bet for getting into central London. Accomodation was more than adequate however a little tired looking and the bathroom would miss a bit of bleach to kill the mould.
"Restuarant" was a discription based on a lot of imagination - a breakfast area which disappointingly only opened after 7am which was not good for me having to head into the office before then.
Now I know what is available then i am prepared to save the pennies and stay again.
Oh the entrance is at the rear, handy if you have a car to park but dis-orientating when arriving on foot in the dark

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday inn Express London - Vauxhall Nine Elms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday inn Express London - Vauxhall Nine Elms

Address: 87 South Lambeth Road, London SW8 1RN, England (Formerly Comfort Inn Vauxhall)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #612 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday inn Express London - Vauxhall Nine Elms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express London - Vauxhall Nine Elms. Ideally located just south of the River Thames the hotel is close to all of London's main tourist attractions and the busy Square Mile financial district. Excellent transport links make getting around the capital simple, with Vauxhall Underground and Vauxhall over ground train station a few minutes away. When you stay enjoy free Wi-Fi and Continental Buffet Breakfast with a hot selection which is included in your room rate. The hotel has 132 newly refurbished contemporary bedrooms. All of our bedrooms are spacious, with complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, LCD televisions with free view and air conditioning. We also offer 18 car parking spaces at a daily charge of 22.00 GBP. The Holiday Inn Express London - Vauxhall Nine Elms hotel is well placed to make the most of some of the best attractions in London. The House of Parliament, Lambeth Palace, London Eye, Big Ben, Tate Gallery and the Oval Cricket ground are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday inn Express London - Vauxhall Nine Elms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Vauxhall Hotel London
Vauxhall Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn London
London Comfort Inn
Holiday Inn Express London - Vauxhall Nine Elms England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday inn Express London - Vauxhall Nine Elms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.