We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud and small” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Vauxhall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Vauxhall to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Vauxhall
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   87 South Lambeth Road, London SW8 1RN, England (Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #618 of 1,063 Hotels in London
U.S.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Loud and small”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Hotel is right on a busy road and traffic noise may affect your sleep. The doors in the hotel are very loud and certainly ruined my sleep - both from the office door, several rooms, and other miscellaneous doors were constantly opening and closing very loudly. Good location for public transportation. Friendly and helpful staff. Not a bad option but probably not worth the money. I would try something else next time.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    173
    148
    61
    42
See reviews for
120
100
43
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights recently, and was surprised by the general state and comfort of the room. Luckily, in light of what others have reported, the room we received was large and spacious. The bathroom was too.

Our staff interaction was pretty minimal, but the check-in was quick and easy. Location is good, with easy access to rail, underground and bus services.

Downsides: the double bed was two single beds wedged together, which isn't ideal for couples and the TV service, which seemed to have to logic - channels in no particular order and large "gaps" of empty channels to skip to find the next channel. Very strange!

I can't class the hotel as a "Very Good" rating: it is what it is, and undoubtedly some rooms have issues. For us, this time, it was functional and clean and located where we wished to be. 3.5 out of 5 might be best I can award it.

Room Tip: Light sleepers: request a room that is on side of the hotel away from the road. Buses etc mean it ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Handy for Vauxhall tube and bus stations so pretty central. The hotel is at the side of a busy main road, I was fortunate to have a room round the back so it was quiet. The room was adequate, bed comfortable, nothing exciting. The firm paid £120 for one night B and B - I'm glad I didn't.

The breakfast was rubbish. Not even an adequate continental. Limited choice of cereals, juice glass you could just about fit an egg in and small slices of cheese you could see through. And yes the cold baked beans were still on the menu, it really can't be so difficult to warm them through.

You have to wait to be seated for 'breakfast' but having stood there being ignored for a while I sat down - I was then asked twice in the space of a minute for my room number. Poor service, poor 'meal'. There's better than this.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stopped in this hotel on business on the 21st October 2013. The room was clean and tidy if not a little dated. The hotel is in the city centre with Vauxhall tube/train station a 5 minute walk away.
The negative is the appalling breakfast, I really wouldn't bother unless your happy with burnt toast and cold beans.......

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The room was booked for a cheap night in London.
The location is about 10-15min by bus from the Westend.
Check-in was a painful experience as the staff needed a printed copy of the booking, I only had the booking ref and confirmation on my Phone, but this was not acceptable to them.
The room was small, basic and in need of a refurbishment. The room had a safe (that looked like you needed to swipe a credit card to activate it), flat screen TV, kettle, ceiling fan (no air con) and a very well used bed.
The stay was only OK at best.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We booked a room about a week in advance for two people through a hotel booking site, paid a slightly cheaper rate. We requested a double bed, and emailed the hotel twice (first time got no reply) to ensure we could have a double and not twin beds, however upon checking in to the hotel we were given twin beds (which in fact also had two bunk beds in it). We booked this hotel a part of a trip to London as a couple so we were unhappy our request was not met. The male receptionist who booked us in was very friendly and professional. Unfortunately the TV in our room was broken, two receptionists looked at it, and as they were fully booked they could not move us but he did offer us a free breakfast which was kind (we did not take this as previous reviews on here were not favourable and the 'area' were it is served was not unlike a motorway services area). The iron and ironing board is located in the hall way on each floor, by the lift, and is badly lit not making for a convenient (or private) place to iron. We went out for the evening (good tube links from Vauxhall, but as an area I wouldnt want to spend time there) and on returning there was a large group of guests outside, drinking from bottles and being quite loud. This was followed by room doors slamming shut through out the whole night as people came and went, not a good sleep. I would not recommend this hotel for couples, but as a place to sleep for a night/business it may suit. No frills but seemed clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We found this hotel through a discount travel package and found it to be just average. The room was very small,.barely big enough for two people to move around. The Internet Wi-FI was ridiculously expensive and unreliable, provided by an outside service instead of the hotel's own router. . The desk staff had only a limited knowledge of London attractions, the Continental breakfast was skimpy. The location is reasonably convenient, near the Vauxhall bus and tube station. Not a great place to stay, but not bad.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Vauxhall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Vauxhall

Address: 87 South Lambeth Road, London SW8 1RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #618 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Vauxhall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel with ceiling fans in well appointed bedrooms; situated near the River Thames and public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, LondonMarketing.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Vauxhall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Vauxhall Hotel London
Vauxhall Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn London
London Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Vauxhall London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Vauxhall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.