We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just don't.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of 27 Paddington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added 27 Paddington to your Saves list
27 Paddington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25-27 Craven Road, London W2 3BU, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #559 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just don't.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Unhelpful stuff, small room, air conditioning not working, shower very temperamental, window catches broken, dirty linen left all day outside the bedroom door, very flat pillows, no storage space and scared to ask for anything as the person who checked us in was very aggressive. Breakfast was not worth the effort-went to the fab Turkish cafe up the road. A very negative experience all round.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    75
    42
    10
    8
See reviews for
41
47
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I searched for about 3 hours to find a good value, clean and non-dingy hotel in west london - and i did eventually find one here. The rooms were fairly modern and well appointed. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean and not stuffy (despite it being the basement room). The bathroom was relatively clean, but there were bits of mold at the bottom of the shower which management should clean up.
The rate included breakfast - which was simple but nice. Although the breakfast room was very small and very crowded - we had to wait 10 - 15 mins for a table.
The location is great - only a 3 minute walk from paddington station/tube.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a cheap base in west london and there are certainly much worse hotels in london in the same price bracket.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

we have stayed at this hotel since its opening and have always been very happy with it
it suits our needs

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Happy to get a room for myself and my 2 young children and last minute that was close to Hyde Park for the Olympic events. My expectations were not high based on the price I paid for the room 99 British pounds.
Room was very comfortable but as previous comments we ended up in a basement room B05, no view, just a brick wall and some garbage, hence blinds closed on arrival, that's how we kept them... Slightly musty smell in the hallway. Telephone didn't work in the room.
Breakfast was adequate, cereals were limited.
Would I return? Probably not unless I was guaranteed a higher level room, but it was clean, comfortable and served its purpose.

Room Tip: Request main building (not the one next door) and don't get a basement room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is a good basic hotel for visitors to London who just require bed and breakfast in a convenient location.It is situated a few minutes walk from Paddington station so we chose it for its proximity to the Heathrow Express service which whisks you efficiently and expensively to or from the airport in about 15 mins. The hotel is in two buildings but this did not present a problem. Our basement double room was bright, clean and had coffee making facilities. The bedlinen was white, crisp and spotless and the bathroom was modern clean fresh and well lit, with an efficient shower. A few items, like the sliding bathroom door and the temperamental in-room safe were perhaps showing signs of wear but we had no problems with either and just enjoyed the convenience of the location and the fab Italian reataurant Bizarro close-by. Breakfast was basic but adequate and plentiful and set us up for a day round the city. The coffee was freshly brewed and smelled delicious. The staff were always helpful and friendly and kept our luggage after we checked out as we had a late homeward flight. We would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: No lift so choose how far you want to carry cases!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Paddington isn't the most glamorous area of London but I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel. Literally 2 minutes walk from the station, the triple room we booked was large, clean and pleasant enough with comfortable beds and a good ensuite bathroom. Continental breakfast - croissant, cheese, ham, toast, cereal, juice, coffee, tea etc. - was good and meant B&B cost about £65 per person - a very good price for central London. Our room was on the front so you picked up road noise from the street but that's to be expected given the location and, beware, there's no lift so you may have to heft luggage up stairs if you have it; we were travelling light. There are also a couple of Indian or Italian restaurants nearby if you don't want to go too far to eat. Wouldn't book the hotel for a relaxing holiday but it's fine for a short stop over with access to the city.

Room Tip: A room at the back may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My boyfriend and I have stayed at this hotel for the second time as the location is great - within walking distance of Hyde Park, Oxford Street, Regent Street etc. It's also a 5 minute walk from the train station too which is really handy.

Our first visit was a 1 night visit and we had a basement room which was very quiet and seemed to be more spacious than the room we had this time. I would actually recommend a basement room although there is no natural sunlight. We got this room as a last minute bargain for about £40 so was superb value with breakfast included.

This visit we stayed for 2 nights and were situated on the ground floor right next to the front door and bottom of the stairs. I would not recommend this room as those coming in from a late Saturday night were slamming the front door and you could hear every word. Also some guests left relatively early the next morning and so from about 7am onwards you had suitcases being bumped down the stairs and loud conversations again. This time we booked well in advance and paid over £300 for the 2 nights. For the more money paid we had a worse room and worse quality night sleep.

Room Tip: Don't have B06 - its right next to the front entrance with the door slamming and the stairs so p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 27 Paddington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 27 Paddington

Address: 25-27 Craven Road, London W2 3BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #559 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 27 Paddington 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 27 Paddington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
27 Paddington Hotel London
27 Paddington London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 27 Paddington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.