We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Continental London Kensington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added City Continental London Kensington to your Saves list
City Continental London Kensington
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11-13 Penywern Road, Earls Court, London SW5 9TT, England (Earls Court)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #608 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Siggiewi, Malta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed in room 136.

I would like to thank all the staff at the City Continental (Kensington). This stay was a very good one for my Birthday. Check-in was very smooth. we were greeted and allowed to leave our baggage in the baggage room until check-in time.

We were also upgraded for free to a 2 Bed room (1 Single +1 Double) which was very comfortable for us. The room was large and clean and the shower facilities were as desired with a proper working shower which doesn't freeze you or boil you like a lobster when you turn it on.

Breakfast was good, however i feel some cereal was required (not only weetabix but also cornflakes)

The hotel is very close to Earls Court Station and other facilities and restaurants. that's a great plus.

To sum it up I had a very good stay at this hotel and would recommend it for anybody looking for a comfortable room in London

Room Tip: For rooms on the first floor you might need to go up some stairs despite the lift. other than that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityContinental K, Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the recent review on TripAdvisor
We are delighted that we have exceeded your expectations and you found the hotel very comfortable, and we're really happy to read that you enjoyed every aspect your stay from the team, the cleanliness of the hotel we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
As we usually declare, we aim to be a nice and friendly budget hotel that meets all the expectation of our guests.
Thank you very much once again, and when you plan a return, please do reach out to us at reservations@citycontinentalkensington.co.uk to make the appropriate arrangements.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    258
    187
    76
    65
See reviews for
114
204
81
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Willerby
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed in room 121 which was/is a single room so is small but clean, comfortable and more than adequate for my business stay in London. Two minutes from a Earls Court tube station and the same to Earls Court centre which has adequate food places. My only complaint would be the poor WIFI signal and no signal from my EE phone, resulting in my having to make calls from outside the hotel. This is a decent hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityContinental K, Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your recent review.

First and foremost, I must apologies for the concerns you have risen regarding the Wi-Fi signal should have been more strong, While I am pleased that our location and views were to your liking. I have raised your comments with the Manager, and we are making various tests to enlarge the signal.
Thank you very much once again for your constructive feedback, and for staying with us.

When you are planning a return, please do reach out to us at reservations@citycontinentalkensington.co.uk and we will be more than happy to assist you with your booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I stay in earls court twice a week in budget hotels and City Continental is probably the best. Most of this type of london hotel are run down and show signs of wear. This one is clean, relaxed and very professional. Its nice to stay somewhere where the fixtures aren't falling of the walls for a change. The photos on the booking web sites actually look like the rooms, and thats rare in london.
You wont get better than this at the prices they charge.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityContinental K, Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the recent review on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your kind feedback and were really happy to read that you enjoyed every aspect your stay from the team, the cleanliness of the hotel we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
As we usually declare, we aim to be a nice and friendly budget hotel that meets all the expectation of our guests.
Thank you very much once again, and when you plan a return, please do reach out to us at reservations@citycontinentalkensington.co.uk to make the appropriate arrangements.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrickswell, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Great location close to Earls Court Station. Quiet, Safe Street. Close to Supermarket, Deli, Pubs (with good food), cafes & restaurant. Spotlessly clean, good, fresh breakfast, lovely staff luggage room very handy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityContinental K, Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review.

I am very happy to read that the combination of our location, the high quality of our rooms, and the benefit of the breakfast received has been such a winning one! It sounds like you had a great time, and that is what we always aim to provide here at the City Continental.

Thank you very much once again, and when you plan a return, please do reach out to us at reservations@citycontinentalkensington.co.uk to make the appropriate arrangements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Hi I just wanted to share my experience of staying at this hotel, as it was very clean and the rooms was to reasonable accommodation. There was a reasonable breakfast layout in the morning which was more than what I had expected.The staff are very friendly and at hand to help out, especially the receptionist Orvil that made me feel very welcomed. Overall this would be a hotel that I would revisit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityContinental K, Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the recent review on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your kind feedback and were really happy to read that you enjoyed every aspect your stay from the team, the cleanliness of the hotel to our breakfast, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
As we usually declare, we aim to be a nice and friendly budget hotel that meets all the expectation of our guests.
Thank you very much once again, and when you plan a return, please do reach out to us at reservations@citycontinentalkensington.co.uk to make the appropriate arrangements.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We put our luggage in the room provided as we knew we would not be back until 10pm.we went in our room(113)to a horrendous sound of 2 rather large air condition units outside our bedroom window ,I went out and complained the receptionist told me we had used the room and cannot be moved until tomorrow .i said I want compensation and he replied the manager is not here until Monday which was very convenient as we were leaving on Monday!we did get moved for our second night.came back to hotel and different room(133)opened the door to the bedroom window wide open at the begining of December (strange)with the bathroom exstracter fan on.we now why as the smell from the toilet was awful!!i didn't complain again I was to tired from lack of sleep.i would want some compensation from at least one of the nights and if I do I will go on trip advisors and tell them that I have been compensated .

Room Tip: Don't !!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Stream, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed one night only 10/29 just to be at city center, practically like 5 minutes walk from Earl's Ct station,the reception clerk was friendly and accomodating, stayed at the first floor, hallways tiny and so is the room. As soon as you open the door,there's a tiny side table then the bed, just enough to walk around it ,then small nook with coffee/tea/biscuit then the bathroom,which was modern and clean. Not much of a complainer here,give me a comfortable /clean bed and clean bathroom then I am a OK. Breakfast room in the basement was OK too, continental,enough choices,danish,cereals,toasts and they replenish it right away, seems like there was a lot of guests who woke up early that day.
If Earl's court is your location, then this is not too shabby for a short stay,seems like small hotel rooms are the norm in Europe.
My sister has a room also in the basement and not much of a complain either/just small..that's it !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityContinental K, Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your recent review.

First and foremost, I must apologies for the concerns you have risen regarding the size of the rooms, but we can guarantee you that we exceed the standard of the room's size in our ranking.
While I am pleased that our location, cleanliness, free breakfast and our staff were to your liking.

Thank you very much once again for your constructive feedback, and for staying with us.

When you are planning a return, please do reach out to us at reservations@citycontinentalkensington.co.uk and we will be more than happy to assist you with your booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Continental London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Continental London Kensington

Address: 11-13 Penywern Road, Earls Court, London SW5 9TT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #608 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Continental London Kensington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Continental Kensington London Hotel looks forward to welcoming you to London. If you are traveling to London for business or seeking a hotel near London major tourist attractions & shopping area, there are many reasons you should consider our hotel. Our guests enjoy modern accommodations, amenities, friendly ambiance, and affordable rates City Continental Kensington London Hotel is within easy reach of Olympia Exhibition Centre and a short ride to Hammersmith Apollo. The staff at City Continental Kensington London Hotel is quite friendly and available to assist our guests at any time of the day and night. Breakfast is provided for our guests each morning at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your City Continental London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Continental London Kensington Hotel London
City Continental Hotel London
Comfort Inn London
Comfort Inn Earls Court
London Comfort Inn
City Continental London Kensington England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Continental London Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.