We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, brill location for tourists.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Continental London Kensington

Save Saved
You added City Continental London Kensington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Continental London Kensington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11-13 Penywern Road, Earls Court, London SW5 9TT, England (Earls Court)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #590 of 1,075 hotels in London
Darwen, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, brill location for tourists.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed over valentines (2013) 14th to the 16th, when we first got there, we were shocked at how close the hotel was to Earls Court station, and as being first timers in London this was very useful for commuting around the city. Check in time is 2pm which was rather annoying as we wanted to unpack a few things and freshen up after traveling for several hours, however they have a luggage room which is secure — the only downside to this, is that the luggage room is like a cupboard and when check out is at 11 am this gets very packed so the cases may get squashed. We did have to pay a £20 deposit which was not a problem, I am sure this is expected for most hotels incase of damages or for using the telephone , etc. The room itself was spotless, we could not fault how clean it was, the shower was brilliant and very powerful!! Only bad points about the room are that as a smoker I was hoping the double doors would open but they didn't so I had to go back up to the entrance and have a cigarette there. The hotel room itself does get very hot and even though the air con is on, it doesn't seem to cool the room down, the air con also makes a very funny noise all day and night, this was horrendous when me and my partner was trying to get to sleep after a very busy day in the city and the air con wouldn't be quiet.… (yes, it was turned off-yet it still kept making a noise). As we were in the basement, we expected peace and quiet, however, if somebody opens or shuts their door who is down the corridor, you can hear it and it is so loud and made our door shake. The television in the hotel had limited channels even though it was Free-view - maybe this was because we were in the basement, it didn't bother us too much as we were out all day till late at night but it would have been nice to have a few more channels to watch for when we did get home and wasn't tired. The breakfast was very limited, I did expect a more varied breakfast rather than just bread and other bread like products and cereal, we ended up getting a breakfast from somewhere else for one day as we were out all day and night and needed a decent enough meal to start us for the day — the orange juice was very watered down and there wasn't anywhere to sit for a long time, there wasn't much room either in the breakfast room, I would advise another toaster, as people were queuing for a very long time just to use the only toaster there was, this was whilst attempting to get a seat to eat the food. The staff in the hotel where fantastic, very helpful for directions but I think most of them are Italian or French - which wasn't a massive problem just hard to understand at times. We would definitely stay here again without a doubt and we have also recommended it to friends! Shame it has a few faults that let it down.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BadriSathya, Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Alfisrah,

It is nice to hear your genuine feedback with more positives and I regret that we haven't met some of your expectations. We are not charging the deposit anymore which was a major concern for our guest, even though it is followed in most of the hotels in London at this current moment.

Our luggage room is an extra service which we provide to our guest as a nice gesture which you might not find commonly in all 3* hotels in London. We are a non-smoking hotel and we recommend our guest to smoke outside the hotel which is convenient for non-smokers. In the future please contact the reception if you are not happy with the allocated room also try to mention in the booking confirmation if you need your room in any specific location. We always make sure to provide a better service and thanks a lot for recommending us to your friends and we are looking forward to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    270
    200
    92
    62
See reviews for
87
154
69
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights, was pleasantly surprised, reception area was lovely and the staff were helpfull, you also have to pay a £20 deposite on arrival which wasnt any bother, receptionist told us it was incase we broke anything or used the phones so we didnt mind paying. me and my boyfriend had a room in the basement, was abit dissopointed but we didnt mind, our room was small but it was clean and the bathroom was lovely, room was cleaned every time we came back to the hotel, tea & coffee was stocked back up and also fresh towels everyday, very close to earls court station, lots of fast food restaurants and chain restaurants, all in all we had lovely stay and would use this hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BadriSathya, Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your valuable comments, we are delighted to read your feedback. I have passed your comment to our staffs.

All our newly refurbished rooms have added value to our hotel and we are happy that you are pleased with our standard.

We have different room categories and also have bigger rooms with more space at less price difference. If you like a bigger room please ask at reception for assistance. Our friendly staff will assist you anytime 24 hours a day. We are looking forward for your stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a one night stay with my daughter. As a hotelier myself, I was really impressed with the receptionists greeting, although was not expecting to pay £20 deposit incase we used WIFI or the telephone! The room was pretty impressive too, immaculately clean and beautifully decorated, with all modern fixtures and fittings.But then we started to notice the flaws, firstly, although the TV was freeview we were unable to get any of the channels, BBC 1 and 2 was our choices! I know we didn't go to watch TV but I thought that was bad. We were getting ready for breakfast and the maid was knocking, trying to get in to clean the room even though we were not required to vacate till 11 am. Breakfast was an absolute joke!! We were unable to find a free seat in the 'Breakfast Room' it was chaos!! Eventually we sat and had to share a table and then fight for breakfast. There were no dishes,glasses or plates - and there was no one to ask! Eventually, they were replaced, but gave up as there was a queue for toast, a small four round toaster for the whole dining room. The hotel reminded me of a student canteen.We felt quite stressed when we left and hungry. I can't believe we paid over £100 each and was expecting alot more !!! Definately would not return or reccommend this hotel

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BadriSathya, Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
First of all I would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused during your stay.

Deposit £20 is a hotel policy just incase of any extras; which will be returned on departure if nothing been used. Our contnental buffet breakfast is complimentary to all our guest and we always try to provide best service possible.

Please be assured that the issues you have raised have been addressed and actions have already been taken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick-upon-Tweed
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The directions given on the Hotel's website are very good - turn left out of Earl's Court Tube Station (Warwick Road exit) & left again onto Penywern Road, keep walking & the hotel is eventually on your right. The reception staff were really nice. Please be aware though, that you will be asked to pay a £20 (per room) 'deposit' incase you damage anything. We paid cash & got this back no problem upon check-out. We stayed in room 111 which was on the Ground floor, right at the front of the hotel. On arrival, we told that receptionist that we had booked a Twin Room & he told us that we had been upgraded to a Premium Room (we don't know why!). The room had a double bed & a single bed. Not much space to move around...no drawers which we found bizarre...a small sized wardrobe with 6 hangers which was fine for us, & a safe, which we were really pleased about. There was a TV as well, and we each had a small bedside shelf. There was a dressing table next to the wardrobe with a chair and facilities for making tea. This end of the room was really cold, as it was next to the windows which weren't double-glazing.
The room was clean, as were the bedsheets. The bathroom was small but very nice, we think it had recently been renovated, as the shower was lovely, very modern. The beds were comfy & no sign of the plastic covering on the matresses that has been mentioned in a few reviews.
Breakfast was down in the basement....very small room for the amount of guests (which has been mentioned in other reviews) but, really, you're only there for 15 minutes at the most. Sharing tables didn't bother us. There was white & brown bread, a toaster (which can take a while), yoghurts, fruit, 3 types of cereal, croissants, marmalade, jam, butter etc. It was a decent breakfast for what we paid, filled us up nicely for the day ahead.
We discovered that if we turned right out of the hotel, we ended up on Earl's Court main street where there were restaurants & shops such as M&S, McDonalds, Gregs & Nandos. And also the other entrance for Earl's Court tube station. If you want the DISTRICT LINE - use this entrance. If you want PICCADILLY LINE - use the Warwick Road entrance, opposite the exhibition centre.
After a day on the tour bus, we were chilled to the bone & used the heating in the room for the first time. It warmed the room up nicely & didn't really make it stuffy. However, the end of the room where the windows were, was absolutely freezing.
All-in-all, a good hotel but I wouldn't stay there again...simply for the reason that it was too far out for what we needed. I would prefer to stay in Russell Square, as I have before, as it was much more central for Leicester Square, theatres etc. However, if you need to be somewhere around Earl's Court, I would recommend this hotel. It's comfortable & clean (not the Ritz, by any means) you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Room 111 had a lovely bathroom but was sometimes noisy (eg. if there is something on at the Exhibiti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BadriSathya, Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our Hotel. I regret to hear that we haven't met some of your expectations.

All our rooms are of standard size and equipped with facilities mentioned in the portal. We always value our guest and try to allocate the best room possible. Also we try to change the room if our guest is not happy with specific room allocated initially.

We assure the issues you have raised have been addressed and the appropriate action have been taken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Upon our arrival, £20 was demanded from us. This was in case we used the phone or room service, however this was never mentioned before. Finding our room was very confusing because the doors were incorrectly labled and many of them were simply marked 'fire exit.' Eventually we found it - it was in a series of rooms outside of the hotel. The room was fairly clean however one of the bedside lights did not work and the walls seemed paper thin. Breakfast was beyond poor - there wasn't much at all and there was nobody around to inform you were everything was and plus everything had already run out, even though there was still half an hour left before they stopped serving. The only good thing about it was that it was close to the tube station.

Room Tip: Request a room in the main building, not the outside 'huts'
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BadriSathya, Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thanks for your recent review with regards to your stay in our hotel. We would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused during your stay.

Our breakfast is complimentary and we provide with best service possible. We have already discussed your concern in our meeting and actions have already been taken. We are looking forward to accommodate you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke-on-trent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were a party of four me, my husband an two friends an booked into the City Continental London Kensington for one night as we were going to watch a show.The hotel was very clean and decor was lovely.Our rooms were spotless and bathroom lovely.Staff were very plesant and helpful.You have to leave £20 deposit when you book in incase of breakages which we didnt know about but was not a problem and got it back when we handed our keys back in.The only downfall was hubby likes a cooked breakfast when we are away and it was only continental i was fine with this and hubby didnt starve.All in all a fab weekend!!!!

Room Tip: you cant get to all the rooms by the lift you have finish off by useing the stairs so if you struggl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BadriSathya, Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for the recent review and we are pleased to read your comments.

Also we are delighted to read that our staff were pleasant, I have passed on your comments to them. We provide only continental breakfast which is complementary and it is mentioned in the booking instructions.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I had a single room that was small but comfortable. The location was superb. I really enjoyed the fact that there was a supermarket at the end of the street. There was a Burger King and McDonalds and two pubs within easy walking distance. The underground station was very very close and had a direct line to Heathrow. My room was clean I got new towels everyday and breakfast area was small but easily manageable. The food was what you would expect for continental breakfast. I would definitely stay here again. I had no problems with giving them a 20 pound deposit and it was returned to me upon check out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BadriSathya, Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words.

Our hotel location is a great advantage to visit many areas in london with most restaurants and pubs located in a walkable distance.

We are loooking forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to City Continental London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Continental London Kensington

Address: 11-13 Penywern Road, Earls Court, London SW5 9TT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #590 of 1,075 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Continental London Kensington 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your City Continental London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Continental London Kensington Hotel London
City Continental Hotel London
Comfort Inn London
Comfort Inn Earls Court
London Comfort Inn
City Continental London Kensington England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Continental London Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.