We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nadler Kensington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Nadler Kensington to your Saves list
The Nadler Kensington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Courtfield Gardens, Kensington | Kensington, London SW5 0PG, England (Earls Court)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% discount
Ranked #55 of 1,066 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We go to London often from Birmingham and generally stay around the Gloucester Road/Kensington area (I can use my brother's parking space!) - normally one of the chains (Marriott, Hilton, Holiday Inn, etc) but they are getting expensive (even with discounts) so base2stay came up on the radar - £75 for a last minute booking (Booking.com) in a king size room. Even by our (my wife's specifically) exalted standards this place was exceptional; immaculate, quiet and close to Earls Court tube. Bedroom has microwave, fridge, nespresso coffee machine - everything you need. This is my hotel of choice in London from now on - especially if we can get these ridiculously low rates.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,624
    793
    94
    40
    18
See reviews for
547
872
498
358
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Forest National Park, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The staff at the Base2Stay were unfailingly helpful. The rooms are somewhat small (this is London, afterall), but well-appointed, new, and clean. We especially appreciated the mini-kitchen as it saved us from worrying about breakfast every day. The location is only 2 blocks from Earl's Court Station, which in on the Picadilly Line, and that makes it very convenient, both for visiting many of the famous places in the center of London, and for access to Heathrow. Finally, the price we paid was reasonable for London. We would definitely go there again !!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

First, this was a very good hotel in an excellent location with an exemplary staff. We stayed for 9 nights and are a family of two adults and an only child. We travel extensively, but this was our first time in London. I'm going to share some tips with you to hopefully make this experience as great as you would expect.

1. Book by phone. My experience says we would have paid as much as 10% less had we booked by phone versus booking on their website or any other consolidator website.

2. Book early. This place seems to stay booked and likely will in the future. If you want the room of your choice (read below), you must book early.

3. Select room configuration. Each room appears to be uniquely configured. This is a renovated space that was never designed to be a hotel, but has been converted into a hotel. There are many variables at play in the rooms. Find out if you can select the room that will best suit your needs. In our case, our room was a bit smaller than we expected. Had we thought to request specific things during our reservation (couch or sitting area or patio as seen in some photos with this listing), we would have had an even better experience.

4. Stay off the street for the least noise. If you desire peace and quiet, select a room that is not street side. This will give you a quieter night's sleep. It is not the hotel's fault if a taxi driver leans on his horn at 4pm when you are trying to take a nap or if the neighbor decides to unload a truck at 1am below your window. There's nothing they can do about those things. For less city noises, select an interior room.

5. Request a view. If you care about what is outside your window, make sure you ask what is outside the window.

6. Breakfast delivery. If you are staying more than a few days, you may want to pass on this option. This was great for the first two or three days particularly as we were familiarizing ourselves with the area, but became repetitive after that. They worked with us to get a better service in place for our remaining days. I would not recommend the breakfast delivery option for more than a couple of days stay.

Why you should book at Base2Stay:

1. King size bed. Yes. It is two twin beds put together, but you would never know it. We slept very well and were very happy with the king sized bed configuration.

2. Kitchenette. Everything you would need for a light meal in the room, particularly for a longer stay.

3. Location. Literally one block from the Earl's Court tube station and dozens of restaurants and stores.

4. Customer Service. Excellent, excellent, excellent. If there was a problem, they did everything in their power to fix it. It was authentic and very pleasing to work with the staff.

Some tips for when you are staying at Base2Stay:

1. How to get to the hotel. If you are not from the area, and we aren't, you may spend some time trying to find the hotel initially if you are coming in from the Underground. We walked around for half an hour in our overnight flight haze searching for a wifi connection to get to a map to just to figure out how to get to the hotel. Be sure you know the exact steps before you go, it will save time and inconvenience. Here is exactly how to get there from the Earl's Court tube station:

a) exit the tube and look for the "way out" signs for Earl's Court. There is a lift up to the main level and a ramp to street level. If you are lugging luggage like we were, look for the lift. We stumbled up stairs and around the station and got completely turned around our first morning. Do not follow the signs for Warwick as these will put you out at the wrong side of the station. Once out via the lift, Earl's Court Rd runs immediately in front of the station. The cross walk is directly in front of the station.

b) Cross Earl's Court Rd via the cross walk, turn right on the sidewalk. Your next street to the left is Earl's Court Gardens which you may or may not know because the road signage there is so inconsistent. If you see a post office on your left and a pub on the right of the street, you are at the right place. Take a left and go straight back down this road.

c) At the end of Earl's Court Gardens, turn right on to Courtfield Gardens (Google Maps calls it Knaresborough Pl). Again, no signage to speak of. Base2Stay is down about 100 yards on the right. We walked past it as there is no signage over the sidewalk. Just keep looking to your right. From this direction when you reach the stairs to the hotel, the large sign will actually be up on the right of the porch. There is a small sign over the access buttons.

It would be good to familiarize yourself with the Underground if this is your primary form of transportation. For tourist destinations, you'll mostly be using the Piccadilly and District lines.

2. Use their restaurant programs. They have a good working relationship with several local restaurants. They called ahead and let the restaurants know we were coming. Check my reviews specifically for Pascucci's, Blackbird Pub and Thali, all of which were recommended by Base2Stay with a coupon for percentages off the meal.

3. Laundry. If you need regular laundry service and not specific a la carte items to be pressed or dry cleaned, head over to #5 (or so) Hogarth Street where there is a laundry and a wash/dry/fold service. Note that nothing gets pressed with that service unless you ask. I let Base2Stay know they would benefit their guests by offering such a service particularly for longer stay guests, but it is currently not offered. Base2Stay offers laundry service, but it is a la carte and quite costly for a family just trying to wash some underwear and t-shirts, etc.

4. Groceries. There is a M&S express store down on the corner of Earl's Court and Barkston, but it mostly has prepared foods and a fairly limited inventory. If you just want wine and cheese or a quick sandwich, it's perfect. The larger grocery is the Sainsbury's located about a block from the hotel in the other direction from the M&S. From the front door of the hotel, walk out and take a left on Courtfield Gardens. Your next right will be Collingham, turn right on to Collingham and go to the end and bear left. You'll see the Sainsbury's across the road. They have everything you could need there. Be careful crossing the traffic.

5. Walking distance attractions. Victoria & Albert Museum and the Natural History Museum are literally a 15-20 minute walk away. Go out the front door, turn left on Courtfield Gardens, right on Collingham, bear left to face Cromwell. Turn right on Cromwell and walk down less than a mile. The museums will be on your left. You can also take the Earl's Court station to South Kensington station and go that way to save the walk if you like.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Another great 8 day stay. Nothing new to say about Base2stay but we did stay in one of the recently renovated rooms and it was very nice. We also found a very nice Lebanese bakery on the main road that was great for breakfast and very good coffee. Will return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Staff was very attentive and helpful. Upon check in, we had mentioned about the toilet in a less than satisfactory condition, and it was attended to promptly. On top of that, we received 2 cup cakes when we returned to our room the next day. Rooms were otherwise clean as expected. Also has a good location, which is abouts 5 minutes from the Earls Court tube.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights late last month. Convenient to the tube, in a relatively quiet area, prices (when booking and paying well in advance) seem to be quite good by London standards. We got upgraded (to what, I'm not sure). The room was pretty spacious, and the bathroom was huge by European standards.

The only negative was all the construction noise! However, they seem to try to limit that to "regular" operating hours.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardogub, Guest Relations Manager at The Nadler Kensington, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you alsyli for your comments, it seems that you had a great stay with us and also enjoyed your room size. We offer a wide choice, from small rooms to big. Apologies about the construction works outside the hotel but as you said we are keeping those under normal working hours and before the end of the month it should be over. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

When we first arrived at this London small hotel the construction was a real turn off. Fortunately, they gave us a better room in a completed part of the hotel. Lovely walking neighborhood, especially for people like us who prefer to stay fit during our vacations. Hotel staff was sweet and sincere.

Room Tip: The larger room (305) was worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardogub, Guest Relations Manager at The Nadler Kensington, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you Jeanne for your feedback, we are very happy that we managed to ultimately live up to your expectation and that at the end you enjoyed your time with us and in our lovely neighbourhood. We aim not to just sell a hotel room but an experience, so it’s very important for us to ensure we match, if not exceed our guests expectation. That said, I can confirm that all the construction works will be over very soon and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nadler Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nadler Kensington

Address: 25 Courtfield Gardens, Kensington | Kensington, London SW5 0PG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in London
#40 Family Hotel in London
#43 Business Hotel in London
#45 Luxury Hotel in London
#56 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nadler Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original base2stay hotel, now called The Nadler Kensington is an exciting hotel concept in London, located in a fabulous location next to a quiet Kensington Garden Square. This original townhouse and mews has been interior designed to provide all guest rooms with air-conditioning, free Wi-Fi, HDTVs with 6,000 track music library, internet and games, mini-kitchen, 24-hr Reception & Concierge Service, daily maid service and oversized power showers or baths. The Nadler Kensington has excellent transport connections and is in close walking distance of Earl's Court tube station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Nadler Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base2stay Kensington London
Base2stay Kensington Hotel London
Base 2 Stay
The Nadler Kensington London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nadler Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.