We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great location, great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nadler Kensington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Nadler Kensington to your Saves list
The Nadler Kensington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Courtfield Gardens, Kensington | Kensington, London SW5 0PG, England (South Kensington)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Discount
Ranked #53 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great value, great location, great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We have officially voted this hotel as the best of our trip - great location, excellent service, very clean and comfortable and good value for money. Our check in was very efficient and informative and although we arrived well before the advertised check in time, were given immediate access to our room. We were given a room with four beds on the lower level. There are lots of little steps to negotiate with luggage but we didn't find that too problematic. The room was a good size for a family of four with the most comfortable beds we've encountered thus far. The room was quiet and could be made dark. The hotel is to be commended for the comprehensive information folder it has compiled about the room, appliances, hotel services and local food, grocery and other businesses (even shoe repairs which we happened to need) - the best we've seen. The room was spotless and cleaned every day. The shower head could do with improvement (not the best water flow so perhaps it was nearing the end of its lifespan) but the hair dryer exceeded expectations. The kitchenette was equipped with a nespresso coffee machine, tea making facilities and sufficient crockery and cutlery for us to use comfortably for takeaway meals etc. The hotel can arrange an in-room breakfast (prepared by a local cafe) for £7 per person but we opted to eat out - the information booklet makes lots of resturant suggestions. Our only gripe was the intermittent wifi access. All our dealings with staff were great and we witnessed them dealing with a guest complaint (an unreasonable one in our opinion) very professionally. Highly, highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masuma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Nadler Kensington, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Wow! What a wonderful start to the New Year, thank you! We really appreciate your in depth review because your feedback tells us what works well for our guests. I’m delighted that you made the most of the hotel facilities. Thank you for bringing our attention to the shower; all our rooms are have over-sized showers with (usually) high water pressure, so I will investigate the issue you experienced and I apologise if this caused any inconvenience. It sounds like you enjoyed the best of the base2stay experience and we can’t wait to see you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,682
    817
    94
    41
    18
See reviews for
561
901
510
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Booked a family room for me and my three children. For once all the beds were a decent size as most hotels with spare beds in rooms assume children are midgets. The facilities were excellent - small kitchenette with coffee machine - much appreciated. The reception staff were most helpful too when we need directions or a taxi. Very clean and good location. Will stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

There are the national hotel groups and there are these unique small hotels where attention to personal detail is key. Base2stay with respect to this was the vey best we've experienced. Every effort was made to accomodate us with our six month old baby as comfortably as possible. A wrong booking was dealt with immediately and remarkably efficiently. The hotel was warm, fresh and spotlessly clean. Hoping to go again soon....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masuma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Nadler Kensington, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We try to make sure that the essentials of our hotel have got something for everyone and I’m glad that this was reflected during your stay. We hope to see you and your family return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Compact clean rooms with mini kitchen, WiFi and satellite TV. Ideal for exploring London. It is an easy walk to Earls Court tube station (on Heathrow Piccadily line). The new reception area opening late 2012 will have coffee etc.available.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette IN
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
362 helpful votes 362 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were in London over Christmas and Boxing Day (which I would not recommend because everything closes including the Tube) and chose base2stay because it looked like the neighborhood had some ethnic restaurants that might be open on Christmas and because of the kitchenette. We were in a Superior room on the lower level which meant going downstairs and then up 5 or 6 steps in a strange configuration (if you have mobility issues, definitely let them know as many of the rooms would not be accessible to you).

On the positive side, the staff was helpful and friendly (though I sent email before our arrival that was never answered), our room was quiet and clean. The hotel was close to the Earl's Court Tube stop (Earl's Court road exit) and was near to many restaurants, small markets, Marks and Spencer, and Sainsbury's. Earl's Court Tube stop is on the Piccadilly line so it is easy to get to from Heathrow and King's Cross/St. Pancras. The wifi was fast and reliable. The nespresso, microwave, mini fridge, kettle, and dishes all came in handy since so little was open on either Christmas or Boxing Day. The location was also walking distance to many museums (closed December 24-26) and Harrod's.

On the negative side, we had booked a "larger" room for 3 people and it was still a very small room. The fold-out cot wasn't very comfortable for an adult. Also, for a room with a kitchenette it was odd that there wasn't a table and chairs in the room. So, the only place to sit and eat was on the bed or at the desk. My biggest complaint is that the terrace doors were drafty so the room was always cold. The outside wall where the cot was was very cold.

Room Tip: Don't get a room with a terrace in the winter because the doors are not very weather tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert N, Owner at The Nadler Kensington, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Hello Azogal, thank you for your review. Our Kensington hotel is a converted Edwardian townhouse and mews. Whilst there is a lift to all floors, access to some rooms requires a few stairs to be negotiated. We are always happy to arrange for guests who may find these difficult to be accommodated in bedrooms with level access, if given notice. As a converted group of period buildings, this also means that few rooms are identical in layout or size, which makes our hotel more interesting and individual. I apologise if the draught-proofing of the French doors to the garden was not weather-tight, and our maintenance team, which is always on hand to assist with guest requests, will look at this immediately. With regard to the mini-kitchen, as a hotel rather than a serviced apartment, this is a convenience rather than for full meals, but the desk, not being fitted, is intended to be used as a table. I hope you will return to try us again, perhaps in summer, when our terrace rooms are very popular.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Picking a good value hotel in London is always difficult, the main issues of price, location and size of room and usually hard to get a good balance.
In base2stay i think that the balance is met well, we booked a double room and the size compared well with other London hotels of the same price and the location on a quiet street within walking distance of Earls Court Tube Station is great for getting around. Earls Court also has a lot of Pubs and Restaurants that make grabbing food easy. Apart form the location and price the following were bonuses:
+ Efficient and helpful reception staff
+ Assistance with getting bags to our room
+ A clean and bright modern atmosphere
+ A well appointed room with internet TV.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My son and I stayed here for my birthday and we thought it would be good to have the mini kitchen which we used only once for an evening meal but also for breakfast and as coffee and snack stops to recharge during the day.The location was near the Piccadilly line and as a lot of the places we wanted to visit such as the holywood costumes at the V&A, Covent Garden and Harrods were up and down this line it was very convenient for us.We also went to the christmas ideal home show at Earls Court and this was within walking distance.There were plenty of restaurants nearby and we met up with friends for a birthday meal we have decided to start visiting London at least once a year and would come back to base2stay.The room and bathroom were cleaned each day including whatever cups or dishes you have used are all washed and put back in your kitchenette.However the staff were the icing on the cake literally in my case as on returning back to base on my birthday to freshen up and get changed there was a box of cupcakes and birthday card waiting for me from the staff, we cant wait to go back and the staff told us another base to stay will be opening in 2013 in Soho so another great location we can explore from.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masuma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Nadler Kensington, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. Happy (belated) birthday! I will let our staff know your delight towards their gesture. We love making each and every one of our guests feel valued. It sounds like you and your son were out and about making the most of London, which is exactly what we hope our guests would do and why our front desk ‘Local Ambassadors’ are there to help with all requests. We are very excited about the Soho opening in Spring 2013 and we would love to see you there!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nadler Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nadler Kensington

Address: 25 Courtfield Gardens, Kensington | Kensington, London SW5 0PG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in London
#41 Family Hotel in London
#45 Luxury Hotel in London
#51 Business Hotel in London
#64 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nadler Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original base2stay hotel, now called The Nadler Kensington is an exciting hotel concept in London, located in a fabulous location next to a quiet Kensington Garden Square. This original townhouse and mews has been interior designed to provide all guest rooms with air-conditioning, free Wi-Fi, HDTVs with 6,000 track music library, internet and games, mini-kitchen, 24-hr Reception & Concierge Service, daily maid service and oversized power showers or baths. The Nadler Kensington has excellent transport connections and is in close walking distance of Earl's Court tube station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Nadler Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base2stay Kensington London
Base2stay Kensington Hotel London
Base 2 Stay
The Nadler Kensington London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nadler Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.