We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nadler Kensington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Nadler Kensington to your Saves list
The Nadler Kensington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Courtfield Gardens, Kensington | Kensington, London SW5 0PG, England (Earls Court)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% discount
Ranked #54 of 1,065 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Northborough, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Would highly recommend. Three things that is a "must" for me is cleanliness, friendly helpful staff, and good location. This hotel met, if not exceeded, my expectations. The room was more spacious than most hotels in London and impeccably clean. And the bed was very comfortable. The location was perfect for both walking and traveling by tube. But I was most impressed with the staff. Base2Stay helped make our visit a memorable one. Will certainly recommend to friends traveling to London.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor. Quiet and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masuma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Nadler Kensington, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thanks for your lovely review. Your three ‘musts’ are on our list of ‘musts’ too! I’m really pleased that we were able to facilitate and accommodate your stay in the best way possible. We are very appreciative of your recommendations and can’t wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,619
    788
    94
    40
    17
See reviews for
544
867
498
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Majestic Great Plains
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The owners of this property did a phenomenal job of maximizing a very small amount of room space. I echo everything previous reviewers have said about room condition and decor being fantastic. The bathroom was more spacious than expected and the shower got hot quickly and stayed that way. The location very close to Earl's Court Tube was very nice. Staff were very professional and accommodating. I saw work crews still renovating parts of the lobby during the day, so I expect this property to be a work in progress. I can unconditionally recommend this hotel as a great option for Central London.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masuma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Nadler Kensington, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Hi, thank you so much for this great review. We strive to ensure that the condition of our hotel is always maintained to look its very best. We also try to make the most out of the classic features and space of the building; I hope our new reception is a testament to this. This refurbishment is now complete and we hope you that when you come stay with us again, you can enjoy this lovely new space, photographs of which are now on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Normally, I would stay in a hotel but I decided to try a serviced apartment. I stayed in room 116 and first impressions were that it was very small but it did have modern fittings and a comfortable bed. It was quiet as it was at the end of the corridor, which was a blessing. Checking in and out was efficient and friendly. I did have trouble with the TV and someone came at once to sort it out but it was a general fault with the "system" and was sorted the next day. It was very clean and the whole building looked well cared for. The view from the window was, "uninspiring" but I have paid twice the amount for a London Hotel room and have a "kitchen view or blank dirty wall"
The surrounding area was nice and quiet and many pubs, resteraunts and shops within a short walk. Earls Court station is 5 mins walk away. The in room "service guide" was the best I have ever seen with lots of information. So all in all, I can see other reviews complaining about the size of the rooms and that is probably an honest complaint but don't compare 5 star hotels or any American hotel with this apartment as you will obviously be disapointed. All the staff were very attentive and friendly. I would stay again. Once again, I have paid a lot lot more for a hotel room that claims air conditioning but rarely works well. My room had an excellent system.

Room Tip: I think my room was a "double" but I would class it as a "single" with a double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masuma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Nadler Kensington, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review base2stay, where your comments are very much appreciated. We actually describe ourselves and are classified as a hotel, although we believe our unique concept combines some of the best features of both. I’m pleased to hear that our staff made you feel welcome and assisted you when you required their help. We have a variety of room types and sizes with views that range from the gardens of neighbouring properties or the adjoining square to some with their own patios. I hope that on your next visit we can offer you a room with our best views!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a super Hotel if you want to spend a few days in London. The room, G12, was compact with a good size bathroom. Furniture is modern and clean. Everything works well and the bonus is a closed-in alcove containing everything you need to 'eat in', including microwave, sink, fridge, cups and plates, cutlery and even a corkscrew. We didn't buy continental breakfast (£7), but chose to find a cafe in the neighbourhood. The reception area has been recently refurbished and looks and feels good. Staff on reception were friendly and professional. Located within five minute walk of Earl's Court tube station, the hotel is great for heading into Central London, or visiting nearby Museums in South Kensington. We stayed for one night on 14 November and were very impressed with 'base2stay' and pleased with our experience. Would certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masuma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Nadler Kensington, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words. We have a simple philosophy – if the guest is happy, then we’re happy! I hope on your next visit, you leave feeling even happier than before!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Loved this hotel - the staff were lovely and very helpful. The decor of the hotel/rooms was great - it's renovated so all new and modern, but still has a lovely warm feel. Very high standard of cleanliness, and good services - although the hotel doesn't have a restaurant, there is a range of restaurants in the area that deliver to the hotel, so a quiet night in with "room service" is still possible if you're feeling weary. It is great having the little kitchenette in the room, to make your own breakfast, and tea and coffee whenever you feel like it.

The location is great - South Kensington is beautiful, and the nearest tube station (Earls Court) is only a couple of minutes walk away. There are restaurants on Earls Court Road for eating out, and High Street Kensington is only about a 10 minute walk if you want to do some nice clothes shopping.

Earls Court station is on 2 different tube lines, and a 5 minute walk away there is Gloucester Rd station which is on 3 lines, so you can get around most of central London very easily from this spot.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

An alternative for people like me that sees hotels as a place to sleep, take a long & warm shower and get in and out very fast.

If you like hotels with big lobby, bell boy, fancy room service and spacious rooms this is not an option because the room are not big like Hyatt or Hilton.

My room was quite simmilar to a room in Tokyo (capsule hotel) but way better. It hasnt more than 4x4 mts but very smart designed. It had a small kitchenette with fridge and sink as well as free cable TV and Internet.

If you are lucky and have the opportunity to have Wigas on duty at the front desk ask him for his advice about everything you are planning to do because he knows about discounts and better options which will help you to save money. With his help i got discounts at restaurants, transportation services, city tours, etc.

The hotel location is perfect because you are far away from the busy city of London but in the grand London area. Earl court underground station is one block away from the hotel and there is an easy access to the local transportation system (BUS)

The rooms are very well isolated from the external noise (street) and my neighbords behaved very well so my nights were quite and relaxing.

There is a Pub one block away and just across the underground station that sells one of the best fish and chips in the area.

I recommend this place as an option for travelers that are not looking to spend so much time at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masuma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Nadler Kensington, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review. One of our key aims is to create the perfect base to eat, sleep, work and play in London (and in Liverpool). I am delighted that what you describe encapsulates this ideal perfectly – thank you! I’m glad that our hotel (and Wiqas!) provided you with the all the services, facilities and features to make the most of your trip in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We had a great stay at base2stay Kensington when we stayed for our honeymoon and first trip to Europe. The hotel is very close to an underground station, which is easy to use to get around the city and is included in the London pass if you are using that. The area is very lively and much closer to the city center than I expected. In room wifi worked great and the room was comfortable with good services. Not a very large room, but it was very functional for the 2 of us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nadler Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nadler Kensington

Address: 25 Courtfield Gardens, Kensington | Kensington, London SW5 0PG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in London
#38 Family Hotel in London
#45 Luxury Hotel in London
#46 Business Hotel in London
#56 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nadler Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original base2stay hotel, now called The Nadler Kensington is an exciting hotel concept in London, located in a fabulous location next to a quiet Kensington Garden Square. This original townhouse and mews has been interior designed to provide all guest rooms with air-conditioning, free Wi-Fi, HDTVs with 6,000 track music library, internet and games, mini-kitchen, 24-hr Reception & Concierge Service, daily maid service and oversized power showers or baths. The Nadler Kensington has excellent transport connections and is in close walking distance of Earl's Court tube station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Nadler Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base2stay Kensington London
Base2stay Kensington Hotel London
Base 2 Stay
The Nadler Kensington London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nadler Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.