We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nadler Kensington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Nadler Kensington to your Saves list
The Nadler Kensington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Courtfield Gardens, Kensington | Kensington, London SW5 0PG, England (South Kensington)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Discount
Ranked #60 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Cologne, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

This is a wonderful little hotel in a lovely neighbourhood (two tube stations are very close so one's in the City Centre in no time). The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful, our room was lovely (to the back, airy, full of light, great furniture and bathroom).
If there was a downside, it could only be the fact that one heard the other guests a little too well (walking, door slamming..), but I couldn't blame that on the hotel at all.
I will stay there again whenever I return to London - it's not cheap, but it's worth its money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,709
    827
    94
    42
    18
See reviews for
576
913
512
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wien
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We asked for a room on the top floor and we got one on the first (of 5 floors) facing the firewall. We could hardly tell if it was raining or sunshine, we had to check on the Internet!
The room size was small, but acceptable, the duvet was very cosy, but the mattress was too soft, my back hurt after one night.
The team at the reception was partly very helpful (printed our boarding passes at no cost) but failed to say bye-bye when we actually left the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amie_Conway, Manager at The Nadler Kensington, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Dear Obrowsky,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectation this time. We do our best to accommodate guest requests, however having only four rooms on our fifth floor and being almost fully booked in June, this is not always possible. It also depends on the room category booked, as we have four out of a possible seven room categories on the fifth floor.

We unfortunately cannot guarantee views, as we are a city based hotel, so some of our rooms face Courtfield Gardens, some the local residents’ gardens, some our private mews, and some face the neighbouring residents’ buildings. We would always offer to change rooms if we have availability.

Our mattresses are regularly quality checked by our Head Housekeeper and are replaced as soon as required. We do have a mattress protector on top of the mattress, so this would have made the bed feel softer. If requested, we would have gladly removed this to give you a firmer bed.

As other Tripadvisor reviewers have noted, we feel one of the things that makes us stand out is our service, therefore I am disappointed that on this occasion we appear not to have maintained the standards we set ourselves. I note that on departure, we stored your luggage for the day and printed your boarding passes, but I am sorry if the member of staff was busy and missed your final departure, as saying goodbye and wishing a pleasant journey is standard for us. I hope we can welcome you again to base2stay Kensington very soon and provide you with an experience that meets your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed for a week in a standard double overlooking a leafy oasis made up of residential backyards and (disregarding last weeks' weather) loved pretty much everything about the experience. The area is excellent with just a couple of 100m to the Earl's Court metro (direct connection to Heathrow and with district, circle, picadilly taking us just about everywhere in a second). You have a great variety of restaurants and shops within walking distance, not to mention Kensington High street, a selection of museums and Hyde Park a mere 10-15minute stroll away.

The room itself was tastefully and neutrally decorated, spotless, and both living- and bath area was quite large (not least considering the reasonable price we paid for it). Good under bed storage, a decent sized wardrobe and desk (that on occasion could be turned into supper table) didn't leave much else to wish for and the TV-accessible free WiFi, A/C, and Kensington area directory were appreciated extras.

The few things that could be improved upon (though easily overlooked!):
The power shower, while having a decent amount of power and always supplied us with warm water, did not hold quite hold the temperatature. The blackout curtains didn't leave us completely in the black once daylight hit... and we also had some light coming in from under the door to the corridore. This is easily fixed by just placing whatever you should find in front of the door though, and is centainly not a deal breaker! Also, the bed and pillows could've been a bit softer... but then again we're both lightweights and still managed to get comfortable enough to have seven nights worth of good sleep.

The few encounters we had with staff (we're pretty self sufficient travellers) left nothing to be desired, we experienced nothing but professionalism.

Considering previous reviews we had expected a good stay and our expectations we're well exceeded! We've already recommended Base2Stay to friends and wouldn't hesitate to return ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed in this hotel while on vacation in UK from Canada. I would definitely return to this hotel and recommend it to anyone. The location is very good, in a quiet area but close to the tube and within walking distance of Kensington. The rooms were small but completely modern, clean and very well equipped with kitchenettes. The size is similar to the size of other B&B and small hotel rooms we stayed at throughout the UK which were 4 and 5 star. The price was reasonable for London, and the staff were helpful and courteous. The only downside is that there is no restaurant on the premises, but there are many places close by.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

base2stay, Kensington - around the block (4 minute walk )from Earl's Court Underground station - on both the Piccadilly and District lines, which get you anywhere tourists may want to go with ease, really! We got oyster cards for our 5 day stay and felt like pros after the first ride in directly from Heathrow terminal 4.
The name of the hotel is no frills, and there is no lobby to speak of, but the cleanliness, really quiet locale, really comfy bedding accommodations, and air conditioning all sum up to quite a few niceties for the price of the room. (caveat – this is compared to other Air Conditioned hotels, with an elevator (lift) and great location); London is still very expensive for US travelers and we needed 2 rooms or one family room for 4, so to find all the amenities we wanted for around 115 pounds/per room per night was difficult. We decided on the hotel family room that slept 4. The room we had was 237.00 pounds/night - I think their highest, but it was the best room in the hotel(rm 303) and accommodated our 4 adult family with ease and a bit of luxury to boot.
Service, helpful employees who are happy to assist in this all updated facility with streamlined features and extraordinary space saving amenities within the room like the mini kitchen/fridge/sink/microwave combo with great hot pot /plates/ cups/glasses and coffee-tea service. There is no restaurant or breakfast included, but do note VAT is included in their published price. The hotel’s exterior is charming along the row of very British white washed fronts in the Earl's Court / Kensington neighborhood. The street where hotel is located down the block from one of London's quaint city block parks as well. Joggers, strollers, walkers abound.
Originally, upon reserving, I had been promised a large room with a double (big size queen by US standards) and two twin couch pull outs for our family of 4. When we arrived the large room contained a big queen bed and large double sofa bed, not two twins. I asked if we could have the two twins promised, but they said that room had just been painted and staff advised fumes may bother, so we had the college kids sleep together in the sofa bed. They slept great, and for a pull out – quite comfy and large enough, but it's all relative after a day and night of London sightseeing and you're exhausted. The hotel was extremely quiet – if I hadn’t known the hotel was fully booked, would have thought we were there by ourselves, that quiet. We slept great each night!
The bathroom was wonderful - bigger than many in US hotels - full shower/bath combo / great water pressure, lovely heated towel rack and storage shelf for all our toiletries. We packed lightly and I washed a few clothes out to dry on the towel rack - super efficient.
oh - free wifi was a bit slow - but free and it did work so I'm just being picky here.

Room Tip: book from their site
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

they would take 3 in a room (me, my husband and daughter). premier inn will not. clean, modern rooms with small kitchen and beautiful bathroom. very convenient to earl's court station and heathrow is a straight shot. this time earl's court elevator is being worked on and there is a small elevator that only takes you up 1 floor. wifi is free.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

we stayed 5 days in Base2Stay London. It is a perfect choice for a city break.
The location is excellent, in a quiet beautiful residential area and just 2 or 3 minutes from the subway station. You also have many restaurants nearby and the hotel offers you discount in some of them. We went to Strada (Italian), Gourmet Burger Kitchen and Balains (English). They were all good.

The staff is really, really friendly and helpful. We arrived at noon, without notice, and we thought we would only be able to leave the luggage and come back at 2pm. But the receptionist promptly checked if the room was ready and it was which as a nice surprise.

The room was not large, indeed. But it was more than enough for this type of trip. It was very clean and modern. The only downside was the shower that, although big, the pressure was a bit low and the water constantly changed from cold to very hot.

This was a very good choice for our trip to London and I would certainly stay here again. It is a great value for price.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nadler Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nadler Kensington

Address: 25 Courtfield Gardens, Kensington | Kensington, London SW5 0PG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in London
#39 Family Hotel in London
#50 Business Hotel in London
#54 Luxury Hotel in London
#60 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nadler Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original base2stay hotel, now called The Nadler Kensington is an exciting hotel concept in London, located in a fabulous location next to a quiet Kensington Garden Square. This original townhouse and mews has been interior designed to provide all guest rooms with air-conditioning, free Wi-Fi, HDTVs with 6,000 track music library, internet and games, mini-kitchen, 24-hr Reception & Concierge Service, daily maid service and oversized power showers or baths. The Nadler Kensington has excellent transport connections and is in close walking distance of Earl's Court tube station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Nadler Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base2stay Kensington London
Base2stay Kensington Hotel London
Base 2 Stay
The Nadler Kensington London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nadler Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.