We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“consistently sound” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Kings Cross

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Kings Cross to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Kings Cross
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   2-5 St Chad's Street, London WCIH 8BD, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #263 of 524 London B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“consistently sound”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I've stayed at this and the other comfort inn nearby. Each is well run. The rooms are clean and the last visit revealed that the shower facilities in some of the rooms had been upgraded. towels, water, electrics are all fine. It is essentially a basic hotel but some of the rooms are big enough and fitted to enable you to do a bit of your own cooking if you don't fancy eating out every night during your stay.

I guess the fact that I've stayed there over a dozen times says a lot. There is a left luggage room which is free. Finally , given its proximity to Kings Cross you might think it noisy, but it's actually quiet. Breakfast is very basic. Could provide better croissants!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    199
    146
    70
    88
See reviews for
112
139
75
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I'm quite accustomed to how little one gets for the money in places such as London, but my experience here still came as a bit of a shock. On the plus side, it is very convenient if, like us, you have an early train from Kings Cross. Otherwise the neighborhood has that scruffy, low-budget quality so often associated with train stations. The building's exterior is nice and the entire hotel quite clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I get the impression that the quality of the rooms is greatly variable. We were on the 1st floor off the lobby and our small, but adequatly sized and spartanly appointed room was somewhat noisey. The bed was very comfy and the bathroom was recently redone. In contrast, my mother's room in the basement, despite being the same price, was considerably smaller, shabbier and dungeonesque. It was too narrow for a bedside light table and Superman wouldn't have enough room to change in the bathroom. It wasn't awful, but not good enough to warrant the price.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level room. Definately stay out of the basement and avoid the lobby level. Oh, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akureyri, Iceland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

First of all, the location is excellent. So close to Kings Cross St Pancras, yet in such a quiet neighbourhood. I asked for a quiet room and slept like a baby. There was some noise from the hallway, though. A lady had lost her train ticket and was giving the poor maid hell about it right in front of my room. It was uncomfortable to be able to hear every word. A door with a bit of insulation would have been appreciated :) The bed was comfortable, the room was small (as expected), but not tiny, and everything was in the room was in perfect working order and looked clean and new. Breakfast was very adequate and the service there was quite good. I will definitely stay there again. As long as the lady who lost her train ticket stays away :)

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I'm not saying this is the worst hotel i've ever stayed in, but there again i have hitch hiked through Zimbawee, but it is certainly the worst value for money!! I will start on a positive, this would have been 1 star had it not have been for the excellent service provided by the staff here. The only reason i am here is because work booked it for me, it is grossly expensive due to its proximity to Kings Cross train station. The first room i got literally felt like a prison cell in the basement - the staff kindly moved me into a larger one which is ok. Just had breakfast and it was by far the worst breakfast ever! I thought i had gone into the wrong room at first. it is literally a bowl of cerial, some stale coissants, processed ham that smelt and reconstituted cheese in plastic - and the coffee is hideous, tastes like they poppped down to Netto for their cheapest own brand coffee and then only served half measures! This was not a continental breakfast, this was an after thought so as to charge a fortune for nothing - this is the Ryannair of the hotel industry (with British Airways prices!)

Room Tip: If you are being literally forced to stay here by your work, try to avoid the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapiti New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

excellent in all respects....but fabulous location ....particularly if you are using rail.
Compared to other London Hotels, the size of the room was better. Restaurants and takeaways were very handy and there was no need for taxis as the underground was so close.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I had the chance to extended a work trip in London, but didn't want to spend $300 a night for a room in Central London... so I ventured a bit out of the centre and found a Comfort Inn for pretty good price.

The hotel is old, and the rooms are tiny, but it looks like it underwent a renovation (at least in the rooms) in the last couple of years. My room was actually quite modern, and very clean -- but very small. Think college dorm size, but with a bathroom... which was also small. You literally had to walk around the sink to get to either the toilet or shower -- but again, clean and modern, so no complaints. The hallways and lobby certainly were showing wear, but nothing too bad. While you could hear people moving in the hallways and above you, it still was a pretty quiet place.

The staff was friendly enough. My only complaint with the hotel is how badly they GOUGE you for interent -- it was 20 pound for 4 hours of internet. That alone added up!

The location was great -- a few minutes away from Kings Cross station made the entire trip extremely accessible. If I ever go back, I'd certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Kings Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Kings Cross

Address: 2-5 St Chad's Street, London WCIH 8BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #263 of 524 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Kings Cross 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished hotel in Georgian dating from 1700; situated in a quiet location in central London, with easy access to underground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn Kings Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Kings Cross Hotel London
Kings Cross Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn London
London Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Kings Cross London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Kings Cross, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.