We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to London” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Crown Hyde Park

Save Saved
You added Quality Crown Hyde Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Crown Hyde Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8-14 Talbot Square, Paddington, London W2 1TS, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #536 of 1,073 hotels in London
North Perrott, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Visit to London”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We arrived early bags kept for us safely. Came back and checked in. The room we were given was dark and in the basement. Asked to be moved which they did this for us. Clean tidy couldn't find coffee and tea it was in a draw most odd. The one thing which they need to address is the towel size there fine for men but not women unless your a size 8. Staff very polite would go back again but would book a suite or call in advance and ask for a room at the front.

Room Tip: As said above ask for a room at the front the hotel is in a quite square which is rather pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time time to write your recent review on our Mercure Hotel Paddington.

We are so pleased our hotel and staff surpassed. and we do look forward to welcoming you back again soon in the future.

kind regards

Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    242
    105
    79
    65
See reviews for
152
201
34
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Happened to stay there for 40 days as it is very close to my work place. Rooms are small but clean and hygenic. Staff is exceptional, people like Witek, Pavlina, Mahmood, Soffia are very kind and helpful. The English breakfast was good. Its definitely a nice place and worth for the money.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the lift is a good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time time to write your recent review on our Mercure Hotel Paddington.

We are so pleased our hotel and staff surpassed. and we do look forward to welcoming you back again soon in the future.

kind regards

Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Excellent hotel and localitation. Staff is wonderful and very cheap,the rooms are perfect and very nice.Also inclusive breakfast, waitress are very sympa, they can give every facilities. If you have a problem, hotelporter, WITEK, can help you, he is very friendly and he knows everythings about London.I will come back Quality Crown Hyde Park Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time time to write your recent review on our Mercure Hotel Paddington.

We are so pleased our hotel and staff surpassed. and we do look forward to welcoming you back again soon in the future.

kind regards

Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

First of all, most of the critical reviews on this page are misleading, at best. The Quality Crown is the ideal location in London, being close to both Paddington Station and underground station at Lancaster Gate. Considering how expensive and smallish rooms can be in London, I was overjoyed at both the room quality and price immediately. The staff, including Witek, were always helpful and cheery and the breakfast quality and service were stellar every morning we were there. Unlike some of the other reviews listed here, all the amenities listed (such as iron, trouser press and hair dryer) were easily located within the room and our checkout process didn't take much longer than 20 minutes.
That being said stay away from room 606 if possible - it is located directly between the elevator and stairs to breakfast and seemed to be busy at all hours of the night and day. It also seems to be directly above the kitchen - granted I love to be woken up in the morning to the sound of someone making me breakfast, just not necessarily at 6am the morning after a red eye from the West coast of the U.S. However, it also meant that we didn't sleep through breakfast on any of the five mornings we stayed with Quality Crown.
The best part of traveling is experiencing the culture and the people, and quality crown lets you do this at a reasonable rate. If you want top quality then pay top dollar - if you want reasonable, comfortable and clean, I suggest the Quality Crown.

Room Tip: 606 located in an unfortunate location between elevator and stairs in a tiny hallway that is always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on our hotel.

We do hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Great location(2 mins Tube/Paddingtion Stn)
Surprisingly quiet location.
Room 205 well appointed and very clean(if a little cramped,but for an overnight it's fine)
Check in was not easy,(payment up front,an annoyingly increasing trend) and receptionist's first language was not english!
Just one small issue, on entering room i found the previous occupant had left behind a bottle of Perfume(and the cleaners obviously missed it) but even more annoying,when entering bathroom there was an item of "used" Feminine Hygiene(i beleive they are termed "Liners") left in the Waste Bin!!
The above are relativeley small points but do leave an impression
Breakfast was average buffet affair, well presented, plentiful,and very cheerful staff
In short, nothing special,but on a par with hundreds of hotels across london
Free Wi-fi was a pleasant surprise

Room Tip: Would suspect all rooms of a uniform quality(ie,acceptable)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on our hotel.

We do hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I've stayed in several hundred hotels. This is a clean 2 star hotel, it could be a 3 star if the management addressed a number of glaring problems. I have visited this hotel twice, thinking the first time was simply an unlucky or unusual occurrence, it wasn't.

1. Apart from breakfast times, the hotel is completely understaffed. There is only ever one girl on reception meaning check-in and check-out can easily be an hour long process. There is no fast checkout process, so plan for this if you have a plane or train to catch because the reception is always full of people waiting to check in and check out. Complimentary drinks should at least be provided if you are going to keep customers waiting.

2. I arrived both times after 2pm, neither time has my room room been ready, this is also after waiting 30 minutes to be 'processed' by reception, and then I was kept waiting a further 60 minutes until the room was prepared.

3. The room was supposed to come with free wifi, both times they have tried to charge me for wifi. This is London in 2013, even the train station has free public wifi and this isn't a budget hotel and they still charge for wifi access? You can 'negotiate' a room at the Hilton around the corner for the same price as this hotel and that hotel puts this one to shame on freebies and service level.

4. The room stated it has climate control, if that means a radiator and a window that you can open then you will understand the 'sales' techniques employed by the hotel. I won't say "tourist trap" but be very careful. The room description says things like iron, trouser press, tea making facilities, hair-dryer but neither room has had them readily available and they've had to be requested from reception. Not professional and damned inconvenient when you need to iron a shirt in the morning.

5. It's an old building, which is usually a good thing, as it means ceilings are high and the walls are solid, but this building has been redeveloped (cleanly but on a tight budget) and the walls are paper thin and the rooms are very small. You can hear people sleeping in adjacent rooms and just pray you'd don't get a room too close to the rickety old elevator or you'll be kept awake all night long.

I hope you find my personal experiences useful, in making your decision on whether to stay here.


Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guests,

Please accept our apology that the hotel was not to your liking or expected standard.
I can confirm we do not state we have air conditioning in any of our bedrooms and surprised to read this.

Kind regards

Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

i have been for two weeks and it was very nice and very good customer service and especially Mr witek was a very kind and helpful member of staff and i appreciate this and thanks to witek and i hope to come again in this very good hotel.thanks to all staff

JAMES MACKSON

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on our hotel.

We do hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Crown Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Crown Hyde Park

Address: 8-14 Talbot Square, Paddington, London W2 1TS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#314 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Crown Hyde Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet garden square just 2 minutes from Paddington Station, this beautiful Victorian townhouse has been recently air-conditioned and boasts contemporary interiors with state-of-the-art amenities.With interactive flat-screen TVs, high-speed wireless internet and inspired service, guest satisfaction is our Number One Priority.Quality Crown Hyde Park is not affiliated with the Crown Hyde Park Hotel in any way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Quality Crown Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Crown Hyde Park (Not Affiliated With The Crown Hyde Park Hotel) Hotel
Quality Inn London
London Quality Inn
Quality Crown Hotel Hyde Park
Quality Crown Hyde Park London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Crown Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.