We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really a 4 star hotel??” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Crown Hyde Park

Save Saved
You added Quality Crown Hyde Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Quality Crown Hyde Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8-14 Talbot Square, Paddington, London W2 1TS, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #538 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Really a 4 star hotel??”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with work and it was the smallest room I have ever stayed in! It's close to Paddington Station and is clean however I think you could get something better for the money. The walls are paper thin, I could hear everything next door! Breakfast was ok but we had finished by the time they came round with tea and coffee.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review on our hotel and please accept our apology that you found your room smaller than expected. Like many historic capital city hotel rooms, rooms are generally smaller than in provincial towns.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    244
    107
    79
    65
See reviews for
152
202
34
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in an excellent location for Paddington Station. Also there are lots of decent restaurants and very good pubs just around the corner. Unfortunately, the hotel is disappointing given its grand exterior in a very nice square. The reception is quite drab and doesn't give a very good impression of the hotel. The girl at the desk was glum, unsmiling and did nothing to make us feel welcome. We had to go away for an hour as the room was not ready as we were early, which is fair enough. When we returned a couple were complaining about the room they had been given. They told me that it was really tiny with no window. This was definitely not what I was prepared to put up with so I asked to see the room before checking in. Fortunately, our room was OK but was very overpriced at £169 a night. What was really galling was that they wanted an extra £12.50 a day for Wi-Fi. The hotel website advertises free Wi-Fi but if you book through an agency like Booking.com it isnt.We thought the fee extortionate and we decided to go without. The breakfast dining room was small and the staff very, very busy but we thought the food satisfactory. we just stayed one night and all in all, we probably wouldn't stay there again.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from 2 nights break in London and we stayed at this hotel. From the moment we walked through the door we felt welcomed. We were met at reception by the staff who had a smile and gave us a good welcome. Our room which was an executive double was clean and tidy and very quiet. Bed was so comfortable did not want to get out of it. Both nights when changed and went out and on our return to the room the bed had been turned back, chocolates on the bed , the room had been cleaned and we had clean towels in the room. Breakfast was great plenty of choice well stocked, fresh and hot. Hotel very close to Hyde park and paddington tube and railway station. If we come to London again this will definetly be our no 1 choice hotel . Thanks very much to all staff

Room Tip: Room 408 a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guests,
We are so pleased our staff and hotel were exactly what you needed for your recent stay in London and that you found our hotel clean and quiet in such a busy city. Also great to read you really enjoyed your breakfast which set you up for your days in London.
We do hope to see you again soon,
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
618 helpful votes 618 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Booked this in late room, so called standard price was £425 a night, we paid £135, which for a central London hotel is good, except that in reality this is more like a very good B&B. The room was tiny, the first one we were given on top floor was uninhabitable due to the noise which we discovered later was fans on the roof . The second room on the 2nd floor was more quiet but given it an old building and lacks double glazing so road noise is quite bad. Staff were friendly, room was clean, hotel facilities were a joke (most of them not actually even in same building but in hotel down the road). The included breakfast is in a small room in basement, we had to wait for a table and frankly we wish we had eaten elsewhere. Back was dry, tasteless and oily, the hash browns were actually raw on the inside and everything was just tepid. Finally the orange juice was the horrible watered down rubbish you get in cheap supermarket own brands made from concentrate. Oh, almost forgot to say, the tea reminded me of the stuff you used to get on British Rail in the 1970s. Its rated as an AA four star hotel, so don't be fooled into believing its a conventioal four star luxury hotel - its not.

Room Tip: Lower floors are taller rooms and ones overlooking the small park are nicer if you don't mind th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay. Please accept our apology that the hotel was not to your liking or expectations. The building is indeed grade two listed so we are unable to change the windows. We were surprised regarding the breakfast comments as we do normally on get compliments, but again please accept our sincere apologies.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTHERN IRELAND
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I travel quite often and try to give as accurate and honest review as I can as I would always use tripadvisor myself when booking hotels.

I would definitely not rate this hotel a 4 star, it is shabby and needs updated.

Our triple room was at the back of the hotel looking into the back of another hotel which had large very noisy generators that kept me awake most nights. I did speak to the girl on reception who said she would talk to her boss but when I returned later, she said she was sorry and there was nothing she could do.
One of the single beds had a hump in the middle of it and the pillows were flat and uncomfortable, room was warm and stuffy, there were two fans in the room but again, very noisy to leave on during the night, maybe our room was above the kitchen?
Tea and coffee facilities in the room were good and the packs of biscuits were a nice touch, also the maid turned back the bed at night and left a chocolate sweet on the sheet.
We went for breakfast one morning but didn't return as it was not great.

Hotel location was great and very close to the tubes.

Overall, I would not stay at this hotel again nor recommend.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room before you pay!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear guests,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. Please accept our apologies that the Quality Hotel was not to your liking. We do change our beds and bedding constantly but we will double check and resolve the issue if needed. And thank you for bringing this to our knowledge. I can also confirm that the hotel does not hae air conditioning and we do supply fans for our guests comfort during warm spells.
Please again accept our apology and we do hope you allow us the opportunity to accommodate you in the future.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The hotel is old, in need of an urgent "relooking". The staff looks like they couldn't care less. Had to argue on arrival for we had booked a room with free wifi and were told we couldn't get it. The corridors were smelly, the view between non-existent and terrible, the television small, like the room, which was not a surprise per se but the size of the bed was one. With such a narrow bed and the constant noise from the footsteps from upstairs, sleeping was impossible. Great area, great location so near to Paddington station and Hyde Park, but we will not come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear guests,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel and please accept our sincere apologies our hotel was not to your liking or expectations. we were surprised to read that you found our staff not as expected as this is an area we normally only get compliments on. But again please accept our apologies. I can confirm the building is indeed a grade 2 listed historic building which has to retain many of its original features and room sizes..
Please again accept our apology and we do hope you allow us the opportunity to accommodate you in the future.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

When stopping over in London we have stayed in this hotel a number of times over the past 10 years because it was convenient to Paddington Statation, affordable, clean, and comfortable. We stayed there twice this month on our way to and from Venice. On the way over, they put us in a room on the ground floor fronting the street. They had packed two double beds in the room, so there was little room for anything else. Even worse, the noise from the street kept us from sleeping the entire night. This was clearly an overflow room that should never be offered any paying guest. When we were checking out, we complained and asked that we have a specific room assigned on our return two weeks later. When we arrived, very late due to flight delays, we were advised that the room we reserved was not available and were provided a different room. The room we were assigned was on the first floor and was adequate, but this experience made us doubt the quality of the management of this hotel.

We'll be finding another hotel on our next trip to London.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear guests,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel and please accept our sincere apologies that the exact room that you expected was not available to to it being allocated to another guest. We do endeavour to allocate preferred room to all our guests, but on occasions this is not possible to various reasons.
Please again accept our apology and we do hope you allow us the opportunity to accommodate you in the future.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Crown Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Crown Hyde Park

Address: 8-14 Talbot Square, Paddington, London W2 1TS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#312 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Crown Hyde Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet garden square just 2 minutes from Paddington Station, this beautiful Victorian townhouse has been recently air-conditioned and boasts contemporary interiors with state-of-the-art amenities.With interactive flat-screen TVs, high-speed wireless internet and inspired service, guest satisfaction is our Number One Priority.Quality Crown Hyde Park is not affiliated with the Crown Hyde Park Hotel in any way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Quality Crown Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Crown Hyde Park (Not Affiliated With The Crown Hyde Park Hotel) Hotel
Quality Inn London
London Quality Inn
Quality Crown Hotel Hyde Park
Quality Crown Hyde Park London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Crown Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.