We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of London Premier Notting Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added London Premier Notting Hill to your Saves list
London Premier Notting Hill
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5-7 Princes Square Bayswater, London W2 4NP, England (Notting Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE BREAKFAST & WIFI
Ranked #438 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Wisbech, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“We liked it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Only stayed for one night bt would definitely stay again. Room was plenty big enough for us & service from staff was really good. Breakfast wasn't the best we've ever had & breakfast room was quite small but was more than adequate. All in all, we were very happy with what we got :-)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aparna A, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your feedback which is much appreciated as on the basis of our guest's comments we strive hard to enhance our service & standard level.

It was a pleasure for us to look after you & make your stay a pleasant one. Please feel free to write to me on the below email for any future assistance . Any suggestions for breakfast will be really appreciated.

Kind Regards
Aparna & The London Premier Notting Hill Team
dm@londonpremiernottinghill.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    299
    120
    73
    80
See reviews for
88
318
97
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

I have been redirected to this location after a booking.com originated message sent from the place I previously selected, forced to drop me due to some unclear emergency on duties.

Lovely located, but just pass by and select others for your days in London.
Rooms simply suck: it was pretty clear I was not in London for tourism and altough I explicetely asked for a quiet room, I have been served first with a 3.5 sqmts room with an half square meter window front of the main air conditioning/warming system (room 114).
At my complains, I have been served with the smallest room ever seen in my life, with no space at all for opening a single piece of baggage and forcing a normal person intended to wash his face to jump on the wc.

Hard to think such spaces are compliant to security and normal safety/healthy condition for room rentals. And really hard to imagine how such a room could be properly cleaned.
But no option for me, 303 was the only room available with a window, otherwise the basement with two rooms with no window at all. Sort of a burial.

Simply horrible and honestly felt badly for the ladies serving me at the front desk, embarassed for not having any answer to my questions...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aparna A, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We sincerely apologise to you for any discomfort caused due to very compact room size.
Guest comfort is our priority however on this occasion we unfortunately could not meet upto to your expectation. We must have been fully booked on the day you arrived to check in or else our staff would have offered you another room of your preference.

Your feedback is important to us in order to meet & exceed our guests expectation. We do hope you will give us another oppurtunity to restore your truust in us. Hopefully, we will make your future stay a pleasant one. Please do contact me for any further assistance as this will help me to allocate a nicest room for your comfort.

Hoping to serve you soon.

Kind Regards
Aparna & The London Premier Notting Hill Team
dm@londonpremiernottinghill.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We had a great stay; the club room we stayed in was spotlessly clean, very comfortable and nicely decorated.
The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful and made us feel that we were special guests.
We have stayed lots of times in London and this hotel is certainly one of, if not the, best!
Breakfast was lovely- again, the staff were great.
Also, this is a great location and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We were put in a club room, which was perfect at a very reasonable rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aparna A, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We all thank you for your impeccable feedback . It was pleasure to serve you.

Your comments are really encouraging for us to perform even better and excel in our service. Please do contact us for any further assistance. We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Kind Regards
Aparna & The London Premier Notting Hill Team
dm@londonpremiernottinghill.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Of Spain, Trinidad And Tobago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

As an international traveler, I tend to look for excellence in everything I encounter. Fortunately, I must say that this is exactly what I experienced at this hotel, where I stayed for seven days. The breakfast was great (thanks to Claudia and the Chef for their morning smiles), the front desk staff were great (thanks to Prem and the others whose names I did not get), the atmosphere was always clean, and the room was comfortable. Also, this hotel is conveniently located close to downtown London via the Queensway and Bayswater tubes. All in all, a great time here.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aparna A, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your excellent comments which have been shared among the entire team here . It was indeed a great pleasure for us to be your host.

It is lovely to know you found the staff helpful in their approach, plus cleanliness was up to standard. We have a very dedicated housekeeping team. The location definitely is quite prime and loved by almost all our guests .

Looking forward to welcome you soon.

Kind Regards
Aparna & The London Premier Notting Hill Team
dm@londonpremiernottinghill.co,uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Our stay here is divided in two parts. Night one is a 1 – terrible. Our experience in the basement room was almost laughable. There was no room (6 inches) on one side of the bed [see photo #1]. The "shower" [see photo #2] was approximately 24 inches x 24 inches, which meant no bending down for any reason – and that was after squeezing through a VERY narrow entrance.
Nights 2 and 3 were 5's – excellent. From the beginning, when we checked in, we asked to see the room before we finalized the check-in process – HIGHLY RECOMMENDED, as per other comments here. We agreed to stay in the miniature room that first night (because of our very late arrival) only with the assurance that we would be moved the following day.
They considered it an upgrade – without additional charge, however – and the "club" room on the third floor was exceptionally nice, with a lovely view of the park in front of the hotel.
I’m going to give our overall stay an above average rating – by averaging the first night with the second and third, and giving high marks for the staff’s reasonableness in making a shift in our accommodations.
The second room’s "desk" was quite small, but other aspects were such an improvement over the basement that we were well pleased.
I would echo and emphasize other travelers' comments to be sure WHEN YOU CHECK IN that YOUR room is what you had in mind – and make any requests/demands for changes immediately.
I notice that other reviewers mentioned the basement. BEWARE if you are taken to the basement (even though our room had a half window to the outside), as it may be that is where all the substandard rooms are. It was clean and neat, but INCREDIBLY SMALL.
We did not try the breakfast, which was not included and seemed very expensive.
I hate to have to ding the review because of our first night experience, but it was shockingly disappointing. Front desk staff were universally helpful (after that first night), so the rest of our stay was quite enjoyable. Wi-Fi worked well – both in the room and in a lounge room off the entrance.
The hotel’s surrounding area was wonderful – lots of restaurant choices, shopping, convenient subway stops (2 quite close by), and seemed very safe.

Room Tip: Be sure you're not in the basement. Ask for what they call a "club" room, which they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aparna A, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us , however sincerely apologise for any discomfort caused to you as you had to move rooms. Hopefully, on your next visit we will be able to meet upto your expection in regards to the room size .

We are very pleased to know you were impressed by the staff service and found them helpful in their approach. It was a pleasure to serve you. We will convey your compliments to our housekeeping team as you were impressed by the cleaning standard. We would like to inform you that our guest's can pre book breakfast on arrival as this will cost them less. Also, if you book a room through our website the full English Breakfast is included in the rate.

Please do let us know if you require any further assistance.

Kind Regards
Aparna & The London Premier Notting Hill Team
dm@londonpremiernottinghill.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Firstly must mention all wonderful staff & warm welcome. Very kind helpful people working there from the reception, to night porter, day porter, breakfast staff, the names inc Marianna, Gina, Simona, Sunny, Sara, Sergio, Albazar, Adnan, Kazim, Ana, Vasile. Housekeeping by Claudia was of the highest standard and first thing I noticed on arrival at room. Also Duty Manager Aparna took time to chat and ask about our stay. All made our stay worth while & enjoyable.
Pleased to find the hotel situated in a lovely Georgian terrace, opposite leafy green square, surrounded by other similar streets. Quiet area well suited for travelling with children. Felt safe when walking 10mins from Bayswater tube station. Close to handy shops like Tesco Metro, cafes & pubs serving evening bar meals. Also close to wonderful Notting Hill, Portobello Road area. Via tube we easily visited many places of interest each day and also travelled further out of London to meet with more family for a celebration event.
Staff were more than happy to lend an iron in prep to attend the big family celebration, which was very handy after travelling for hours our things were pretty squashed.
On booking I called the number to speak in person so i could specify that we will need a twin room with separate beds because of space needed travelling with my teenage son. I could not afford to get us separate rooms. On arrival we were more than happy with the club room allocated to us. The 2 single beds were placed close together with not much room to separate but this was not a problem as each bed seemed larger than a regular single, each had its own separate comfortable duvets/bedding and allowed for plenty of room separately for each person, no squabbles, each with its own side table. It was a very comfortable rest after very long, busy days out. The rest of the room offered plenty of space, ideal travelling with children or teenagers who have to share with a parent. The fridge was very clean, handy keeping our drinks & snacks cool. Other facilities like clean new microwave, dishes, cutlery, glasses, cups & saucers were clean & new every day. Staff were more than happy to provide us with extra tea bags, milk, sugar etc when requested in the evening.
Desk area & wardrobe was more than adequate.
The room was made up each day perfectly as if we just arrived, with fresh towels & spotless housekeeping. Decor was smart & tasteful.
The view overlooked the quiet mews behind the hotel, with it's charming roof terraces.

Staff allowed us a slightly later check out which enabled us to keep our drinks/snacks cool, see even more sights & use the bathroom before we left for our very long journey home.
We would definitely return here when possible.
We thank all at the hotel for the lovely stay which overall helped make my 40th birthday treat visit to London & family celebration well worth the wait & very happy.

Room Tip: Specify on booking if you will need plenty of room, when travelling as a family. if available the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aparna A, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

We all thank you for such a lovely feedback on this famous traveler's website. It was a pleasure serving you. This has given us an immense joy to know that you were so impressed by our hospitality.

Your valuable comments are so encouraging for each one of us to perform even better & excel in our service. Thank you once again from all of us.

We look forward to welcoming you soon. Please feel free to contact us for any further assistance.

Kind Regards
Aparna & The London Premier Notting Hill Team
dm@londonpremiernottinghill.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We spent 3 nights here and were upgraded upon arrival due to an error in the booking. First we were offered a nice room in the basement but it felt very claustrophobic not being able to see the sky. So we chose a smaller room on the 2nd floor but with a window.

All in all we were happy, breakfast is nice and especially the friendly staff.

Staff in reception very friendly, really made you feel welcome and important as a guest.

Room Tip: Be picky when you check in and ask to see some alternatives since some rooms are very very very smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aparna A, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your valuable feedback which is much appreciated as this will certainly assist us to meet & exceed our guest's expectation.

It is really nice to know you were impressed by the staff hospitality and warm welcome you received . We all look forward to welcoming you soon.

Please do contact me prior to your future stay as I will allocate a spacious room on a higher floor . We try our level best to honour guest's request depending upon subject to availability.

Kind Regards
Aparna & The London Premier Notting Hill Team
dm@londonpremiernottinghill.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to London Premier Notting Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Premier Notting Hill

Address: 5-7 Princes Square Bayswater, London W2 4NP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#281 Luxury Hotel in London
#312 Family Hotel in London
#336 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — London Premier Notting Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel in restored 1850s Townhouses offering elegant comfort in a quiet garden square; short walk to the antique market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your London Premier Notting Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Premier London Notting Hill Hotel London
Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London
Comfort Inn Bayswater
London Premier Notting Hill England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage London Premier Notting Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.