We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel, Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of London Premier Notting Hill

Save Saved
You added London Premier Notting Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
London Premier Notting Hill
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5-7 Princes Square Bayswater, London W2 4NP, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #422 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Average Hotel, Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Shaftesbury Premier London Notting Hill is a good hotel.
It's not luxurious but it´s nice and gives you what you need for a pleasant stay.
The room was small but confortable. The bed was too small, I'm 1,82m and i've sleept with my feet out of the bed.
The bathroom was nice with a very good shower and the heated floor.
The free wi-fi was also a nice feature but the signal in the bedroom was too weak.
The breakfast was good, there was a little bit of everything. It's more than enough for the start of a new day visiting London.
The breakfast room was very small, more than 10/12 people and it was too crowded and noisy.
The best thing about this hotel is really it's location. It's near the Bayswater Tube and Bus Stations, near Hyde Park, Notting Hill (Portobello Road Market, etc) and there are a good variety of restaurants near the hotel. Basically it's on walking distance of a lot of interesting place.
If you don't have lots of money to spend, but want to be in a central hotel, I think this is a nice choice for you.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill, We appreciate your comments and we promise that we will try our very best to serve you in th best way possible in order to ensure that we can provide you with one of the most wonderful stays you ever had.

May i kindly request you to please email me on dm.ship@shaftesburyhotels.com regarding the details of your booking so that we can investigate further in detail.

Thank you very much for your patience & support.

With regards

Mandar Dhage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    256
    107
    67
    75
See reviews for
74
277
87
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The rooms are awfully small and the hotel didnt have food of any kind other than at breakfast. The room was absolutely freezing and the air conditioning kept cutting out so it never got warm. The hotel also advertised free internet but wifi was only available in public areas and the internet cable in the room was so ridiculously short I couldnt use the computer in bed even though the socket was right next to it. The whole hotel was shabby and outdated. Definitely not a 4* accommodation.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill, We appreciate your comments and we promise that we will try our very best to serve you in th best way possible in order to ensure that we can provide you with one of the most wonderful stays you ever had.

May i kindly request you to please email me on dm.ship@shaftesburyhotels.com regarding the details of your booking so that we can investigate further in detail.

Thank you very much for your patience & support.

With regards

Mandar Dhage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed for one night with the mrs. The room was very small but we had no issue with that. Very comfortable bed and sleeping was excellent. Felt very cosy with wooden furniture.
A bit strange how they locked the window with a wood nailed to the frame…
Nice location near cinema and great places to eat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Premier London Notting Hill for your recent visit to London. We really appreciate your comments and feel very proud that the team at the Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill was able to meet your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill

Warm Regards
Mandar Dhage
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Das Shaftesbury ist ein schönes Hotel und meine bisherige Meinung zu Hotels in London hat sich verändert. Dachte ich bisher immer, dass das Zimmer winzig und auch ein bisschen ranzig sein kann, wenn man ja nur die Nacht dort verbringt und man nicht so viel Geld ausgeben möchte, wurde ich überzeugt, dass man auch für wenig Geld ein tolles Hotel bekommen kann.
Die einzigen Schwachpunkte lagen in leider verschmutzten Handtüchern (trotz Wechsel jeden Tag, auf jedem Handtuch noch Flecken) und in der grauenhaften Aussicht. Ich hatte ein Zimmer im ersten OG, auf einen 5 qm großen Hof, wo sich die Lüftungsrohre befanden und die ganzen Nacht durch Lärm machten.
Vom Service her gab es keine Klagen.
Ich habe nicht im Hotel gegessen.
Grundsätzliche würde ich es empfehlen, aber von Zimmer 112 abraten.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Premier London Notting Hill for your recent visit to London. We really appreciate your comments and feel very proud that the team at the Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill was able to meet your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill

Warm Regards
Mandar Dhage
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Positives : perfect location 5/8 min walk to Bayswater & Queensway tube stations.
Handy location to use as a base for touring around London.
Negatives :
Room : I would imagine prison cells are bigger ?!!! You could not swing a cat in it they are that small !!! Oversized Americans beware!!
Breakfast way overpriced !! £12 + when you can get cheaper down the road for £6.50 ish ??
No bar !!
Conclusion : A serviced block of apartments in a nice location pretending to be a hotel

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill, We appreciate your comments and we promise that we will try our very best to serve you in th best way possible in order to ensure that we can provide you with one of the most wonderful stays you ever had.

May i kindly request you to please email me on dm.ship@shaftesburyhotels.com regarding the details of your booking so that we can investigate further in detail.

Thank you very much for your patience & support.

With regards

Mandar Dhage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We booked to stay here after having a pretty good stay in this hotel last year. Unfortunately our loyalty was rewarded by being moved to a sister hotel which barely qualified as a 3 star in Kensington. On the day we were arriving I was contacted by the booking office citing boiler fault and we can't check in at this hotel for our 3 days stay. The hotel we were moved to had a tiny double room, a bathroom you can barely maneuver in and our bedroom was right next to a busy tube track and we can hear trains every minute going pass right up to 1am. The free breakfast and friendly staff were the only compensating feature. The staff offered to check if the 'boiler problem is fixed' but I doubt that will happen. Besides, I have a 2 day conference to attend and I can't leave in the middle of it to move to a different hotel. It seems from other reviews at Tripadvisor this hs happened before. The money I paid was not worth the room, next time I'll go somewhere else. I regretted booking from this hotel chain and will never again book with them. It's a shame because I had a good experience last year. My advise is to book at your own risk, it's a lottery where you'll end up!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write in and your patience while we looked into this matter.
it was confirmed that the Shaftesbury Premier London Notting Hill did suffer a maintenance problem on the day of arrival. Therefore we arranged for an alternative accommodation you. We understand that you were less than satisfied about this and we sincerely apologize for the trouble caused. We have taken the complaint into very serious consideration and have been implementing measures to ensure that we further improve on all our services.

i will appreciate if you could send me your contact detail to dm.ship@shaftesburyhotels.comin order for me to contact you directly and discuss the same in depth.

i understand from your comments that you had a very bad experiance and once again apologize for the same

With Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the staff who are friendly and helpful, and the location which is a short walk to queensway and bayswater. However to say the rooms are tiny is an understatement. I have looked at 3 different rooms and in all of them 3 sides of the small double bed were touching the wall, not ideal climbing over each other in the middle of the night. I am skinny but even I had trouble showering in the morning, kept banging my elbows into the walls. It was clean but not spotless - for example water stains and mould visible on the shower screen edges. If you are bigger built or claustrophobic stay well away. Also, walls are paper thin so much so you can hear people fart in the room next door. It is ok for a short stay if you get a deal, but don't expect huge comfort.

Room Tip: All rooms I looked at were the same tiny size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill, We appreciate your comments and we promise that we will try our very best to serve you in th best way possible in order to ensure that we can provide you with one of the most wonderful stays you ever had.

May i kindly request you to please email me on dm.ship@shaftesburyhotels.com regarding the details of your booking so that we can investigate further in detail.

Thank you very much for your patience & support.

With regards

Mandar Dhage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to London Premier Notting Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Premier Notting Hill

Address: 5-7 Princes Square Bayswater, London W2 4NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#272 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — London Premier Notting Hill 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel in restored 1850s Townhouses offering elegant comfort in a quiet garden square; short walk to the antique market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, WHM Global Ltd., Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Venere, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your London Premier Notting Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Premier London Notting Hill Hotel London
Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London
Comfort Inn Bayswater
London Premier Notting Hill England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage London Premier Notting Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.