We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of London Premier Notting Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added London Premier Notting Hill to your Saves list
London Premier Notting Hill
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5-7 Princes Square Bayswater, London W2 4NP, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #457 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Okay hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend and the hotel was okay for just that. Not suitable for long stay, there was a bit of false advertising, we booked a queen size room and when I got to the hotel the staff told me there were only double rooms. The staff were friendly but I got a room on the bottom floor close to the outdoor air-conditioning unit and it was so noisy when trying to sleep. The location was fine, just one stop from central line.

Would stay again, only if guarenteed a room that's not on the bottom floor

Room Tip: Do not stay on the bottom floor, close to air-conditioning unit that's very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    275
    113
    70
    79
See reviews for
82
289
89
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Small rooms and as most say paper thin walls and floors. Staff OK but this is just about a 3 star property at best, also the cleaner arrived at 3pm just as we arrived home from being out so the room went unlceaned for the day.

Will not be returning and people should be aware, struggled to find room pictures after booking as a secret 4 star hotel. The secret is it is not four star!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill, We appreciate your comments and we promise that we will try our very best to serve you in th best way possible in order to ensure that we can provide you with one of the most wonderful stays you ever had.

May i kindly request you to please email me on dm.ship@shaftesburyhotels.com regarding the details of your booking so that we can investigate further in detail.

Thank you very much for your paitence & support.

With regards

Mandar Dhage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Having stayed earlier this year with my style-hungry niece and hugely enjoyed the chic bijou comfort of this boutique hotel in bohemian LDN.I'm returning next year with my world -wearied partner who I know will LOVE this place as much as I did.Just a short walk from the off-beat shopping haven of the Portobello Rd;a middling walk to Hyde Park and a jump to multi-layered Ladbroke Grove -the area deserves more than a perfunctory stroll through on the way to the Tube.In fact the buses are closer and give a better feel for the neighbourhood if you HAVE to t visit the typical tourist haunts.Ignore the haters-they have very unrealistic expectations.And by the way;this place does a really tasty buffet cooked English breakfast-which most establishments of a similar size DON'T even offer. AND their website offers some great value deals.Our room even had a mini kitchenette so money can be saved on eating out by room picknicking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Premier London Notting Hill for your recent visit to London. We really appreciate your comments and feel very proud that the team at the Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill was able to meet your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill

Warm Regards
Mandar Dhage
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Staff are welcoming and the hotel is clean but oh my word the double deluxe that I booked was compact in the extreme with just one window giving minimum natural daylight that looked out to nothing just a square metre of space surrounded by other walls. The bathroom was one step from the side of the bed and was very small. You could hear conversations from adjoining rooms, all in all not a good experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill, We appreciate your comments and we promise that we will try our very best to serve you in th best way possible in order to ensure that we can provide you with one of the most wonderful stays you ever had.

May i kindly request you to please email me on dm.ship@shaftesburyhotels.com regarding the details of your booking so that we can investigate further in detail.

Thank you very much for your patience & support.

With regards

Mandar Dhage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Despite having made a reservation a month advance, and despite having ALREADY PAID for the room, we arrived at the Shaftesbury Premier Notting Hill to find that our room was not available. They claimed an unspecified "maintenance issue" and offered to taxi us a half-hour out to the boondocks to one of their sister hotels in Osterly or something like that. We specifically wanted to stay in this area and were to be in London for less than 24 hours. Obviously, our time was precious and their alternative was not at all acceptable.

The front desk staff did NOT offer to find us equivalent nearby accommodations--we were basically given a refund and that was that. We wound up traipsing around the area, on foot, with luggage in tow, checking the other hotels in the neighborhood one by one. (A very helpful lady at the sold-out Phoenix Hotel came to our rescue and not only found us a room at a competitor nearby, but then called the hotel herself, negotiated a low rate on our behalf, then gave us a map upon which she drew exactly how to get there. In other words, we got better service from a hotel we hadn't even booked a room with!)

This seems to be a pattern with Shaftesbury. Do yourself a favor and check out the reviews below from Semi_Circle (11/5/12), Haylea S (10/14/12), D_Kernoghan (6/29/12), JMH1953 (2/20/12), ElenaCL (1/25/12), matthew g (1/11/12), and Richroom101 (1/3/12), who all wound up getting the "Shaftesbury shaft" like we did.

Do you really want to gamble with your room while on a trip? I sure don't, and I will never make the mistake of attempting to stay at any Shaftesbury property ever again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write in and your patience while we looked into this matter.
it was confirmed that the Shaftesbury Premier London Notting Hill did suffer a maintenance problem on the day of arrival. Therefore we arranged for an alternative accommodation you. We understand that you were less than satisfied about this and we sincerely apologize for the trouble caused. We have taken the complaint into very serious consideration and have been implementing measures to ensure that we further improve on all our services.

i will appreciate if you could send me your contact detail to dm.ship@shaftesburyhotels.comin order for me to contact you directly and discuss the same in depth.

i understand from your comments that you had a very bad experiance and once again apologize for the same

With Regards

Mandar Dhage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I booked a double deluxe room at this hotel for an overnight stay for my partner & I. The room was TINY. The bed was tucked in against the window with only one side available to get in & out of it. It took 5 steps from the door to the bed. The shower in the bathroom was even smaller. When I asked at reception what made the room 'deluxe', the receptionist had me shown to another room, which was exactly the same. Even the porter stated that it was really only suitable for a single person. We were shown & decided to stay in another room on the ground floor, which had no view (not bothered). It was by some extractor pipes which made noise throughout the night, at least we had some room to move & a shower we could raise our arms in. I am sure that there are bigger rooms to be had, these must have a different name. Not a lot of room for your money here.

Room Tip: Room 405 & 205 were the ones we saw that were TINY.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill, We appreciate your comments and we promise that we will try our very best to serve you in th best way possible in order to ensure that we can provide you with one of the most wonderful stays you ever had.

May i kindly request you to please email me on dm.ship@shaftesburyhotels.com regarding the details of your booking so that we can investigate further in detail.

Thank you very much for your patience & support.

With regards

Mandar Dhage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We will were moved to this hotel as its sister hotel The Grand Royale was having renovation work. The hotel is situated within a rather grand house, common in this part of town. The reception area is small and modern, the bedrooms tiny. Only stay in these rooms if you are a midget. We stayed en route on holiday so consequently had a lot of luggage, this filled the room, there was an ironing board in the cupboard (I dont know why as the room was not big enough to put it up), the window was tiny and the view was of a central heating pipe, it was boiling hot, I was shown several other rooms after I complained, all equally bad, as we were going to a show we had no time to look at another hotel, we reluctantly stayed and checked out first thing in the morning. I have complained to the company and received a partial refund.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill, We appreciate your comments and we promise that we will try our very best to serve you in th best way possible in order to ensure that we can provide you with one of the most wonderful stays you ever had.

May i kindly request you to please email me on dm.ship@shaftesburyhotels.com regarding the details of your booking so that we can investigate further in detail.

Thank you very much for your patience & support.

With regards

Mandar Dhage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to London Premier Notting Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Premier Notting Hill

Address: 5-7 Princes Square Bayswater, London W2 4NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#281 Luxury Hotel in London
#347 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — London Premier Notting Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel in restored 1850s Townhouses offering elegant comfort in a quiet garden square; short walk to the antique market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your London Premier Notting Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Premier London Notting Hill Hotel London
Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London
Comfort Inn Bayswater
London Premier Notting Hill England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage London Premier Notting Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.