We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact and paper thin walls” 3 of 5 stars
Review of London Premier Notting Hill

Save Saved
You added London Premier Notting Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
London Premier Notting Hill
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5-7 Princes Square Bayswater, London W2 4NP, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #428 of 1,073 hotels in London
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Compact and paper thin walls”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Staff are welcoming and the hotel is clean but oh my word the double deluxe that I booked was compact in the extreme with just one window giving minimum natural daylight that looked out to nothing just a square metre of space surrounded by other walls. The bathroom was one step from the side of the bed and was very small. You could hear conversations from adjoining rooms, all in all not a good experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill, We appreciate your comments and we promise that we will try our very best to serve you in th best way possible in order to ensure that we can provide you with one of the most wonderful stays you ever had.

May i kindly request you to please email me on dm.ship@shaftesburyhotels.com regarding the details of your booking so that we can investigate further in detail.

Thank you very much for your patience & support.

With regards

Mandar Dhage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    249
    104
    65
    73
See reviews for
69
268
85
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Despite having made a reservation a month advance, and despite having ALREADY PAID for the room, we arrived at the Shaftesbury Premier Notting Hill to find that our room was not available. They claimed an unspecified "maintenance issue" and offered to taxi us a half-hour out to the boondocks to one of their sister hotels in Osterly or something like that. We specifically wanted to stay in this area and were to be in London for less than 24 hours. Obviously, our time was precious and their alternative was not at all acceptable.

The front desk staff did NOT offer to find us equivalent nearby accommodations--we were basically given a refund and that was that. We wound up traipsing around the area, on foot, with luggage in tow, checking the other hotels in the neighborhood one by one. (A very helpful lady at the sold-out Phoenix Hotel came to our rescue and not only found us a room at a competitor nearby, but then called the hotel herself, negotiated a low rate on our behalf, then gave us a map upon which she drew exactly how to get there. In other words, we got better service from a hotel we hadn't even booked a room with!)

This seems to be a pattern with Shaftesbury. Do yourself a favor and check out the reviews below from Semi_Circle (11/5/12), Haylea S (10/14/12), D_Kernoghan (6/29/12), JMH1953 (2/20/12), ElenaCL (1/25/12), matthew g (1/11/12), and Richroom101 (1/3/12), who all wound up getting the "Shaftesbury shaft" like we did.

Do you really want to gamble with your room while on a trip? I sure don't, and I will never make the mistake of attempting to stay at any Shaftesbury property ever again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write in and your patience while we looked into this matter.
it was confirmed that the Shaftesbury Premier London Notting Hill did suffer a maintenance problem on the day of arrival. Therefore we arranged for an alternative accommodation you. We understand that you were less than satisfied about this and we sincerely apologize for the trouble caused. We have taken the complaint into very serious consideration and have been implementing measures to ensure that we further improve on all our services.

i will appreciate if you could send me your contact detail to dm.ship@shaftesburyhotels.comin order for me to contact you directly and discuss the same in depth.

i understand from your comments that you had a very bad experiance and once again apologize for the same

With Regards

Mandar Dhage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I booked a double deluxe room at this hotel for an overnight stay for my partner & I. The room was TINY. The bed was tucked in against the window with only one side available to get in & out of it. It took 5 steps from the door to the bed. The shower in the bathroom was even smaller. When I asked at reception what made the room 'deluxe', the receptionist had me shown to another room, which was exactly the same. Even the porter stated that it was really only suitable for a single person. We were shown & decided to stay in another room on the ground floor, which had no view (not bothered). It was by some extractor pipes which made noise throughout the night, at least we had some room to move & a shower we could raise our arms in. I am sure that there are bigger rooms to be had, these must have a different name. Not a lot of room for your money here.

Room Tip: Room 405 & 205 were the ones we saw that were TINY.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill, We appreciate your comments and we promise that we will try our very best to serve you in th best way possible in order to ensure that we can provide you with one of the most wonderful stays you ever had.

May i kindly request you to please email me on dm.ship@shaftesburyhotels.com regarding the details of your booking so that we can investigate further in detail.

Thank you very much for your patience & support.

With regards

Mandar Dhage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We will were moved to this hotel as its sister hotel The Grand Royale was having renovation work. The hotel is situated within a rather grand house, common in this part of town. The reception area is small and modern, the bedrooms tiny. Only stay in these rooms if you are a midget. We stayed en route on holiday so consequently had a lot of luggage, this filled the room, there was an ironing board in the cupboard (I dont know why as the room was not big enough to put it up), the window was tiny and the view was of a central heating pipe, it was boiling hot, I was shown several other rooms after I complained, all equally bad, as we were going to a show we had no time to look at another hotel, we reluctantly stayed and checked out first thing in the morning. I have complained to the company and received a partial refund.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill, We appreciate your comments and we promise that we will try our very best to serve you in th best way possible in order to ensure that we can provide you with one of the most wonderful stays you ever had.

May i kindly request you to please email me on dm.ship@shaftesburyhotels.com regarding the details of your booking so that we can investigate further in detail.

Thank you very much for your patience & support.

With regards

Mandar Dhage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

They are extremely disorganised. Upon arrival (about 5pm) we were told there were no rooms after i had booked and paid in advance. We got moved to their partner hotel near heathrow with a complimentary cab, when we got there ended up having to wait 30mins cause they knew nothing about us coming. The next morning they rung us up to say we had ordered a cab when we hadn't (slyly trying to kick us out). We got back to this branch and our room wasn't ready, when we got in however i was glad we had stayed at the heathrow one for 2days. This hotel is ugly, the rooms are tiny and closet like. You can barely move round it.
Im pretty sure the double beds aren't double and it definitely isn't 4star! We didn't get anything complimentary.
No bottled water or anything and no fridge! What 4star hotel has no fridge and has their curtains falling down. Its ridiculous. Their staff are extremely unhelpful too. Save your money. I unfortunately got trapped into booking it cause i booked through the secret hotel deal on last minute (cost 415 for three nights) and little did i know that their 4star would actually look like it should have been referred to as a run down inn.

Room Tip: The disabled room is the biggest and its still tiny (glorified cupboard)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill, We appreciate your comments and we promise that we will try our very best to serve you in th best way possible in order to ensure that we can provide you with one of the most wonderful stays you ever had.

May i kindly request you to please email me on dm.ship@shaftesburyhotels.com regarding the details of your booking so that we can investigate further in detail.

Thank you very much for your paitence & support.

With regards

Mandar Dhage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Extremely enjoyable hotel in a very nice area. Good location near Kensington Gardens and Queensway. There are two tube stations nearby and bus stops aren't too far away either, which makes this a good home-from-home for travellers who like to get out and about easily.

Ever since we found this quiet and cosy little hotel, it has been our first port of call whenever we visit London. Sadly, due to Shaftesbury Hotels' booking policy we haven't always been allowed to stay there - we were transferred to other Shaftesbury hotels instead on a couple of occasions. Having been avid London visitors for almost 25 years now, we have experienced many different London hotels, and none has been as close to our ideal (while remaining within a reasonable budget) than Shaftesbury Premier London Notting Hill.

The staff is very helpful if you need them. Any issue, be it big or small, is always resolved quickly and efficiently with a minimum of fuss. The last time we stayed there, we had booked a twin room, but upon our arrival there were only double rooms available. We were informed that we could have a twin room the next day. As for the room change, we didn't have to do anything but pack our bags - everything else was done for us. This whole operation was initiated by the manager Mr Ahuja himself - all in all a very impressive example of hands-on management.

Looking forward to our next trip!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
i am very delighted that our hotel is your favorite in London and my team and I are determined to keep it this way.

I can assure you that your comments will not only motivate the team but also encourage them to maintain and improve on the service you have come to expect.

It is a pleasure to host you and we look forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards,

Mandar Dhage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were disappointed with our stay here during October. On arrival the staff were helpful but not particularly welcoming. The room was small with dated decor. The small bathroom was separated from the bedroom by a pane of partially obscured glass in the door which didn't give much privacy. The sash window was broken and would not stay open. The bed was small and the mattress was extremely uncomfortable and lumpy and needed replacing. This led to a restless nights sleep for both of us. There were also small spots of blood on the bed sheets and a tooth pick left lying on the carpet.

This certainly didn't have the feel of a four star hotel. The only real positive was the location. I would rate this as a 3 star at most. Certainly it's a vast contrast to The Parkcity, Kensington where stayed the year before which was much better value for money and a more enjoyable stay. I wouldn't go back or recommend Shaftesbury Premiere.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill, We appreciate your comments and we promise that we will try our very best to serve you in th best way possible in order to ensure that we can provide you with one of the most wonderful stays you ever had.

May i kindly request you to please email me on dm.ship@shaftesburyhotels.com regarding the details of your booking so that we can investigate further in detail.

Thank you very much for your patience & support.

With regards

Mandar Dhage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to London Premier Notting Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Premier Notting Hill

Address: 5-7 Princes Square Bayswater, London W2 4NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#269 Luxury Hotel in London
#351 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — London Premier Notting Hill 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel in restored 1850s Townhouses offering elegant comfort in a quiet garden square; short walk to the antique market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, WHM Global Ltd., Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Otel and Venere so you can book your London Premier Notting Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Premier London Notting Hill Hotel London
Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London
Comfort Inn Bayswater
London Premier Notting Hill England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage London Premier Notting Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.