We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel in London I have stayed in.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of London Premier Notting Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added London Premier Notting Hill to your Saves list
London Premier Notting Hill
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5-7 Princes Square Bayswater, London W2 4NP, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #454 of 1,065 Hotels in London
north wales
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Worst hotel in London I have stayed in.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We will were moved to this hotel as its sister hotel The Grand Royale was having renovation work. The hotel is situated within a rather grand house, common in this part of town. The reception area is small and modern, the bedrooms tiny. Only stay in these rooms if you are a midget. We stayed en route on holiday so consequently had a lot of luggage, this filled the room, there was an ironing board in the cupboard (I dont know why as the room was not big enough to put it up), the window was tiny and the view was of a central heating pipe, it was boiling hot, I was shown several other rooms after I complained, all equally bad, as we were going to a show we had no time to look at another hotel, we reluctantly stayed and checked out first thing in the morning. I have complained to the company and received a partial refund.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill, We appreciate your comments and we promise that we will try our very best to serve you in th best way possible in order to ensure that we can provide you with one of the most wonderful stays you ever had.

May i kindly request you to please email me on dm.ship@shaftesburyhotels.com regarding the details of your booking so that we can investigate further in detail.

Thank you very much for your patience & support.

With regards

Mandar Dhage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    273
    113
    70
    79
See reviews for
82
288
89
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

They are extremely disorganised. Upon arrival (about 5pm) we were told there were no rooms after i had booked and paid in advance. We got moved to their partner hotel near heathrow with a complimentary cab, when we got there ended up having to wait 30mins cause they knew nothing about us coming. The next morning they rung us up to say we had ordered a cab when we hadn't (slyly trying to kick us out). We got back to this branch and our room wasn't ready, when we got in however i was glad we had stayed at the heathrow one for 2days. This hotel is ugly, the rooms are tiny and closet like. You can barely move round it.
Im pretty sure the double beds aren't double and it definitely isn't 4star! We didn't get anything complimentary.
No bottled water or anything and no fridge! What 4star hotel has no fridge and has their curtains falling down. Its ridiculous. Their staff are extremely unhelpful too. Save your money. I unfortunately got trapped into booking it cause i booked through the secret hotel deal on last minute (cost 415 for three nights) and little did i know that their 4star would actually look like it should have been referred to as a run down inn.

Room Tip: The disabled room is the biggest and its still tiny (glorified cupboard)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill, We appreciate your comments and we promise that we will try our very best to serve you in th best way possible in order to ensure that we can provide you with one of the most wonderful stays you ever had.

May i kindly request you to please email me on dm.ship@shaftesburyhotels.com regarding the details of your booking so that we can investigate further in detail.

Thank you very much for your paitence & support.

With regards

Mandar Dhage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Extremely enjoyable hotel in a very nice area. Good location near Kensington Gardens and Queensway. There are two tube stations nearby and bus stops aren't too far away either, which makes this a good home-from-home for travellers who like to get out and about easily.

Ever since we found this quiet and cosy little hotel, it has been our first port of call whenever we visit London. Sadly, due to Shaftesbury Hotels' booking policy we haven't always been allowed to stay there - we were transferred to other Shaftesbury hotels instead on a couple of occasions. Having been avid London visitors for almost 25 years now, we have experienced many different London hotels, and none has been as close to our ideal (while remaining within a reasonable budget) than Shaftesbury Premier London Notting Hill.

The staff is very helpful if you need them. Any issue, be it big or small, is always resolved quickly and efficiently with a minimum of fuss. The last time we stayed there, we had booked a twin room, but upon our arrival there were only double rooms available. We were informed that we could have a twin room the next day. As for the room change, we didn't have to do anything but pack our bags - everything else was done for us. This whole operation was initiated by the manager Mr Ahuja himself - all in all a very impressive example of hands-on management.

Looking forward to our next trip!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
i am very delighted that our hotel is your favorite in London and my team and I are determined to keep it this way.

I can assure you that your comments will not only motivate the team but also encourage them to maintain and improve on the service you have come to expect.

It is a pleasure to host you and we look forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards,

Mandar Dhage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were disappointed with our stay here during October. On arrival the staff were helpful but not particularly welcoming. The room was small with dated decor. The small bathroom was separated from the bedroom by a pane of partially obscured glass in the door which didn't give much privacy. The sash window was broken and would not stay open. The bed was small and the mattress was extremely uncomfortable and lumpy and needed replacing. This led to a restless nights sleep for both of us. There were also small spots of blood on the bed sheets and a tooth pick left lying on the carpet.

This certainly didn't have the feel of a four star hotel. The only real positive was the location. I would rate this as a 3 star at most. Certainly it's a vast contrast to The Parkcity, Kensington where stayed the year before which was much better value for money and a more enjoyable stay. I wouldn't go back or recommend Shaftesbury Premiere.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill, We appreciate your comments and we promise that we will try our very best to serve you in th best way possible in order to ensure that we can provide you with one of the most wonderful stays you ever had.

May i kindly request you to please email me on dm.ship@shaftesburyhotels.com regarding the details of your booking so that we can investigate further in detail.

Thank you very much for your patience & support.

With regards

Mandar Dhage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We picked up this hotel in from Lastminute.com Secret Hotels so we were not sure what to expect. The rooms although small were well appointed and very smart. The customer experience was excellent. Whatever minor problems were encountered were handled and corrected by the manager promptly. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a short stay in London.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Premier London Notting Hill for your recent visit to London. We really appreciate your comments and feel very proud that the team at the Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill was able to meet your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill

Warm Regards
Mandar Dhage
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We enjoyed our short stay at this hotel. Gagan was extremely helpful during our stay. He also ensured a very small problem with our booking was rectified immediately. Location-wise, this hotel is ideal - close to both the Central and Circle lines, within comfortable walking distance of Kensington Park and Notting Hill Gate. Our room was clean and comfortable and very quiet...I actually heard horses clip-clopping off in the distance during the early hours! We will certainly stay here again for our next trip to London. The only negative comment we have is that the mattresses are a little tired and could do with being replaced.

Room Tip: If you are at all claustrophobic, avoid the basement rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Premier London Notting Hill for your recent visit to London. We really appreciate your comments and feel very proud that the team at the Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill was able to meet your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Shaftesbury Premier London Nottinghill

Warm Regards
Mandar Dhage
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My wife and I loved this place!

although it was not the easiest place to find originally, it was a great place to base ourselves for a week.

its about an 8 Minute walk to Notting Hill Gate where you can find some cool little shops and restaurants or catch the train into the city. the longest we had to wait for a train was about 10 minutes. however this was during the Olympic Games so I am unsure if they would change that outside of peak periods.

Rooms are comfy, cosy, up to date and roomy

you have to pay for wifi unless you have a laptop that can plug into their wall sockets,

its not a long train ride to Westminster (Westminster Abby, big ben and London Bridge train stop) maybe 20 minutes

its not the most central location but its a great couples love-nest, would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandar D, Manager at London Premier Notting Hill, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
i am very delighted that our hotel is your favorite in London and my team and I are determined to keep it this way.

I can assure you that your comments will not only motivate the team but also encourage them to maintain and improve on the service you have come to expect.

It is a pleasure to host you and we look forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards,

Mandar Dhage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to London Premier Notting Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Premier Notting Hill

Address: 5-7 Princes Square Bayswater, London W2 4NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#277 Luxury Hotel in London
#342 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — London Premier Notting Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel in restored 1850s Townhouses offering elegant comfort in a quiet garden square; short walk to the antique market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your London Premier Notting Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Premier London Notting Hill Hotel London
Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London
Comfort Inn Bayswater
London Premier Notting Hill England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage London Premier Notting Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.