We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the tin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Silvertown Way | Canning Town, London E16 1EA, England (East End / East London)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #556 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Does what it says on the tin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is in a fantastic location, about 2 minutes walk from the tube/DLR station. (its about 15 minutes into central london).

The room was clean, comfortable and unremarkable. I paid 74 pounds for one night at very short notice which wasn't bad at all.

Some of my fellow guests were being a bit noisy coming up from the hotel bar - but nothing after 12:00. There was no traffic noise, despite being next to a main road and in the flightpath of London City Airport.

The complimentary continental breakfast was, again exactly what you'd expect. There were sausages, eggs and beans, so halfway to a full english. If you didn't fancy something so heavy, there were plenty of other options, including yoghurt, fresh fruit, fruit juice, cereal, toast, croissants and wierdly enough, doughnuts. All these were just what you'd expect from a holiday inn express - competent, but nothing spectacular. There was also a doug egberts coffee machine with a huge array of options - all of them very nice. Also, free newspapers, which was great!

One aspect of the stay that I found was surprisingly great were the staff, they were incredibly attentive, good humored and responsive to my needs. I would give them 5 stars.

Overall, perfect for a brief visit at an affordable price.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    250
    145
    48
    33
See reviews for
132
139
48
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in April 2015 and found it to be way below the standard of service I would expect for the prices they charge.

The staff were surly and disinterested and at times downright rude. They never smiled in the whole time I was there and were across the board unhelpful.

The hotel does not do any food in the evenings and the bar is appallingly stocked with a terrible selection of drinks available. No real ales whatsoever. Wine was expensive and served with bits of cork in it. I'm surprised they didn't charge me extra for the cork! The bright lighting in the seating area is not relaxing at all.

The rooms are clean enough but very basic. Bed was uncomfortable and the road outside was noisy. There was no bath which is especially annoying as I was working long days on my feet and could really have done with a soak. No power sockets near the bed for phone charging and alarm. Corridors smelled of cigarette smoke. If I opened my window then cigarette smoke wafted in to my room. Sometimes this was the staff of the hotel doing the smoking!

I parked at the car park at the rear of the hotel and despite this hotel being in the middle of no where they still charge the astonishing price of £10 per day to park there overnight. You could of course leave your car outside on the street but the area is riddled with crime and there is little guarantee that your car would still be there the next day.

To enter and exit the car park you have to go through barriers. Virtually every time I approached a barrier I had to wait quite some time before the staff lifted it up. Pressing the barrier intercom on the way in sometimes made no difference. Exiting the car park was even more tedious. Despite me asking for the exit code to lift the barrier I was told sternly by a female receptionist that I couldn't have it and that they would lift the barrier for me. The usual wait ensued with the longest wait being 8 minutes to get out of the frikking car park!!!! No intercom on the exit so you simply have to wait. After a few days this shockingly bad system starts to drive you crackers!

I book a lot of rooms for myself and my employees in and around Excel over the course of a year and this place is now on the DO NOT BOOK list. Mainly because of the attitude of the employees. I would not recommend this place to anyone for any reason. There are many cheaper and better alternatives in and around excel to choose from.
:-)

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel was in a good location for the convention we were attending at ExCel, only a 15 minute walk. On days that the convention finished early or wasn't on, we jumped on the tube into London City for an adventure. The rooms were clean and the bathroom of a reasonable size. I enjoyed the breakfast and would stay here again if another convention came up.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie1309, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Marlee_Reanne,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We Look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are visiting the area.
Kind Regards,
Tracie Barrie.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Great overnight stay in a good location on the Friday before "marathon weekend"

Room on 2nd floor looking towards Canary Wharf was clean and tidy and well laid out

Good breakfast with hot (scrambled egg, sausage, toast and beans) and cold selection (cereals, yoghurts, rolls, fruit)

A few minutes walk to Canning Town station and into the city within 15 minutes

Visited the Italian restaurant next door and had a good meal

Will definitely look at staying here again

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie1309, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear JamesNMorse,

Thank you for taking the tim,e to write a review on your recent stay at The Holiday Inn Express, London Royal Docks.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would return the the hotel again when visiting the area. Thank you for your great comments and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Tracie Barrie.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for day from 25/4/15
Ok hotel, clean .
Staff helpful
Free wifi - fantastic
Small bathroom, not enough shower gel in the shower gel dispenser
Didn't like the breakfast, tasteless scrambled eggs, no bacon

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie1309, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear ayinkusus,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express, London Royal Docks.
I am sorry that we did not quite meet your expectations during your stay. I have fed back your comments regarding the shower gel to the Housekeeping Manager. Our breakfast offering at Holiday Inn Express, does not include bacon. We offer a continental breakfast with limited hot items of scrambled egg, sausage and baked beans included in the price of your room. Our sister hotels at Holiday Inn are full service hotels and offer a full cooked english breakfast for a supplement. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback.
Kind Regards,
Tracie Barrie.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is only 3 mins walk to Canning Town tube which made travelling to city centre very easy. Our room was very clean and comfortable , and staff couldn't have been more helpful. They were always waiting with a smile . Breakfast was really good . The bus from that airport dropped us right outside. Also only one stop away from the O 2 . The Italian restaurant next door was excellent. Would definitely stay again

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie1309, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Liz P,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. I am so pleased to hear that you will stay with us again, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards,
Tracie Barrie.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I reviewed this hotel previously and we had occasion to again stay in London. It's a really good budget hotel, located very close to Canning Town Tube Station and it took no time at all to get into theatre land and see a show. Rooms are spacious, all you could need for a short stay and the prices are sensible. Breakfast as I said before is a good continental with some cooked items but perfectly adequate and appropriate to the price. We will definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Good value good location for tube to central London
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie1309, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear SaxonBoy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at The Holiday Inn Express, London Royal Docks.
I am so pleased that you returned to the hotel and had a great stay. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are visiting the area.
Kind Regards,
Tracie Barrie.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands

Address: 1 Silvertown Way | Canning Town, London E16 1EA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #556 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express London-Royal Docks/Docklands Hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of London's dynamic Docklands area and is only minutes away from Canary Wharf and the Excel Exhibition Centre. London City Airport is only 2km away and Canning Town Tube and Bus Station is within few minutes walk. The O2 Arena is also a short distance away (only one tube stop). The Holiday Inn Express London-Royal Docks/Docklands Hotel has 136 fully air conditioned en-suite bedrooms. This London hotel has spacious family rooms. All rooms have High Speed and Wireless Internet facilities (chargeable).Visitors to the World Travel Market, International Boat Show, Toy Fair, London Wine Festival and Anthony Robins Exhibitions will all find the hotel ideally situated. Meeting and Conference rooms are spacious with natural daylight, convenient for local business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands Hotel London
Holiday Inn London
Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.