We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for the Tube and EXcel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Silvertown Way | Canning Town, London E16 1EA, England (East End / East London)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #492 of 1,055 Hotels in London
leeds
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Convenient for the Tube and EXcel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stopped one night as ideally located for the Excel where we attended an event. Excellent location for Canning town tube station and for the Excel exhibition centre.

Pro's
Excellent location for Canning Tube station and EXcel
Staff on reception were outstanding, very very helpful indeed.
Breakfast of good value and kept well stocked throughout busiest period
Car parking was excellent.

Con's
Not much to do around the area near the hotel, lots building work opposite.
Room basic, sink had major problem in draining and shower cubicle over flowed during showering.

In conclusion
Would advise maintenance team to make more vigorous checks on rooms, sinks etc and not wait for complaints

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHAUN F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear rach_888,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn London Royal Docklands Hotel.

I am so pleased that you found the location and the service you received by the team to your satisfaction. I am sorry you found the sink in your room was slow to drain and your point about our maintenance it well made. We will certainly redouble our efforts in this area.

Regards

Shaun Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    224
    126
    35
    28
See reviews for
110
122
44
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
welton
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night in january and were delighted with the service and friendly staff. They could not have done more to help.

Great location for Canning Town station & DLR.

Italian restaurant next door serves great food at good prices.

Beds slightly hard - could do with better mattress but still good stay.

Recommended

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHAUN F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Welton,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay here with us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the team here to be really welcoming and friendly.

I know the team will appreciate your comments so very much.

We do hope you choose to stay with us again soon

Kind Regards

Shaun Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Nice hotel, would definitely stay again. Stayed for 6 days recently, top notch.

Rooms: carpets, decor, toilets - all nice and clean. TV's could do with a change (LCD) but i'll pass on this one.

Bed: extremely comfortable. Only gripe is that the bedsheets weren't changed/cleaned - there seemed to be black patch on the foot side of the duvet (pen / ink leak?). This patch remained here for the entire duration, shame it wasn't changed over.

Staff: extremely helpful, knew the area well and assisted in providing details and menus of local takeaways. There were 2-3 staff at all times at the reception area (even during the night 1am/2am).

Breakfast: decent selection of food and hot drinks. Seating area is well designed and nice decor with all the latest newspapers and magazines. Overall, very pleasant area to have breakfast. Only gripe is that breakfast finished a little early (for my liking!).

Accessibility: very good. Canning Town station is right next to the property (1 min walking distance) and has access to all major routes into Central london (15 mins jouney approx). Biggest shopping centre in the UK (Westfield) is 5 mins away by DLR.

Room Tip: make sure to go for the front view of the building, unless you want to see the view of a car park at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHAUN F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear iGlaswegian,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review about the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

You made a good deal of fair comments and they have been well noted. I'm sorry one of your sheets had a black mark on them and I'll make sure our housekeeping team are made aware to ensure they don't allow this to happen again. We do have a hard won reputation for great cleanliness and we want to protect that reputation.

Overall I am so pleased you liked the hotel and the level of service you received from the staff and I am sure they will appreciate your review.

I do hope you choose to come back and visit us again soon.

Kind Regards

Shaun Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed here for the night whilst in London on business, great location close to Canning Town tube and DLR. Unfortunately the area around isn't great, there's not a vast amount around. The hotel is a pretty standard Holiday Inn Express, with the standard breakfast buffet.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHAUN F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Neil O,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docklands Hotel.

I am glad that overall you liked your stay with us and that you found us to be good value for money. There are a various number of shops cafe's and Restaurants all within 5-10 mins walk of the Hotel. The next time you stay please ask at reception and we can give you the directions.

I do hope that you choose stay with us again upon your next visit to London.

Kind Regards

Shaun Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights during Dec-end and Jan beginning. The rooms were nice and neat,. The best part was that the hotel was situated next to Canning Town station so make local commute very easy.
The staff were very helpful. When we asked for an extended check out they were pretty welcoming, That was conforting, The Breakfast can have more options .. but than I believe in you get what you pay for. So no complians from the options provided.
Good stay for a business / budget travel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHAUN F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear AvantikaBansal,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docklands Hotel.

I am glad that overall you liked your stay with us and that you found us to be good value for money. We will be trialing some new items for breakfast soon so you should come back to try them.

I do hope that you choose stay with us again upon your next visit to London.

Kind Regards

Shaun Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I made a quick overnight trip to attend an event in central London. The hotel is extremely convenient to London City Airport, as it is situated just a few hundred metres from the Canning Town DLR station.

Staff was very courteous and helpful.

The breakfast was very basic.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHAUN F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Mark S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docklands Hotel.

I am glad that overall you liked your stay with us and that you found us to be good value for money. We will be trialing some new items for breakfast soon so you should come back to try them.

I do hope that you choose stay with us again upon your next visit to London.

Kind Regards

Shaun Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beernem, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

we only payed 86 euro for 2 adults + 1 child / night, the room and hotel was clean. Check in fast and easy

good parking place (10 pounds) and 1200meter from Exel center.

Breakfast was included but average. No hot choco , no cheese.

Wifi not included.

Room Tip: Rooms side of the parking place are more quited, other rooms next to busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHAUN F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear PolBrenda,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us.

I am glad that overall you liked your stay with us and that you found us to be good value for money.

I do hope that you choose stay with us again upon your next visit to London.

Kind Regards

Shaun Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands

Address: 1 Silvertown Way | Canning Town, London E16 1EA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#371 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express London-Royal Docks/Docklands Hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of London's dynamic Docklands area and is only minutes away from Canary Wharf and the Excel Exhibition Centre. London City Airport is only 2km away and Canning Town Tube and Bus Station is within few minutes walk. The O2 Arena is also a short distance away (only one tube stop). The Holiday Inn Express London-Royal Docks/Docklands Hotel has 136 fully air conditioned en-suite bedrooms. This London hotel has spacious family rooms. All rooms have High Speed and Wireless Internet facilities (chargeable).Visitors to the World Travel Market, International Boat Show, Toy Fair, London Wine Festival and Anthony Robins Exhibitions will all find the hotel ideally situated. Meeting and Conference rooms are spacious with natural daylight, convenient for local business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands Hotel London
Holiday Inn London
Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.