We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what You pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Smugglers Way | Wandsworth, London SW18 1EG, England (Clapham / Battersea )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #392 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Denmark
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“You get what You pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The hotel as such is okay but in badly need of a renovation. Plumbing is an issue. Breakfast is ok, and the staff are friendly. However it is a long way away from central London and on a Sunday we had to wait twenty minutes for a train.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    101
    28
    11
    5
See reviews for
70
40
6
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darmstadt, Germany
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The positive aspects of this Holiday Inn are various: the hotel is clean, the staff very kind and gentle, the breakfast is included (buy an espresso machine, please, though.... is not so expensive!!!). The air conditioning and heating system is anyhow VERY noisy even if it's off, and the distance to London centre is to be taken into consideration (the train is ok but Wandsworth Town station was closed during one day and late at night.....). The BP gas station nearby is a plus, you can buy real coffee, fruits and dishes at any time. In a nutshell, I would choose something better, money permitting. WiFi free.

Room Tip: Far from elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

great option to stay in, affordable. The staff members were friendly and accommodating. Location is about two minutes away from the Wandsworth train station and about 15 minute train ride to Waterloo (central London). Was very easy to travel and convenient. Thank to the staff members of Holiday Inn for making our stay wonderful (shout out to Alister, Ana, and the lovely Hazel).. your Canadian friends Geeta and Bahar.

Room Tip: great location and fantastic staff service
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice option if you are looking for good value but still want to be handy for Central London - 2 minutes from the rail station which itself is maybe 15-20 minutes away from the West End by train/tube.

Check-in was quick, rooms clean and functional - everything you'd need for a comfortable stopover but nothing fancy.

The bar/sitting area is multi purpose; daytime its good for quick meetings or work, evening its a bar (albeit not massively comfortable or atmospheric) and at breakfast its the dining area.

Breakfast was fairly simple - hot food options plus pastries, cereal etc. It's self service so ideal if your short on time.

Location was excellent a very short walk from Wandsworth Town which is full of restaurants and bistro's plus very close to the river so a really nice spot.

Best bit was a really good B&B rate at £84 for a double - can't fault that!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I absolutely loved my stay here with my friends and the service was great! The rooms were very clean and, had enough space for the four of us. All the great staff were so nice and friendly. Also, Hazel is the most hilarious person you will ever meet. She cracked us up! If you have the chance to meet her, don't be afraid to introduce yourself. :)

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Worst thing first. When I booked I asked for top floor room, away from lift areas and noisy walkways and on the quietest side of the hotel. Yes, I'm fussy. I always like to ask, but I do appreciate not all hotels cannot accommodate my demands! But always worth asking.

My room, 406, was directly outside the lift area and not top floor. It was on the side overlooking a 24/7 BP garage. It was pretty much everything I asked to avoid.

I was too tired on arrival to go back to Reception and complain. I'd like hotels to get this right first time round. They didn't ask how my stay was when I left, so I didn't take the opportunity to tell them, until now.

However, the room was comfortable, air con available, the window opened just that little bit for some fresh air (despite the noise). And on that note, a decent set of ear plugs blocked out all the noise and I slept fairly well.

Bathroom shower can't decide what temperature it wants to be. Either very hot or nearly cold. Not great if you've got kids in the shower.

Parking - £15 for 24 hours if you can get onto the hotel parking area. Public car park opposite, which I'm sure most hotel guests use, but I don't know costs.

Breakfast ok. Limited hot food (and it's not the most appealing) but the "continental" breakfast range is a far better choice.

Overall, pretty good hotel and I'd certainly use it again.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the highest floor and on the side AWAY from the BP garage. You should avoid most of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear 29_Sussex_Traveller,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with this extensive feedback on your stay. We appreciate the input of all our guests on their experience with us and I am sorry that our team did not take this opportunity at check out.

Room allocation is generally done upon arrival, which can lead to situations where we are unable to accommodate certain requests. We do try to offer all of our guests options if the ideal room for their requests is unavailable; although your comments show that some of our team perhaps need a little refresher on what options are available. I will ensure this is rolled out to the staff as soon as possible.

With regards to the shower temperature I will have to get our maintenance manager to take a look and find out what went wrong in your bathroom. It sounds like a problem which we can fix and customer feedback is often the best way to judge a shower experience, so thank you for including your room number.

I am glad to hear that you found your room comfortable and that you slept well with us. I hope that we are able to welcome you back to us in the future for a chance to exceed both your experience and expectations with our service.

Warm regards,

David Fisher
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location close to the Thames with newly renovated area. Very clean rooms. Don't go to the 7th floor as the hot water tanks are above you and 'rumble' as they heat the water all night long. The the North side of the hotel is quieter as there is less traffic there. Breakfast was OK, not an enormous selection but hot & cold food. Easy walk to the river and many restaurants along the towpath. Train station & busses nearby.

Room Tip: North side facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth

Address: Smugglers Way | Wandsworth, London SW18 1EG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 Best Value Hotel in London
#319 Family Hotel in London
#326 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth and enjoy a different side to capital life, South West side, the convenience of the city without all the hustle and bustle. It's only a 2 minute walk to Wandsworth Town train station; the train to London Waterloo from there only takes 12 minutes, its 3 minutes to Clapham Junction and 35 minutes to Gatwick Airport. If you're driving we do have onsite car parking too. Of course there's free WiFi throughout the hotel and every guest can enjoy breakfast no matter what rate you book on. Rooms have air conditioning, en suite shower room, flatscreen TV, hair dryer, work desk and tea and coffee. If you chose to dine out, take your pick of excellent restaurants and bars along the Old York Road or by the River Thames. Close by there are walks of the River Thames, Kew Gardens and the Landmark Battersea Power Station, all this plus the local gems of Putney and Clapham. Guests visiting on their leisure time stay with us and visit London's top sporting venues including Chelsea's Stamford Bridge, Fulham Football Club, Wimbledon, The Oval and Twickenham, The Royal Albert Hall and not forgetting Earls Court Exhibition Centre. With easy access to the centre of London just on our doorstep, we regularly welcome business travellers, who tell us the location along with the free WiFi access is ideal for them. The hotel is also a great 'out of town' venue to hold small meetings, we can host up to 25 and have some great meetings offers available. Whatever your reason to stay we look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, LondonMarketing.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth Hotel London
Holiday Inn London
Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.