We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Building site next door , beware...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express London- Southwark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express London- Southwark to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express London- Southwark
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   103-109 Southwark Street, London SE1 OJQ, England (Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #403 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Billericay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Building site next door , beware...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Although we found the hotel to be good with a very nice breakfast I would not stay again until the building works have finished next door. We stayed at the back of property, we asked for a quiet room as we had a charity function on and did not get back till around 6am, we were rudely awoken by a huge building site in full swing at 8am sharp.
We were offered another room but by this time we were very disgruntled, we were given a refund on the next nights stay and went home.
I do realize that the problem we encountered was not the hotels fault but the problem has to be put in the review.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London- Southwark, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear rosielamb,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at our hotel.

I am disappointed to read that you were awoken by the external noise and this marred your stay. Although we have engaged conversations with the site contractors several times regarding the noise, we are unable to control their working hours. On behalf of the team here at Southwark please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused. On a separate note I am happy to read that you have appreciated our free breakfast offer.

Once again, thank you for your constructive feedback and I hope you will give us another chance in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Francesco Minafra
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    237
    130
    42
    21
See reviews for
156
121
37
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perrh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 5 nights in August, using it as a base whilst travelling to Europe, Scotland and Ireland. Initially thought the rooms were small, but after 15 nights in European hotels, it suddenly appeared to be larger! Rooms and hotel although basic were very clean and tidy, beds very comfortable with pillow selection. We stayed in 3 different rooms and all of them were extremely quiet. Fantastic location close to Southwark and Waterloo stations, and the Trafalgar Tours Reception Office, all in walking distance. Plenty of terrific restaurants and bars close by. Try the Mad Hatter pub, 5 min walk, great atmosphere and huge delicious meals. Complimentary hot and cold breakfast was a bonus and great way to start a day of sightseeing, although scrambled eggs bit "floury". Cocktail bar in reception was handy place to have a nightcap, or 2, while watching the news on the large flatscreen TV. Complimentary use of the computers and wi-fi also a bonus. Think this area of London is a hidden gem, away from the hussle and bussle, but handy to everything. But the best part of this hotel is the staff. All extremely friendly and helpful, nothing too hard to do, they all went over and above our expectations. They are a huge asset to the hotel, which must filter down from the top management. Will definitely stay here again, thanks for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in 3 rooms, all facing a construction site, but rooms were all quiet, maybe we were out an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London- Southwark, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Karen C

Thank so much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express - London Southwark.

It is always a pleasure to receive such a positive feedback particularly regarding our friendly and helpful staff. I am also glad that you have enjoyed our free breakfast and free Wi-Fi. On a separate note, I take on board your comment about our scrambled and I have already shared it with our breakfast team.

Once again , thank you for your feedback and I hope we will have the honour to serve you again next time you visit London.


Kind regards

Francesco Minafra
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerroa, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

If you are a Holiday Inn/IHG member, you can expect the same high standard of hotel fit out, particularly for a hotel in this location. Very central. The rooms are a tad small but, well appointed, comfy beds, free wi-fi and I was able to get parking as well (a major bonus for this part of town). Unfortunately, being in the center of town means you have to put up with all the construction noise in the morning. If you're on business or a quick stay in town, this place is perfect. Longer stays may have an issue with the lack of storage, no safe etc.

Room Tip: Ask staff if there is any construction going on and if you can get a room away from the noise, espec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London- Southwark, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Losrobos,

Thank you so much for your positive review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express - London Southwark.
I am glad to read that you found our location to be suitable to your travel requirements and I am delighted to hear that your IHG Rewards Club Experience was up to your expectations. I will certainly share your comments with the rest of the team and I hope to see you again on your next visit to London.

Kind regards
Francesco Minafra
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This Holiday Inn Express is conveniently placed near Southbank in Southwark. I have no complaints at all. Breakfast is free, which is a nice bonus in the morning. Wireless internet is also free. My room was small but as a place to rest your head, perfectly fine. Comfortable bed with a choice of pillow types. There is a bar downstairs which is handy for a late night glass of wine or a beer.

Overall a very clean, tidy and pleasant place in a good location. But for the price? Not good value for money in my opinion. If I'm spending £200 a night I expect something a bit special. Of course, all London hotels are ridiculously expensive.

Room Tip: Away from the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London- Southwark, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Richard M
Thanks for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. It was great to read that you found the location and hotel to your liking. It is always great to have a shared review which is complimentary about the hotel and the team here.
I am aware that this is a high demand time in London and it is unfortunate that you were unable to get a special offer for this stay. Thanks again & we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards - Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife and I have been in London for the weekend to cover a variety of activities in different locations .
We booked the above hotel and were very satisfied .
Reception staff were very warm and friendly and we were dealt with very efficiently and quickly .
The room was to our liking , clean , well equipped , and quiet .
One more chair would have been an added advantage .
Breakfast is included and although it says "continental " sausage , beans and scrambled eggs were included .
There was a good selection of other breakfast items .
The hotel is very well located for a number of attractions and is well served by bus routes .
Altogether an excellent value for money location .

Room Tip: Rooms on the side are quiet although some building is in progress . The double glazing was effectiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London- Southwark, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear beacroft
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the hotel, it was great to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your feedback with the team here and it was good to know that you found the hotel location and facilities exactly what you needed. Please do visit us again and we look for to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards - Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed a couple of nights in this hotel which while not being overly luxurious was clean, well kept and rooms were a decent size. Staff were friendly enough but forgot my wake-up call but overall staying here was a pleasant experience, if unremarkable experience. London is an expensive place to stay so the high price of my stay is probably just about par. It is however of note that the location is much better than first appears being less than 15 mins walk from Waterloo station and also close to the Thames.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London- Southwark, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Ric399
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us - it was great to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and found that the team here were friendly and helpful. I do hope that we will see you again on your next trip to London. Kind Regards - Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a good hotel if you want a clean, functional hotel in central london from which you can explore the city. The rooms are clean and decent size and the staff are very friendly. The breakfast is also good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London- Southwark, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Dansker_London,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following you recent stay at our hotel. It is always a pleasure to read such a positive feedback. I will certainly share you comments with the rest of the team who will be delighted to hear that their efforts have been recognised. Thank you again and we looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Francesco Minafra
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express London- Southwark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London- Southwark

Address: 103-109 Southwark Street, London SE1 OJQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#341 Family Hotel in London
#359 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London- Southwark 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express-London Southwark, the ideal location for business and leisure travellers visiting London. The hotel is situated on the south-bank of the River Thames and only minutes away from major London tourist attractions, such as the New Tate Modern, Shakespeare s Globe Theatre, St Paul's Cathedral, Royal Festival Hall, The Shard, The London Eye, which offers spectacular views of the London sky-line, and many more.The Holiday Inn Express London Southwark features 136 contemporary style bedrooms, all individually air conditioned offering guests a comfortable, warm and friendly stay. All our rooms have en-suite facilities, power shower, direct dial telephones, modem points at work stations with Free WiFi and Freeview television. In addition, the hotel is in close proximity to both Southwark Tube only a short distance from direct access to Westfield Stratford City, the O2 & Canary Wharf via the Jubilee line and Blackfriars Station Terminal with access to the Circle and District lines, allowing convenient access to attractions in the heart of London such as Leicester Square and London s Theatreland. All bedrooms have recently been and a newly refurbished Lobby, Great Room and Breakfast. Free Breakfast is also offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London- Southwark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London- Southwark Hotel London
Holiday Inn Express London- Southwark England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express London- Southwark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.