We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel shame about the noisy guests” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express London City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express London City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express London City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   275 Old Street, London EC1V 9LN, England (Shoreditch)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #533 of 1,049 Hotels in London
1 review
“Nice hotel shame about the noisy guests”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I am writing this as I lay in my room as the group next door are bloody noisy! The hotel itself is lovely with comfortable rooms and very clean however I'm really glad they supply ears plugs as the walls are paper thin. The people in room next door are really noisy and you can hear everything. Very frustrating when trying to relax watching TV and they're talking and then shouting and then talking then slamming doors. So resorted to turning TV off and plugging in ear plugs. Really not relaxing at all. Am actually contemplating ringing reception to complain. Don't expect that from a hotel. It is a shame cause I love the hotel and the staff are all so friendly and welcoming and I would have rated this much higher otherwise. I realise it's London and that it's a busy place however you don't expect to hear in depth conversations from the room next door. Stayed in Holiday Inn Express' before elsewhere and never had any problems.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for your feedback and comments. I am sorry to learn your stay was not enjoyable due to the noisy guests.
Please can you email us at gsmcity@holidayinnlondon.com with more information so we can look into this in more detail for you?
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    348
    199
    60
    54
See reviews for
233
113
66
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This HIX is near tube stations and within walking of City attractions. Good for groups with ample seating for meals. Very comfortable beds and with early afternoon maid service makes it a great place for late afternoon naps to ready oneself for nighttime activities. Best to ask for side street views if you want quiet as Old Street can be noisy in the early mornings.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for your kind words, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, NZ
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Located in London City near Hoxton Square, the location was convenient. Close to the Old St underground station and on plenty of red bus routes.

For those not from London:

You can not pay cash for the bus/underground & you need to buy an oyster card with funds on it to travel by bus or train. Any unused funds on the card can be refunded & daily travel is capped (around 7 pound). There is information desks to help with queries. You can purchase the Oyster card at the old street underground station.

The continental breakfast was more than adequate and the dining room got busy quickly.

The staff were friendly & polite.

However the Internet connection was appalling and we were unable to connect by cell phone, laptop or tablet in our room. The reception staff gave us a coupon to use for high speed Internet when we expressed our dissatisfaction about the Internet connection but we couldn't connect to this either. It was very frustrating not having Internet access as we needed this to plan our activities in London. To get Internet access we either had to loiter in the hallway outside other people's rooms or sit down in the hotel foyer. Not ideal!

As other people have mentioned they are having air conditioning issues, which they acknowledged & it did make funny noises & wake us a couple of times. They provided earplugs for this.

We stayed over the weekend and there was a lot of raucous noise from outside the hotel in the early hours on Saturday night/Sunday morning, very audible through the double glazing up on the 5th floor.

Small clean room, satisfactory if you aren't going to be spending much time in your room.

No restaurant (apart from breakfast) but plenty of restaurants at its doorstep also a convenience store across the road.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great hotel, location is perfect. Lovely restaurants short walk away in hoxton square that are perfect for families. Room was cleaned every day and perfect for short family holiday. Plenty of choice at breakfast and the staff were all very helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay again and recommend to families x

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind words and review. We're really glad you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

You never know where you will end up when you take a large group of students with a tour company. This hotel was a pleasant surprise. I was warned that we could be way out of town but this hotel was a 4 minute walk to the 'tube' and a 15 minute ride to the heart of the city. The rooms were clean, but ours was quite small. Many of the student groups of 3 had quite spacious rooms though. Breakfast (included) was substantial enough with surprisingly good scrambled eggs, sausage, lovely fresh bread, not-so-lovely croissant, and fresh fruit. Lots of types of tea and styles of very good dispensed coffee, it was all a good start to our long days in and around London.
Hotel staff were accommodating when we needed a room change or city information.
Students had free time and I felt it was a safe enough neighbourhood for them to travel to on their own.
I would highly recommend this for family and group travel - thanks EF Tours.

Room Tip: Rooms for 3, or with one bed were more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind words and great review of our hotel.I am really pleased you liked the hotel and so did your tour group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited this Hotel for a 2 night stay and was impressed! Lovely Rooms, Lovely View and Nice Free! Yes Free! Breakfast! Huge Buffet Breakfast Selection, though it does get very busy! We will be going again soon!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thanks for your great rating and review. I am really happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I've stayed here a couple of times now on business. It's within the company budget but like it due to its location near Hoxton, which gives me good choice of bars and restaurants to eat from and a good vibe after work.

The hotel is a standard Holiday Inn, you know what you're getting. Rooms are clean and staff have always been very helpful and friendly.

Breakfast is buffet and quite limited and a bit of a bun fight but ok for breakfast to grab and go.

It's a 3 minute walk from Old Street tube and Sainsburys Express on way to hotel is useful if you need any items and Cashpoint there as well.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review from your stay with us. I'm happy you liked the hotel and area. Our breakfast can get busy during holidays and weekends which we why we try and advise our guests to come early to breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express London City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London City

Address: 275 Old Street, London EC1V 9LN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#390 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London City 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Express by Holiday Inn London City. Our hotel is ideally located on the doorstep of the City of London, with the financial districts of Broadgate & Bishopsgate just minutes away for our business guests. We have excellent transport links for the London Underground and Kings Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail terminus not to mention St Pancras International Station for the Eurostar. We sit on the gateway to Hoxton Square, Shoreditch & Brick Lane, whatever your reason for visiting London we are an ideal base for exploring this vibrant area of London. If culture & history mixed with London s coolest restaurants, bars & shopping is what you want then you have just discovered East is the new West! Fear not, for we are also ideally located for London s attractions such as Tower of London, Tower Bridge, Bank of England, Tate Modern, St Paul's Cathedral & South Bank to name but a few. We have just undergone a full refurbishment of our Lobby, Reception, Bar, Restaurant and Meeting Rooms to reflect the cool, contemporary urban location we reside in. We have 224 purpose built bedrooms, all of which are light and spacious with large desk space all rooms are en suite with refreshing power showers as well as a newly installed state of the art interactive television & in room movie system. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms & public areas are equipped with high speed wi-fi internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, LondonMarketing.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London City Hotel London
Holiday Inn London City
Holiday Inn Express London City England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express London City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.