We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fancy but good personnel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express London City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express London City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express London City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   275 Old Street, London EC1V 9LN, England (East End / East London)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #549 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Missouri
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Not fancy but good personnel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

A single night to get over jet lag before attending business sessions nearby. Arrived around 9 a.m., knew room wouldn't be available, but I was cheerfully offered breakfast - which is considerably larger than the fruit/breads/coffee I'd expected. Surprisingly good sausage - I tend to find English sausage bland - and not-overcooked scrambled eggs. The room looks pretty standard, and there's no closet, just a few hangers in a niche off the hall. Externally a pretty unprepossessing building, with a fire station between it and the tube station - you can avoid that by getting a room facing north, not on the primary street .No, the windows don't open - but the mattress was very good. Good shower, too and large, fluffy towels.

But the big thing is the cheerful front desk staff, clearly willing to do what it takes to make guests happy. The gift pack for kids was presented to two toddlers with a flourish that would have done justice to a theater major and a smile to warm the hearts of all.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear lemons1,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed the customer service offered by our staff and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    301
    177
    58
    50
See reviews for
195
105
63
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hull, England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed for one Saturday night with a friend while we met our London based friends for the weekend.

Arrived at 11.30am and expected a room not to be ready but reception staff allocated us a twin room without any fuss. Jade on reception was polite and accommodating.
We had a 2nd floor room facing the main road but we didnt notice much more noise than you would expect but ear plugs provided just in case. The room and bathroom were very clean and modern with all the amenities you would expect. The hotel in general is also very clean and functional. Sadly we didnt make breakfast so cant comment.

In terms of location, the hotel is situated in the heart of East Londons nightlife and I thought £100 for one night B&B on a Saturday in London was good value as most hotels charge a premium and also dont include breakfast. I know London well and this is not a hotel you should choose for the tourist areas as it is quite far east but for anyone wanting to stay in East London on business etc or take advantage of the nightlife on offer then stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Very welcoming, quick and efficient check-in. All public areas and room were in good condition. Breakfast room looked appealing and was 'ok' for this type/category of hotel.

Only downside is that the windows cannot be opened, therefore the air is not fresh. This coupled with bedding that contains some man made fibres makes for an average sleep at best.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the back, they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Hotel is close to tube station, ideal connections. Unfortunately it is also located on a busy road, ambulacnes with sirens are constantly driving past (all throughout the night), lots of general traffic noise and lots of poeple on the road even late at night. The beds were very uncomfortable, especially the kid's bed. The air conditioning was broken and made lots of noise. They provided 2 ear plugs to help with the noise. Unfortunately it was 4 of us in the room and they didn't manage to drown out the racket anyway. So we had to switch it off and cope with a stuffy room. The lights in the bathroom were so dim it was just enough to see the toilet but impossible to do make-up or shaving. Although the room was booked for 4 people there weren't enough towels for everyone and it was up to us again to organise more. Breakfast was basic, the scrambled eggs luke warm tostone cold most days and sometimes not enough tables for everyone. The bar consists of small tables and does not look inviting enough to spend a couple of relaxed hours with friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Peb280,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered over some of the room amenities and with breakfast. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Somebody said that the world is book and travelling is reading a chapter. Yes my recently concluded trip to Europe by  Paras Holidays made me feel the truth in above statement. Before that I had been abroad and was rightly apprehensive about various things. Thanks to Paras holidays and I would travel with Paras Holidays always.Holidays inn Express is best Hotel in Europe .Service is so Good .thanks to paras holidays book a good hotel in europe.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Comfortable room, ideal for business visit. Breakfast buffet also OK. Plenty of places to eat in area. Bathroom shower good size. Clean room and and good quality linen and towels. Reception staff helpful and generally good customer service. Picked for business visit so not sure about location for leisure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Susie Q,

We want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay.

I am glad to read that you were pleased with the services we provide. One of the greatest rewards is receiving encouraging feedback such as yours. Our staff takes pride in creating a memorable, exceptional experience for our guests. Hearing that we have accomplished that goal means that we have delivered you the value and experience you expect.

Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Go this room as was attending friends family event. Stayed for two nights and didn't try the bar or restaurant. Room was very tidy as was bathroom. However how they can charge the same amount of points as the kings cross hotel beats me as there was no gym or pool. Colour scheme of room was blue and lilac which I think they chose to relax you and aid with sleep. Bed was comfortable and ensuite only had a shower, however it was large and water was piping hot. Couple of pain retouched required in bathroom but nothing major. Couple of negative points. When asking for an iron and ironing board normally porter in hotel will bring it up. In this one the customer has to go and fetch it. If wanting a lie in pray that the cleaners don't clean the room next door. They batter the walls like there's no tomorrow. Area round about has lots of graffiti on buildings etc but it's the very impressive artistic type, even has a banksy across the road.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express London City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London City

Address: 275 Old Street, London EC1V 9LN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #549 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London City 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Express by Holiday Inn London City. Our hotel is ideally located on the doorstep of the City of London, with the financial districts of Broadgate & Bishopsgate just minutes away for our business guests. We have excellent transport links for the London Underground and Kings Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail terminus not to mention St Pancras International Station for the Eurostar. We sit on the gateway to Hoxton Square, Shoreditch & Brick Lane, whatever your reason for visiting London we are an ideal base for exploring this vibrant area of London. If culture & history mixed with London s coolest restaurants, bars & shopping is what you want then you have just discovered East is the new West! Fear not, for we are also ideally located for London s attractions such as Tower of London, Tower Bridge, Bank of England, Tate Modern, St Paul's Cathedral & South Bank to name but a few. We have just undergone a full refurbishment of our Lobby, Reception, Bar, Restaurant and Meeting Rooms to reflect the cool, contemporary urban location we reside in. We have 224 purpose built bedrooms, all of which are light and spacious with large desk space all rooms are en suite with refreshing power showers as well as a newly installed state of the art interactive television & in room movie system. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms & public areas are equipped with high speed wi-fi internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, LondonMarketing.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London City Hotel London
Holiday Inn London City
Holiday Inn Express London City England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express London City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.