We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money in a convenient place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express London City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express London City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express London City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   275 Old Street, London EC1V 9LN, England (Shoreditch)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #534 of 1,049 Hotels in London
South East
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great value for money in a convenient place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I think this has to be one of the better value hotels in London in my experience. The location is really good being 5 minutes walk from Old Street. I stayed 1 night in order to attend a function on Shoreditch High Street and found the hotel very well placed.

Check in was efficient and friendly and the staff were able to give effective directions. I was on the top floor and had a nice sized room. The room had everything needed for 1 night. When I reported that the television remote had no batteries the reception staff sent someone with a replacement within 5 minutes which was impressive.

The bed was exceptionally comfortable and I had a really good night's sleep. The room was very clean as was the bathroom and well kept. Towels were of a decent quality and there was sufficient hot water. I would agree with previous comments about the soundproofing. I don't think I heard a thing all night.

Breakfast was perfectly acceptable. I would echo comments about the lack of bacon which I think is an essential component of breakfast. That said there was an ample supply of cereal, croissants and tea and coffee, all of which were fine. It doesn't go down in my list of all time great breakfasts but it was acceptable. I noticed that the staff were very conscientious in refilling the baskets when they started to run low.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend it. The location is great for Shoreditch or the city. The value for money is excellent as there are enough of the comforts you need and the service was very good.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    349
    200
    60
    54
See reviews for
235
113
66
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Good size room with air conditioning decent bed with choice of soft or hard pillows. Pleasant and helpful staff. Good location for city. Breakfast ok but no bacon, scrambled eggs and sausages cooked with pastries a bit dried out.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We came to London for the weekend, and stayed at this hotel as it was reasonably well located, had good reviews and the price was good.
It is very close to the Tube which made getting around easy. Although not terribly inspiring from outside, inside is great; clean and spacious. Our room (5th floor) was modern and probably recently decorated as it looked immaculate. Bathroom fittings were very modern and all sparkled.
The bed was exceptionally bouncy, but after we got over the shock of any movement setting up a wave effect we slept really well. Sound insulation is great (hotel is very close to a fire station and we didn't hear a thing), air conditioning / heating efficient and the windows opened.
Breakfast was ok, no veggie sausages just meat and no decaff tea bags (no worries there as I had brought my own). Breakfasts are better at Premier Inn I think.
All in all - a great weekend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_General_Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Martin A
Thank you for your very positive feedback and I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will make note of your comments on veggie sausages and de-cafe tea and see what we can do. Our breakfast is free to all our guests, unlike some of our competitors who charge.
Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed here as close to a course we were on. Excellent quality rooms. Small but functional bathroom with good shower. Comfy bed with choice of pillows - firm, soft. Air con was a bit noisy but effective. Excellent value for money in central London at only £68 per double room per night including breakfast.
Local area vibrant, young people and lots of bars with few restaurants. Eventually found a very nice restaurant. Would advise booking ahead as every where was very busy even just after Christmas.
Breakfast was pretty good, usual fare but no bacon, only sausage. Coffee tasted a bit weird - from machine.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_General_Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear sazoscar
Thank you for your great review - I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have had work done on our AC system so can you please email us with more information about this and we can look info it for you at gsmcity@holidayinnlondon.com
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed for one night, after helping a friend celebrate his birthday nearby, and were very pleasantly surprised.

The building is faceless and charmless from the outside but the reception was welcoming. Our room was 120, on the first floor but up a very short flight of stairs, down a Euro hostel styled corridor. The room itself was good - no room to swing even a modestly sized cat but spotlessly clean. The bed was a bit soft but comfortable and the shower room was excellent. An LCD TV and a kettle rounded off the room's contents. 'Tea' bags are provided but they're Tetley and after half an hour of prodding and swishing we were still only able to get some vaguely brown water for our efforts so I'd say bring your own. There was surprisingly little road noise, thanks to some seriously good double glazing and the curtains pretty much blacked out the room so a good night's sleep was had.

Breakfast was a mixed bag. Do not eat the scrambled eggs. The sausages were standard industrial items, the coffee was the worst I've had in a hotel and they constantly ran out of bread for toast. Pastries were nice but they are put in a heated dish and the ones at the bottom of the pile are made of rocks by the time they're uncovered so loiter for the fresh ones. Little boxes of cereal, yoghurts and fresh fruit were all good

At £99 for the night with breakfast included, right on the edge of the 'Ditch and minutes from Old Street tube, there was little to not recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_General_Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Eugenie K,
Thanks for the feedback on your recent stay. I'm pleased you liked the hotel. Thank you also for the good feedback on breakfast - we will take note of this.
Glad you liked the area and i hope to see you back at the hotel soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Well located in Shoreditch just a few minutes walk from Old Street Tube (remember EXIT 2) in a impressively vibrant area. Great bars, clubs, cafes, restaurant all around (Rivington Bar & Grill has the best ever scotch eggs!).

Although this is probably classified as a budget hotel chain I found this one to have everything that I needed and none of the extras that I didn't. The bed was comfortable and the room very clean. We were given a room on the top floor facing away from the main street so it was very quiet. OK there wasn't a complete wardrobe (hanging space only), slippers and a full range of toiletries (universal shower gel/shampoo fixed to the wall) but there was kettle, hair drier by a mirror, wifi and power sockets by the bed.

Breakfast is included but beware - it's free for a reason. It is basic and if you're a full English or pastry connoisseur I recommend that you go to one of the many cafes/restaurants nearby. However it's does the job if required.

On the whole very impressed - just avoid the croissants/mini Danish at breakfast!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_General_Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear KarenJSC
Thanks for your review on the hotel. I'm pleased you liked the hotel and the area. Guests do say our pastries and croissants are lovely, but I do take your comments on board and we will investigate this.
Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights recently on a business trip. You really can't fault the location, it's only a 3 or 4 minute walk from Old Street tube station, which was perfect for me.

When I arrived at the hotel, I did have to ask to change rooms as I was initially allocated a room which had an interconnecting door. Seeing as I was travelling alone, I wasn't comfortable with this but the very helpful receptionist changed my room for me; no questions asked, which was brilliant.

The new room was really clean and spacious, and the bathroom was lovely, very
modern. The bed was comfy and I had 3 great nights sleep! I didnt eat in the hotel, purely my choice, so I can't comment on the food.

Overall, this was a really good hotel, in a great location, and I would definitely recommend it. In fact, I've already booked again for another business trip next week!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_General_Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear HelenandDave_13
Thank you for such a great positive review - I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express London City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London City

Address: 275 Old Street, London EC1V 9LN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #534 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London City 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Express by Holiday Inn London City. Our hotel is ideally located on the doorstep of the City of London, with the financial districts of Broadgate & Bishopsgate just minutes away for our business guests. We have excellent transport links for the London Underground and Kings Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail terminus not to mention St Pancras International Station for the Eurostar. We sit on the gateway to Hoxton Square, Shoreditch & Brick Lane, whatever your reason for visiting London we are an ideal base for exploring this vibrant area of London. If culture & history mixed with London s coolest restaurants, bars & shopping is what you want then you have just discovered East is the new West! Fear not, for we are also ideally located for London s attractions such as Tower of London, Tower Bridge, Bank of England, Tate Modern, St Paul's Cathedral & South Bank to name but a few. We have just undergone a full refurbishment of our Lobby, Reception, Bar, Restaurant and Meeting Rooms to reflect the cool, contemporary urban location we reside in. We have 224 purpose built bedrooms, all of which are light and spacious with large desk space all rooms are en suite with refreshing power showers as well as a newly installed state of the art interactive television & in room movie system. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms & public areas are equipped with high speed wi-fi internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, LondonMarketing.com, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London City Hotel London
Holiday Inn London City
Holiday Inn Express London City England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express London City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.