We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a short stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express London City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express London City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express London City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   275 Old Street, London EC1V 9LN, England (East End / East London)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #549 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“OK for a short stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed here for nights while working in London. The check in and check out procedure was very swift and efficient and the staff are very pleasant and attentive and I received a very professional and personal service. The location itself is very good with plenty of local shops and restaurants in the local area and the tube is only a couple of minutes’ walk from the hotel. The room itself was clean and well maintained although there were no nice “extras” in the room but I think that the express brand does not cater for these additional extras. Breakfast itself was OK and fairly basic but there was a fair choice of food available unfortunately the beans were always cold! But having seen the other reviews for the hotel the experience was not as bad I was expecting – but it is basic and the quality of the product is also basic.
Due to work I had to leave my luggage at the hotel and this was catered for at check out and I was able to pick up the luggage later that day rather than having to carry it around all day which was a big bonus.
Would I stay here again? Yes as the location was very good for me and I was fully prepared for the standard and facilities of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_General_Manager, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Robert B,

Thank you very much for the comments about your recent stay with us. I am glad that you had a good stay. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you soon.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    301
    177
    58
    50
See reviews for
195
105
63
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

The hotel is in a great location especially for the trendy croud (nearby Hoxton square and Shoreditch) and also great for business trips.The staff was very polite and helpful.However you pay an enormous amount of money for a tiny room with a noisy A/C and a very (very) poor breakfast.Furthermore the bathroom equipment was cheap and the soap dispsenser broken.They should reduce their prices or upgrade their services!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Angelos77,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service and the location of the hotel. I would also like to apologize for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you. Rest assured that the issues you have raised about the AC unit in the room has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Location is good, being a five minute walk from Old Street tube and a ten minute walk from Shoreditch High Street overground station.

The room itself was a decent size with a large window which overlooked the street. It was relatively clean, the bed was comfortable and there was a useful desk. According to the signs, free wi-fi was available everywhere in the hotel, but we didn’t need to use it. However, the disposable plastic cups in the bathroom and the (empty) wall-mounted soap dispensers did send out a bit of a ‘cheap and nasty hotel’ vibe.

The bathroom was freezing cold. Noticing there was no radiator, we searched for a switch for underfloor heating but resigned ourselves to the fact that there was none. If you stay here, make sure you take some slippers!

The hotel is in an area which is very noisy due to the nightlife until late into the night; and traffic noise begins at around 5:30am. The large window did little to keep the noise out, and soundproofing between the rooms was also not great. If you're a light sleeper, you are unlikely to get much sleep here.

Breakfast was terrible. You are given a plastic tray when you enter and you then crowd around a very small (for the size of the restaurant) self-service food bar with no queuing system. The hot food selection was particularly poor, being limited to baked beans, runny scrambled eggs and overdone sausages. The toast machine did little other than turn the bread lukewarm. Cutlery was stored both haphazardly in metal pots and strewn on a bench. The whole breakfast experience felt like eating in a cross between a bad student refectory and a prison.

All in all, this is a rather typical London chain hotel: well located, but overpriced. However, if you absolutely need to be in central London and you have a budget of around £150 per night, then you could do worse.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear apb_1982,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the accommodations you received and the noise from outside the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. It is located few minutes walking distance from Old Street subway station. I stayed there over weekend, l did followed an advice from a traveler and asked for a back room upon check in. The room was perfect, always clean, acceptable size. You get two choices of pillows as well. AC was working ok, some times when it would start would make some noise but nothing that can be ignored. The noise would stop within seconds.
Reception staff was cooperative. Breakfast was ok, nothing too fancy about it.
I would definitely come back there in the future and l recommend this hotel to all the travelers that would like a nice clean hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side of the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_General_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hi Julie D,

Thank you for your comments.

Glad you had a good weekend stay with us.

Please visit us again in the near future, and do recommend other to stay here.

We as a hotel aim to make all our guest leave with a great experience.




With Kind Regards,

Tracy-Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meon, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My wife & I who are a very normal middle aged couple were
>refused entry to this hotel, by the duty manager as we didnt have
>photo ID. We did have several other types of ID, but the Manager
>wasnt interested. It was a terrible experience and we will never
>attempt to stay in one of HIE hotels again. The staff need better training in customer care

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear chris s,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about this visit. Our goal is to provide consistent service and experience but it is unfortunate that we were not able to do so on this occasion due to the quality of service received from our staff. This is definitely not up to standards and we will use your feedback to improve on our efforts.

Again, thank you for your review and our apologies for the shortcomings experienced.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I regularly stay here on business 16 nights over last 5 months. Hotel is clean and rooms are fair size (double Bed with bed settee - similar to Novotel rooms). Staff are friendly enough and the breakfast is ok but never changes (always sausages and scrambled egg, with cheap pastries and cereal etc). Not far from tube station and close to several bars and restaurants, worth a wander around dome of the back streets for non chain bars and restaurants. I stay regularly in London and this hotel compares well against other chain hotels in London on both price and location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_General_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Mr Ian S,

Thank you for regularly staying with us. We are happy that overall you like our hotel.

In regards to our breakfast, this has to do with our brand standard with all Holiday Inn Express, unfortunately this is what we can offer to our guests.

We hope to see you again soon.



With Kind Regards,

Tracy-Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights on business. The location was ideal for my work commitments and really convenient for getting around London as it is a stone's throw from Old Street tube station.

The room was clean, modern and comfortable.

All residents receive free WiFi access - unfortunately this was so slow it was completely unusable even for basic browsing during my stay. The fact that access to this network is completely unrestricted (i.e. no need to enter surname/room number like most hotels) is probably a contributing factor. Not great if you're travelling on business and need to use the Internet.

I did talk to reception/management about the WiFI issue, but they didn't seem to care (being an IHG Platinum member didn't help either). Customer service was particularly poor.

Breakfast was chaos due to the sheer number of guests and staff bustling around a small buffet, but the selection and quality was fine. Nobody there to check that you are a hotel resident any morning of my stay, so anyone could walk in off the street for a free breakfast!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear MikeB12345,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. As an IHG Rewards Platinum Elite member we greatly appreciate your loyalty to our brand and hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your room and the majority of features provided. Most importantly, I would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced. Rest assured that the issues you have raised about the internet connection has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express London City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London City

Address: 275 Old Street, London EC1V 9LN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #549 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London City 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Express by Holiday Inn London City. Our hotel is ideally located on the doorstep of the City of London, with the financial districts of Broadgate & Bishopsgate just minutes away for our business guests. We have excellent transport links for the London Underground and Kings Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail terminus not to mention St Pancras International Station for the Eurostar. We sit on the gateway to Hoxton Square, Shoreditch & Brick Lane, whatever your reason for visiting London we are an ideal base for exploring this vibrant area of London. If culture & history mixed with London s coolest restaurants, bars & shopping is what you want then you have just discovered East is the new West! Fear not, for we are also ideally located for London s attractions such as Tower of London, Tower Bridge, Bank of England, Tate Modern, St Paul's Cathedral & South Bank to name but a few. We have just undergone a full refurbishment of our Lobby, Reception, Bar, Restaurant and Meeting Rooms to reflect the cool, contemporary urban location we reside in. We have 224 purpose built bedrooms, all of which are light and spacious with large desk space all rooms are en suite with refreshing power showers as well as a newly installed state of the art interactive television & in room movie system. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms & public areas are equipped with high speed wi-fi internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, LondonMarketing.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London City Hotel London
Holiday Inn London City
Holiday Inn Express London City England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express London City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.