We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Eat the Breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express London City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express London City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express London City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   275 Old Street, London EC1V 9LN, England (East End / East London)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #558 of 1,066 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Don't Eat the Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Adequate hotel, conveniently situated. Staff were helpful at check-in, useless in the morning. The breakfast was shocking. Room was comfortable and shower okay, but I paid £100 for one night and nothing was supplied for shower; no room service; no concierge. Aircon did not work. Over-priced. Poor hotel - don't bother.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_General_Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Neil M,
Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us here at the hotel. I'm sorry you found the breakfast service poor. We had now introduced a welcome host to help guests at busy periods and explain how the complimentary breakfast works. Being a Holiday Inn Express, we are a limited service hotel and don't have some of the facilities you would expect from a Holiday Inn, Room Service and Concierge are two examples of this. We did have some issues with our AC system for a few days but I am pleased to report this is now back in full working order.
Thank you again for your review and comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    301
    178
    59
    50
See reviews for
196
105
63
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haddenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend and as the hotel sits near a busy intersection I thought the noise would be awful. However, we had a room at the front of the hotel and it was extremely quiet. The bathroom was good with a nice big shower cubicle and good water pressure. Room was clean and well thought out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_General_Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear MarianneDenHaag,
Thank you for your review on my hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that the secondary glazing we installed at the front of the hotel works and you had a nice quiet nights sleep.
Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed 1night on business ... Room on second floor, good location close to tube station and 15minute walk from Liverpool St station. Room immaculate , as if brand new ! Spotless and very comfy.. Bathroom ..shower only but very good room. Breakfast a good choice of cereals, breads etc and hot food of egg,sausage ,beans etc. Allinall , a great short stop over hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_General_Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Dewi P,
Thank you for your great and positive review on our hotel. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Just celebrated my son's 30th Birthday in London and after a fairly full on evening in Shoreditch with family and his ex uni friends was grateful for the short safe walk back to the Holiday Inn Express. Cannot fault the hotel other than as with all hotels I prefer fresh air to air conditioning and being on the fifth floor meant that we were not allowed to open the window. A little bizarre a three inch tilt would have sufficed. Room immaculate, bathroom/shower excellent, staff as friendly and helpful as I have experienced anywhere in London, always had a smile on their faces. But the highlight which is rare these days was the self service breakfast, as much as you could consume and a good standard. Check out was 11.00am but as we were not catching a train until later that afternoon they let us leave all our luggage in a secure room until we were ready to collect. Ideal for a one/two night stay. Within easy walking distance of Old Street tube station, just head for North East exit from the tube and it is a 2 minute walk.

Room Tip: Suggest you ask for a room at the back of the hotel with a window that can be opened if you do not l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_General_Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Shropshirestile,
Thank you for your great review on our hotel. I am really pleased to read you enjoyed our free breakfast offering and liked the self service style we have.
As with many central London hotels are windows do not open which is why they are locked and we have installed air conditioning into all rooms to make the room temperature comfortable for all.
Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonbridge
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here last year when we had functions in London on consecutive nights. Altohugh the hotel was busy (this was the halfway through the Paralympics) check-in was quick and easy. The room was big and spacious (not sure why we had two beds but I'm not complaining) and very clean. Breakfast was included in the price, and although the breakfast room was busy all the food, crockery and cutlery was continually being topped up. The tube station was only a short walk away, on the Northern Line, so nicely accessable from Central London. I would be more than happy if I never used any other budget hotel in London.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_General_Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear chris a,
Thank you for your great review on our hotel. It is always nice to read when guests have enjoyed their stay with us.
Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
296 helpful votes 296 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

When in London, I tend to favour Accor budget hotels but on this occasion, their prices were unattractive and I wanted to boost my points with the Holiday Inn loyalty scheme - I often use this chain when in North America. The London Holiday Inn Express hotels tend to be more expensive than their US counterparts for poorer service levels. That was pretty much the story here. As a solo business traveller, I found the rooms to be a good size, quiet and with beds that are distinctly more comfortable than those offered by IBIS. I had a really good night's sleep. The bathroom was compact but clean although the paint on the ceiling above the shower was peeling away. The front desk were helpful and the hotel felt secure in what is still a rather marginal neighbourhood, although it is gentrifying fast. My main grouse was the breakfast, which came nowhere near the standard offered by IBIS - which probably reflects the French ownership of the chain - or, frankly, US Holiday Inn Express hotels that I have stayed in. The dining area was cramped and the food poorly presented and of inferior quality, particularly the fruit juices and the sausages. The tables were not being wiped down with any attention between users and the whole experience was rather unappetising. I was glad to leave. Still, it's a close call because I did sleep better than I have been doing at IBIS hotels and the room was larger and better furnished. Do I value bed rather than breakfast?

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the front of the hotel - Old Street is busy and noisy all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_General_Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear The_Sherriff,
Thank you for your recent review on my hotel. I was pleased to read you had a comfortable nights sleep here, and preferred this hotel to our competitors on comfort. Price wise, we are fortunate to be located very close to the City but with this there does come a price tag - but I do think you will find us competitively priced against our fellow hoteliers in the area.
I'm sorry you didnt enjoy our free breakfast and I will make sure your comments are taken on board with relation to service and the presentation of our free breakfast.
Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganville, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

For the price this hotel was good. The room, while small, fit our needs, would have liked a luggage rack or something similar as we had be creative in storing things. Good free breakfast, but no free wifi and the business center was essentially non-existent. The location is actually better than I had anticipated, a short walk from the tube and a quick ride to all attractions, so no need to stay in expensive areas.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City_General_Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear NK42_23
Thank youf or your recent review on my hotel. I'm really pleased to read you enjoyed the free breakfast and I am also pleased to announce that we now offer free WIFI to our Priority Club Guests.
I look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to London and look forward to giving you the free internet!
Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express London City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London City

Address: 275 Old Street, London EC1V 9LN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #558 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London City 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Express by Holiday Inn London City. Our hotel is ideally located on the doorstep of the City of London, with the financial districts of Broadgate & Bishopsgate just minutes away for our business guests. We have excellent transport links for the London Underground and Kings Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail terminus not to mention St Pancras International Station for the Eurostar. We sit on the gateway to Hoxton Square, Shoreditch & Brick Lane, whatever your reason for visiting London we are an ideal base for exploring this vibrant area of London. If culture & history mixed with London s coolest restaurants, bars & shopping is what you want then you have just discovered East is the new West! Fear not, for we are also ideally located for London s attractions such as Tower of London, Tower Bridge, Bank of England, Tate Modern, St Paul's Cathedral & South Bank to name but a few. We have just undergone a full refurbishment of our Lobby, Reception, Bar, Restaurant and Meeting Rooms to reflect the cool, contemporary urban location we reside in. We have 224 purpose built bedrooms, all of which are light and spacious with large desk space all rooms are en suite with refreshing power showers as well as a newly installed state of the art interactive television & in room movie system. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms & public areas are equipped with high speed wi-fi internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London City Hotel London
Holiday Inn London City
Holiday Inn Express London City England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express London City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.