We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap but poor” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Curzon House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Curzon House Hotel to your Saves list
Curzon House Hotel
58 Courtfield Gardens, London SW5 0NF, England (South Kensington)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #300 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“cheap but poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

inside the building is very old, there are a lots of crooked stairs, no soap in the toilets, noisy wooden floor, very poor breakfast (no biscuits, no yogurt, no fruits). it looks more a hostel than a hotel. for young people or students is fine, NOT for families.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    26
    24
    18
    33
See reviews for
15
25
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

More than pleasantly surprised by this place, given the reviews, but what do people expect for the price?! £55 for a twin room, it was clean and in a really nice location (to be honest when walking from Gloucester road tube station we thought we must have the wrong place!). No problems getting into the shared bathrooms, which were clean and the showers were great. Staff were very helpful, particularly when it came to storing our luggage and collecting in a rush on the way to the station. Breakfast room is very small for the number of guests but easy to make your own breakfasts and there was someone there to wash up. Would stay here again, easy walking distance to Hyde park, etc.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel was in a good quiet area, close to Gloucester Road tube station. The room was basic but the beds were comfortable and clean, there was a heater so the room was warm enough. The staff were friendly, and there is luggage storage available. Lots of stairs, so be warned, breakfast is tea, coffee, cereal and toast- that you have to make yourself. A good budget option if you are not expecting too much and just need somewhere to sleep in a good location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed at this "hotel" with my daughter,visiting London for the weekend .This place is so dated that I was transported back to a 1970 s bedsit .Although the place is clean ,the decor is grim.
I think it is fair to say that if this place was called a hostel,the trade descriptions act would not have been breached .
The twin room was tiny ,with mismatched furniture,and "rickety " beds.The breakfast area is also tiny,no way big enough for the amount of people staying .
I paid forty nine pounds for one night ,this is cheap for that area of London,I would have accepted basic in the Travelodge sense,but not in this hostel .Dont call it a hotel,this was not a hotel experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howick, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stay at this hotel/hostel regularly. It is not as grand as the photos imply but if your budget is low, it is good value. It is perfectly comfortable, and we have even stayed in the dungeon room next to the dining room, and survived to tell the tale. The closest tube is Gloucester Rd, which is on the Picadilly line so handy from Heathrow. Breakfast is basic, but there is a fridge to keep your preferences overnight. Sainsbury's is close by, as is Waitrose and an all-night Tesco's. Very conveniently, your luggage can be stored. The staff are friendly and approachable. I plan to stay there again.

Room Tip: The top floor is a long way up! No lift. State your preferences clearly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Booked three months in advance for a serviced apartment with a small kitchenette area (refrigerator, cooker, sink and microwave).
When I got there, we were put in what could only be described as a uni student dorm! In fact, scrub that, students wouldnt even put up with the accommodation on offer!
There were 4 single beds, mattresses that would make your skin crawl at the thought of sleeping on, one tiny portable radiator to heat the whole room, one bed next to an open chimney and drafty as anything, another bed blocked the door to the cupboard which contained the loo ... endless issues.
Not a kitchenette in sight... not even a kettle!
No TV in the room either
Stairs were deadly - different depth heights and covered in carpet which didnt appear to be fitted properly.
There were signs in the reception area warning about noise and noise complaints about the hotel too.
We turned tail and left immediately demanding a refund - which luckily we got

Room Tip: Why bother? We booked a specific type of room and got completely different!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The trip advisor reviews for this place are unfair - its a clean midrnge hostel with nice staff and a good kitchen dining room area. Free wifi, decent breakfast (cereal and toast) and nicer people than you find in the budget places. Good value place on a Friday / Saturday night @ £20 per night

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are better I think
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Curzon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curzon House Hotel

Address: 58 Courtfield Gardens, London SW5 0NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #300 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Curzon House HotelA typical english hotel, in the heart of central London.5 mn walk to Gloucester Road or Earl's Court Underground Station.Situated in the middle of a quiet area, in front of a gothic church and park.Recently refurbished, all facilities and amenities including We are all new here and we try to raise the place up!We will be happy to welcome you to our Hotel!For a short or long stay, we offer a continental breakfast every morning, free Wi-Fi access in to the kitchen and the TV Room! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Curzon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curzon House Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curzon House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.