We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyde Park

Hyde Park
Rangers Lodge, London W2 2UH, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )
+44 20 7298 2100
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$130*
and up
Ultimate Sunday in London: River Thames Bike...
Ranked #51 of 853 Attractions in London
Type: Gardens, Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once the hunting ground for Henry VIII, this large royal park is best known for its famous Speakers' Corner, where people speak their minds; Rotton Row, a famous horse-riding area; and Serpentine Lake, home to waterfowl and oarsmen.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a beautiful, historic park in the centre of London and the most romantic place for a picnic. There are a couple of places to go inside for coffee if its cold and at one end you can visit the Diana Memorial fountain

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,072 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,856
    923
    172
    54
    67
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Far to overrated but a Christmas warmer (or cooler)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Visiting London at Xmas, I had been told Hyde parks winter wonderland was a must visit. In the past I have visited Hyde park in the summer. However, upon arriving there was terrible rain which literally put a 'damper' on the day.
Just your average overpriced german market and fairground rides, nothing significantly wintry or significant o London just an average fairground. However is not bad for free entry with a great diverse atmosphere of families, friend, co-workers and couples. Great for time with loved ones in the holidays.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Winter Wonderland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Food for a family of four was very expensive at this venue, so we left to eat dinner. The venue was lovely and lots going on but expensive if you wanted to do things rather than look. We did four things which cost over £100 and lunch for four of pie and drink £26. All fairground rides payable and some of them £6 per person, could easily spend a fortune on a full day out here.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful park!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a beautiful park to walk through and or ride through on a Barclays bike! It's a huge park, great for picnics and events!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Winter Wonderland - Not that Wonderful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I found this when researching our New Year's Eve weekend in London and thought it would be fun. The thought of going through a German-style Christmas market sounded exciting (we love the markets in Munich), and I wanted to go through the Magical Ice Kingdom. I booked the Ice Kingdom tickets in advance so that we wouldn't have to worry about getting tickets upon arrival. I received our e-tickets fairly soon after payment. You do not have to pay to get into the "wonderland". If the grounds are too crowded, they limit people going in, but if you have tickets for a timed event you can get into a different line so that you don't miss your ticket time.

We arrived around 4pm on Sunday and it was packed! It was difficult to get through the grounds because people would stop wherever they were to watch some of the rides. We arrived at the Ice Kingdom and told to queue up. We went in before the time on our tickets and it wasn't too bad of a line once inside. Folks were stopping to take pictures and if you were ready to continue you could just pass them. There was an ice slide and there were only a few people in front of us to go down. We enjoyed the Ice Kingdom.

The rest of the "wonderland" wasn't that appealing to us. It was mostly carnival rides and midway games. The Christmas market sold mostly mass produced items, and not handicrafts like we've seen in traditional German Christmas markets. There were quite a few food stalls, mostly on the pricey side. We split one sausage, and opted to have dinner once we got back to our hotel. There was also a German beer hall. We didn't go on any of the rides as we weren't really interested, and as others have stated, the prices were high.

It was interesting to see, but if we're in London again over Christmas/New Year's we will skip going again

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hyde Park also viewed

 

Been to Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.