We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room Burglarized: Not Recommended” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Colonnade London

Save Saved
You added The Colonnade London to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Colonnade London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Warrington Crescent, London W9 1ER, England (Paddington / Maida Vale)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #370 of 1,075 hotels in London
Toronto, Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Room Burglarized: Not Recommended”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I booked The Colonnade through laterooms. Location was pretty good -- when you come out of the front door of the hotel, you can see Warwick Station on the Bakerloo line across the way, so it is convenient to the tube. Picadilly is a bit of a hike, about 15 to 20 minutes, and across some busy streets. The hotel itself is a bit tired and in need of refurbishment, and the staff fairly indifferent. This, however, is inconsequential to what happened during our stay: our room was burglarized and we experienced significant loss of possessions (laptop, electronics). The room was not forced open and someone used a keycard to gain access. The police were called and a report filed, and the constable that attended mentioned that he had been to a similar incident at The Colonnade about 3 months prior. He also indicated that there had been other robberies at this property in the past. The response from management has been fairly tight-lipped and unhelpful although was still quite cheerful to collect our credit card for our two night's stay. Our loss was around $4000Cdn, and the data (photos, files) is of course irreplaceable and I just feel sick about it. When I inquired with the manager as to who had been in our room during the day (they can read the cards that have been swiped), he would not tell me, and also told me that these swipe cards are easily replicable and that non-employees can make cards to break into rooms. Since our room did not have a deadbolt on the door, this was very unsettling. I have stayed all over the world on business with my laptop and have never experienced a robbery such as this. I would absolutely not recommend staying at this hotel based on the robbery, the fact that the robbery was evidently an "inside job" and based on the very poor non-response from management.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonnade, General Manager at The Colonnade London, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Moeqt,
Thank you for sharing your feedback via Tripadvisor.
I am dissapointed to have received your claim of your room alledgedly being burglered and I fully empathise with your situation.

It is important to repeat that I am fully commited to providing any help and assistance to investigating authorities on this matter. I am confident that I have given you the best support and advice from the moment you brought this to my attention. This is not something we are used to dealing with at our hotel. We have countless numbers of guests who stay with us as a one-off visit to the area and those who and come back time and again, who leave our hotel on a very happy note indeed.

Once again, I can assure you that my team and I are committed to providing full support to ongoing investigation.

With kind regards,

Mario Ovsenjak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    148
    54
    31
    18
See reviews for
34
183
34
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had two rooms here, a standard and a deluxe on the first floor.

I used to live close by and remember the Colonnade being converted in 1999 – internally it feels like that was the last time it had any attention.

You can see where they’ve been patching up with the filler and numerous paint drips on the furniture and carpet, but you can’t get around the fact there is no grout in the floor tiles, mould on the window sills, bath chrome taps are worn away from abrasive cleaning, the carpet smells etc, etc. The rooms just scream ‘refurb overdue by five years’.

Sure the outside has just been painted, but Little Venice leases demand that every six or so years, it’s a pity they did not do the inside at the same. If that’s planned all well and good, but they still took my money in condition it is currently in.

The general feeling of the communal parts were of a ‘station hotel’ with people coming in with take away meals etc, and staff were virtually unnoticeable. Breakfast were discounted as they seem to be having trouble selling them, and with Baker & Spice nearby I can see why. Wifi is also a charge for service unless you put up with ‘modem’ restricted speeds – come on its 2012, the local coffee shop gives it away as a loss leader!

The hotel website was appalling, presumably built around the same time, and I suppose that should have alerted me. This is certainly no Chic, Unique, Boutique hotel (as they claim) and I will not be coming back.

There are better options in central London at this price and I would urge you to seek them out. Pity, a refurb by a professional management team turning it into an all-suite hotel would make a killing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonnade, General Manager at The Colonnade London, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear L H,
Thank youfor your review via TripAdvisor.
I am very dissapointed to learn that your visit was not perfect. I have asked my colleagues working in engineering to check on all the windows and if we identify any malfunction - this will be rectified asap. It is true that the stairs from the third to the fourth floor are narrower then those in the rest of the building. This is purely down to the design style typical for the age of the building. Our lift serves three floors and we offer luggage assistance on arrival and departure to all our guests. Yes, our guest lounge is very popular with business and leisure guests having casual meetings or just catching up over a hot drink. Many also find it relaxing to just sit bythe fire place and listen to classical music whilst watching the world go by. I guess it is the comfort and tranquility that is of high value to many?
I will certainly speak to the head housekeeper about other points that you raised. All our laundry is cleaned and individually inspected in-house so I am very surprised that the standards in your room were not 100%, and I apologise for that.
Thank you again for your feedback, I would definitely welcome an opportunity to show our hotel in its true light to you, so if you have any future plans to travel into this area - please contact me directly and I would be happy to assist.


With kind regards
Mario Ovsenjak, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UKWanderer66
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were going to a black-tie dinner at the Hilton Metropole but wanted to avoid a big, commercial hotel and big, commercial prices. We found this lovely boutique hotel through Late Rooms and weren't disappointed. The hotel was gorgeous and unpretentious, the staff unfailingly polite and the service spot on. We even had a delivery of a free bottle of bottled water to the room without requesting it.
We were given a discount on the breakfast, which was individually and freshly cooked, and the breakfast room was lovely, with a glass ceiling allowing us to look up into the clear blue sky.
Having booked out we then had a lovely walk around Little Venice - the finale to a wonderful, relaxing stay at the Colonnade.

Room Tip: We had the Club Double - just right!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed at The Colonnade over the weekend for our special occasion. We chose this hotel for its location-near Paddington Little Venice, Warwick Avenue Station and its surroundings- little coffe shops and restaurants. The hotel staff was ever so attentive and friendly. The room was ready for us at 11am-five star service! The room itself was something I would imagine in a grand hotel would offer-spacious new decor at the same time we felt like at home, it was cozy and warm.
In the morning we were greeted at a lovely breakfast room by the staff that remained curtious throughout and were offered a choice of cold and hot selection of foods. Once again we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!
All in all our stay exceeded our expectations by a mile and we will most definitely return to stay at The Colonnade!
Thank you to all the staff that made our stay so special!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Hotel is a real gem.this was the second year that we were fortunate to stay here. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast chef was msot accomodating. Rooms were modern with all of the facilities and we slept like angels on the comfortable duvet.The location is outstanding close to a tube station and a short walk to the canals and Paddington.We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights, very good location, mix of business and pleasure. Have stayed before and would recommend. My wife had to wait for a breakfast table one morning but not too long. The room was clean and spacious for London. We will stay again. Great pub next door, and would recommend the 'Red pepper' restaurant round the corner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonnade, General Manager at The Colonnade London, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear John F,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. I am glad that you've enjoyed your time here and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

On behalf of all of us here at The Colonnade, have a wonderful festive season, and best wishes for 2013.

With kind regards,

Mario Ovsenjak, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

One of the best hotels in London, ideally located opposite Maida Vale Tube station (Barkerloo Line) and just a short walk to Paddington. Very quite, leafy, and posh neighbourhood. Very traditional type of hotel, very British and lovely large rooms with high ceilings. Best hotel and good value to stay in the Paddington area; and have even already seen some TV celebrities there too.
Very good breakfast!

Room Tip: Choose the Club or superior rooms to get the full four poster bed experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonnade, General Manager at The Colonnade London, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Mitch B,
Thank you very much indeed for staying with us, and for your review via TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We are very proud of our product, service, and general area that we are in - close to Paddington and 12 min tube ride to Oxford Circus. You are certainly right to note that Little Venice, together with Maida Vale and StJohn's Wood are quite exquisite and delightful. I am told that a boat-ride via Regent's Canal or towards Camden Lock is lovely way to enjoy the area. I am keen to try this myself.
Indeed, we are popular with the media and production companies, both British and from over-seas (with confidentiality in mind - there is recording of an interview going on in our lounge as I write this!). Excitment of bright lights, cameras and microphones...

Thank you very much indeed for the time taken to write about The Colonnade. Should you have future needs for accommodation in this area, please contact me directly - I will be delighted to help.

On behalf of all of us here at The Colonnade, have a wonderful festive season and best wishes for 2013.

Mario Ovsenjak, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Colonnade London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonnade London

Address: 2 Warrington Crescent, London W9 1ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#238 Luxury Hotel in London
#309 Family Hotel in London
#322 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Colonnade London 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the sweetest smelling flowers in the lobby to the temptingly plumped sofas in the lounge, it's the attention to detail that makes The Colonnade London distinctively different. For each of our guests, there's something that especially appeals. The prospect of stretching out in a bath of bubbles at the end of the day. For business facilities - wifi, dual phone lines. But one thing is for sure: at The Colonnade London we've got the mix just right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, LondonMarketing.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Colonnade London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonnade London Hotel London
The Colonnade Hotel London
The Colonnade London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colonnade London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.