We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brightly sparkling jewel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 41

Save Saved
You added Hotel 41 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 41
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0PS, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast Inclusive
Ranked #1 of 1,073 hotels in London
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A brightly sparkling jewel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Hotel 41 will always be our hotel whenever we visit London.The rooms are large & beautifully appointed ~ just 2 blocks from Victoria Station tube. I am hard pressed to think of any hotel with as over- the -top phenomenal service as this jewel. The staff was amazingly welcoming, helpful, & charming...allowing us to feel at home each & every day by remembering our names, inquiring about our day, asking about our needs, providing wonderful complimentary snacks every afternoon & evening. The staff just couldn't do enough for you...they truly had your interest at heart. The breakfast was great and the setting of the lovely lounge where it was served made you want to stay all day. We would refer to returning to 41 at the end of a busy day as "going home".

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,514 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,345
    116
    39
    11
    3
See reviews for
171
902
82
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The 41 is a top notch hotel. I've been fortunate to stay in some wonderful hotels including several Ritz-Carltons, the Ritz Paris and a Sangri-La. This hotel does not dissapoint in any way. And, though not cheap, was less expensive than the competition.

The room was large for London and beautifully decorated. The staff was overwhelmingly helpful, courteous and friendly. They made us feel important and appreciated.

The breakfast was great. I didn't have any of the complimentary food in the evening, but my wife did and enjoyed it. Complimentary bottled water day or night was nice, too.

The location is great. (How could it not be across the street from Buckingham Palace) It was less than a 5 minute walk to trains or underground at Victoria Station.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The 41 far surpasses any expectations I had for a stay in London. Based on the reviews, I expected to have a great stay, but it was still better than I could have imagined. the staff was so very accommodating, they offered us complimentary beverages upon arrival at the front desk, then another offer of complimentary Champaign upon check in. After they personally escorted us to our room, we walked in to find a personal greeting card and handmade candies on the table inside the room. Also on the table was a beautiful white orchid plant (what a nice touch!) The room had a fire place as well, and when we called the front desk to have it turned on the staff was to our room and had it turned on within five minutes of calling. The 'Executive Lounge' is quite nice as well. Complete with a mini bar and snack bar offering neatly wrapped goodies and even Hagen Daaz ice cream cups, lovely! The entire place is also very well decorated, it had a dark woods, black/white theme which is very elegant while also being warm and comfortable. Overall a wonderful experience! Will be staying here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My mother and I stayed at the Hotel 41 on our recent trip to London. The hotel was beautiful, had a fantastic location near Buckingham Palace, and the room was unbelievable. Having never been to London before, the staff graciously directed us to amazing attractions and restaurants. The staff and service they provided definitely made our trip, they were the best ever!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is an extraordinary property and well executed in all aspects, but by far the chief appeal is the tremendous staff associated with the hotel. Without exception, this special oasis is populated with A+ team members clearly handpicked with an eye for authentic personal passion for the hospitality trade.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed for a night with my wife as it was near the show we were going to. Taxi driver had no idea where it was which is part of the dark mystery of the hotel according to the concierge. It's stuck between Reuben's 43 and a bar. Entered the building and spent 10 mins waiting with an overly enthusiastic welcome committee, the hotel only has 28 rooms all on the 5th floor, we were escorted to floor 5 with staff falling over themselves to greet us.

Don't get me wrong, the decor is good and if small is what you like then this is the place for you, as there are only 28 rooms, you seem to always have way too many staff asking if all is well and bothering you, on more than one occasion I was in deep conversation with my wife when a body or two just appeared next to us! Standing there awaiting an invite to join a conversation which they weren't included in. Really really really annoying, time after time.

Ordered a club sandwich on return from theatre and on reviewing the bill on check out discovered it was £32, for a damn sandwich with chicken, bacon, loads of lettuce and a bit of tomato.

They advise the free things (Haagen Dazs) and you'd think that tea and coffee would be part of this, you'd be wrong, there are a few things included in the price but the things you normally would have cost an arm and a leg, £13 for a tea and coffee, you don't realise that until checkout as the first one is on the house!!!

Sheet under the duvet and the duvet cover itself have been left in starch since the Crimean war, the tv failed to work properly and the shower is designed for hobbits.

I was lying on the bed with my wife chatting when the door opened and the head of housekeeping just came into the room, couldn't believe what I was seeing, rather than just leaving with the humblest of apologies he thought it prudent to introduce himself and repeat over and over again why he was there, he almost left through the window.

Would we return..NO!

Room Tip: Try somewhere lse
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at Hotel 41, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of 41 on Tripadvisor.

I am very sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your night with us and that you found the style of 41 and the experience we provide not to be to your liking. The personalised service and boutique, intimate feel of 41 is quite different to that of most typical hotels but is in fact what most of our regular guests love about our hotel, and this has won us many fans and regular guests over the years that 41 has opened its doors as a hotel.

Thank you for your feedback on our beverage prices. We do regularly conduct surveys with regards to our pricing structure and are very competitive in comparison to our competitors and the London marketplace. However, I am sorry that you did find this to be expensive.

Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused, particularly for the intrusion by my Housekeeper, and be assured that I have taken on board your comments and preferences and have reviewed each point with my team, looking to find any experience improvements wherever possible.

I am sorry that the style of hotel that 41 is was not to your taste and that you did not find your experience at 41 as enjoyable as others on this site did.

Yours sincerely,

Malcolm Hendry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

My Husband & I stayed here for one night whilst in London. Our room was lovely, well equipped, clean and quietly located. Wonderful service experienced during our stay.. Complimentary chocolates and champagne as it was our anniversary as well as going the extra mile with restaurant bookings and just a special kind of service which ft natural not forced as in other establishments. Location fantastic, breakfast divine... All in all wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 41? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 41

Address: 41 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in London
#1 Family Hotel in London
#1 Romantic Hotel in London
#5 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel 41 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotel with club like atmosphere & 21st century business technology; near Buckingham Palace & Westend theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Hotel 41 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
41 Hotel London
Hotel 41 London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 41, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.