We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely quirky place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rookery Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rookery Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rookery Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Peter's Lane | Cowcross Street, London EC1M 6DS, England (City of London)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 1,075 hotels in London
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“lovely quirky place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

stayed fri sat sun in a superior double. easy to get to, a 1 minute walk for farringdon tube. a beautifully restored old building, lovely rooms very friendly helpfull staff. although tube is nearby we found ourselves walking nearly everywhere, its that easy from this location, st pauls is 10 mins, the embankment 15. no dining room here but the fox and anchor pub just round the corner does excellent food in old world surroundings, we had breakfast there. there is a nightclub near the hotel, no noise from the club but at chucking out time they all pass the hotel to get to the tube and it can wake you up (it did me anyway). good points, great location, lovely rooms and staff, some great restaurants nearby. bad point, getting woken up fri and sat by clubbers shouting in the street. would stay again if it wasnt fri or sat as sunday was quiet as the grave.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    82
    18
    14
    4
See reviews for
22
146
35
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Me, my sister and our friend stayed here for 2 nights in February. The hotel is gorgeous- our room was lovely, definitely not lacking in character. The staff were all nice and the location was idea of us - lots of nice places nearby to eat. My only complaint was the heat in the room, I felt as if I was in Greece or something and that was with air conditioning, and it was not hot outside, so it made sleeping/hanging out in the hotel a bit uncomfortable. Apart from that though, it was a really nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We spent three nights here in the midst of a four day theater-museum blitz, and the Rookery was always a classy, quiet place to return to at night. Very English decor with lots of charm. The bathrooms are gorgeous -- brass fixtures, deep tubs and warm towels. The location is not especially central and requires a tube or taxi ride if you have spent the day in the city center or theater district, but the neighborhood is very interesting in its own right and merits exploration. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

It's a small hotel, tucked away in a alley away of another street. On the outside it doesn't look like a hotel at all, you might even miss it. The tube is very close by, so are restaurants, pubs and bars. St Paul Cathedral is around another corner and famous meat market Smithfields (around the third corner). Staff is very polite, the style/design of the hotel is very Victorian, but my Misses calls it "Sherlock Holmes". Room was great, a bit warm. Breakfast is served in your room. The lounge is great for sitting and reading a book. We would definitely go there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the George Peacock: great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hard to know how to rate this hotel. It is beautifully fitted out, but we were frustrated by the dim lighting which meant we couldn't read in bed, nor see the aircon controls to alter them. Although the website makes this clear, I was a bit irritated at not having a proper shower (the claw foot bath was lovely to look at). I hadn't realised that they only serve breakfast in your room and had rashly promised my husband he'd get a full English, only to find that wasn't on the menu. The granola was delicious but if you want a big plateful of eggs and bacon, go elsewhere. So in all, I'd rather sacrifice some of the style and antiques for more comfort and practicality, but others may feel very differently.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

great place just 5 min taxi from west end-- very high standard of accommodation with fantastic finishes. The honesty bar and lounge became our private space each night to enjoy fine whisky and some fizz

Room Tip: it can be a little noisy on the weekend however not really an issue...you do need to taxi about ..a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here a few days at the very end of our trip last June. Our favorite B&B in Knightsbridge closed a few years ago and we were hoping to find a new favorite at the Rookery, and we sure did. The staff was excellent, exceptionally friendly and down to earth. The hotel itself was well designed with old world charm. The hotel was also peaceful and quite despite Smithfield Market being just around the corner.

Room Tip: Most rooms do not have a shower - ask if this is a necessity. However the tubs and bathrooms are bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rookery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rookery Hotel

Address: 12 Peter's Lane | Cowcross Street, London EC1M 6DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Romantic Hotel in London
#88 Family Hotel in London
#124 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rookery Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rookery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rookery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.