We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rookery Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Rookery Hotel to your Saves list
Rookery Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Peter's Lane | Cowcross Street, London EC1M 6DS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Small Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This hotel is on cow cross street adjacent to farringdon tube station, i stayed there for 5 night in March 2012, It's a nice small and very well organized hotel. Hotel entrance look's like an apartment entrance, so i got confused but this is wat u get in business streets of London. There wont' be any big arrival lounge but room was fantastic.

Instead of room numbers, this hotel puts English names to each room. most of the rooms are small but decorated in royal style and i was having feeling of a king in my room. they serve breakfast in the rooms, which was very nice for me.

this hotel is very good for what you pay and you will not be disappointed incase you are not looking for other big facilities in the hotel, likes of swimming pool, clubs e.t.c...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    88
    19
    14
    4
See reviews for
25
160
37
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

A beautiful hotel with fantastic rooms. We live in London and was taken here as a surprise by my fiancé - he actually proposed to me in our room! The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We were upgraded to Sir Walter De Manny on arrival and it couldn't have been more romantic.
I would highly recommend The Rookery and plan on returning soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

A friend recommended this hotel to me when I was looking for somewhere for myself and my husband to stay on our wedding night after getting married in Islington. I knew when we went to view the place it was perfect. I spent two nights there and my Mum did too - we had one double room and one single. My mother and I ate room service the night before the wedding (yummy) and the hotel accomodated me having my bouquet delivered there the morning of. Myself and my husband delivered ourselves back there in the evening for a drink in the honesty bar before bed and th4en breakfast.

It is utterly unique and excellently located - I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a stay in London away from the usual giant hotel / West End options.

Plus the free standing baths are extraordinary!

Thank you Rookery!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Expierience:
Stayed on 28th Dec 2013, sadly just for one night. I had made a couple of extra requests which they accomodated for me, plus we were upgraded free! Really friendly staff, and the accomodation was superb. Like something out of a Sherlock Homes movie. We loved the attention to detail including a brief history of the site and information on the people the rooms were named after.
Accomodation:
Really well maintained, very clean, so unlike anything I've stayed in before. Free WiFi. Our suite had 2 TV's and a quality audio player, great for plugging in an IPhone for my own music. Beautiful bath, lots of shiny old fasioned brass, old style loo with chain (we thought that was fun).
Location:
Excellent for exploring the West end, (Covent Garden 4 stops) from the tube line at (300 Meters/yards away) and only 10 minute walk from City of London museum, with Historic Smithfield Market, and the City of London including St Paul's very close by too. The property is very understated from the outside, and was quiet outside the night we stayed with no main traffic through route to cause concern.
Breakfast:
with no eating area there is an option for Breakfast in the room/bed with a selection of bacon roll, fruit, yogurt, and granola, or pastries. We had the latter 2, pricy but very delicious.
Would definately recomend it for a romantic treat.

Room Tip: We had the Dr Theophilus Garecieres Suite. Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The Rookery is located in a beautiful historic building - which has been lovingly restored. However it lacks virtually all the facilities one expects from a hotel. It is really just a 'rooming house'. It should change its name and price point.
There is no car parking: the NCP is quite some way away.
The room we had was on the third floor - with no lift.
There is no proper bar: just an indifferently stocked 'honesty bar' where you serve yourself, - no cocktails, and no nice wine 'by the glass'.
There is nowhere to eat: they offer room service, but our room was quite small with no proper table and chairs. So, if you order breakfast, you may have to eat it in bed.
The decor looks lovely, but it's so uncomfortable: our bed was small double, and creaky, so we kept waking up. Our room was on the top floor and too hot, even though we turned off the radiators, and it was freezing weather outside. The bathroom was large - but there was no shower, the lighting over the mirror was inadequate, and the washbasin was cracked.
There was a wardrobe in the room, but no drawers for clothes.
And, even though you are staying in a business district very close to the City of London, the internet service doesn't work.... we had to keep going down the road to Starbucks to keep in touch with people. Would strongly recommend they get a better provider and more bandwidth.

Room Tip: Make sure you tell them you dont want a room on the third floor. There is no lift!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Lovely, unique place. Amazing room, nice to be trusted with the honesty bar, staff unobtrusive but helpful when needed, set in a nice bit of London with plenty of choice for food, and a tube stop at the end of the road. Ideal really

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I'm late with this review (I stayed there in July 2012 just prior to the Olympics)

The hotel is wonderful. Unobtrusive yet excellent service; you are left alone which suits me perfectly, but there were staff readily available should you need them (I didn't).

The room was terrific, after dozens of stays in identikit corporate hotel rooms this was so refreshing. Very nicely furnished with a comfy bed. The bathroom was lovely, however if you are used to a quick shower, then factor in a few more minutes to have a bath with a shower attachment.

I ordered breakfast that arrived on time and while pricier than getting it locally, I had jet lag and didn't feel like getting up to get food (there's several good cafes and sandwich ships within 5 seconds of the front door)

The sitting room, terrace and honesty bar were lovely too. Sitting outside on a warm London summer evening was great and if you bump into a fellow guest, then it's nice to have a chat and swap stories.

I'd stay here again!

One comment - for those who have complained about noise after 11pm - this part of London is high-density and lively. That's why it's great. I think all rooms have double-glazing which should make it quiet

Room Tip: Although there may be street noise from the many pubs / clubs nearby, if you are jet lagged you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rookery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rookery Hotel

Address: 12 Peter's Lane | Cowcross Street, London EC1M 6DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Family Hotel in London
#75 Luxury Hotel in London
#77 Romantic Hotel in London
#114 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rookery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rookery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rookery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.