We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Covent Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Covent Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Covent Garden Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Monmouth Street, London WC2H 9HB, England (Covent Garden)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 1,053 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Special Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I'm just home from a trip to London with my wife and our best friends. My wife and I had stayed at the Covent Garden Hotel two times previously and convinced our friends to give the CGH a shot on this their first trip to the UK. I'm always a little nervous when recommending hotels to friends, but given the quality of the CGH I wasn't really worried and the hotel and its great staff came through yet again.

The hotel itself is beautifully appointed and just oozes class. The restaurant in the hotel is great. The staff is wonderful. And the Seven Dials/Covent Garden neighborhood is hopping and also perfectly located in the center of the city. Yes, there are cheaper places to stay in London, but for a few extra pounds you can stay at a place that is truly special.

A couple of suggestions: (1) Ask for a room facing Monmouth Street ... there's a fair amount of traffic/noise on Shaftsbury Ave which some hotel rooms face. (2) Be sure to take advantage of the beautiful "living room" with honor bar just upstairs from the lobby ... a really wonderful place to hang out.

Final comment is that the hotel's website just doesn't do justice to the beauty of the place. Could really use more images and a video so you have a better sense of the treat you're in store for.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor (the 2nd floor is 3rd floor US style and so on) and facing Monmouth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    89
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
115
260
42
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife & I celebrated our wedding anniversary here over a weekend. We were very well looked after, our room was large & comfortable, the staff were warm & friendly, the food & service were excellent, and the location was perfect for the various theatre, gallery & restaurant outings that we enjoyed. Altogether, a very enjoyable stay in relaxed surroundings - no pretensions whilst the highest levels of customer service were sustained. Maybe a bit too expensive would be our only gripe.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Monmouth Street are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have stayed here before, once. For our Ruby Wedding Anav we decided this is where we wanted to be. It is expenssive, but worth every penny, the Location is perfect for Evening Dining or a show no taxi needed. The Decor super, a perfect mix, but what sets this apart from many other expensive Hotels is quite simply the staff. From the minuite you arrive you are welcomed and feel at home and dare I say a little bit special. We don't need constant attention just to know someone is there if necessary. It was necessary one evening when the gentleman next door had a long and very heated and loud discussion with someone in the USA (our time 2am) he continued to shout for some time and as it was obvious that he was upset and not likely to calm down our only option was to move, not ideal at that time of night but there was not much of a plan B as he had no intention of calming down what ever was said. We slept finially and as he was due to stay another night the Hotel moved us to their most perfect suite for our last night. I understand that we could have made an awful fuss, but we understand that stuff happens and we did enjoy our last night in splendor. It is a great place we will hopefully return

Room Tip: We had 412 lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I must say this has exceed my expectation. It was just like a 5star shortly after check in before go to see football. The atmosphere at the almost make us late for the football, the staff very entertaining us. I wish my ticket was not expensive then I would just stay there and enjoy myself to the limit. My friend paid a twin room and I bought the football tick but next time I will not hesitate to buy both.

Room Tip: my room was in the ug room which i did not prefer
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at the Covent Garden Hotel due to its proximity to the Theatre district but had no idea how much fun it would be. Not only is the hotel beautifully appointed and well-served by all the employees, we were most impressed with the staff's enthusiasm and friendliness. Although pricey (but what hotel in the centre of action is not) it was worth every cent.The food was delicious, the help unobtrusive, and the rooms were lovely. There is a sitting room on the second floor where guests could go to be away from the fray but not in their bed room. It will be difficult to replicate such a fine experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I absolutely love this hotel. Stellar customer service. Everyone who works here makes sure you are completely satisfied. Probably my favorite London Hotel that is affordable. Great interior design! Just simply soooo London! Love it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Always my wifes favourite hotel and did not disappoint this time. thanks to all the staff. we hope to be back soon. Just a great place to stay. Rooms always different but tastefully done, bar area buzzing and fun.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#9 of 1,053 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,238 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,053 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#17 of 1,053 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,090 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#14 of 1,053 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 555 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#4 of 1,053 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Covent Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Covent Garden Hotel

Address: 10 Monmouth Street, London WC2H 9HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#16 Luxury Hotel in London
#24 Romantic Hotel in London
#35 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Covent Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Covent Garden Hotel opened in April 1996 but the building dates back to the 1890’s when it operated as a French hospital. It is located in Monmouth Street, a charming cobbled street in the heart of the theatre district and surrounded by interesting boutiques, restaurants, cafes and bars. Covent Garden Hotel is "a quirky modern take on traditional English style." The hotel's interior has been dramatically designed by owner and design director Kit Kemp, and reflects her personal attention to detail. The ground floor is just like a stage set. A quietly bustling lobby leads into Brasserie Max, the hotel’s bar and restaurant. Up a sweeping stone staircase and into a sumptuous wood paneled drawing room and library, each with a log burning fireplace, quirky furniture and vivid upholstery. Downstairs there is a gym, private event space and a screening room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Covent Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Covent Garden London
Hotel Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Covent Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.