We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base to explore from...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Covent Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Covent Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Covent Garden Hotel
10 Monmouth Street, London WC2H 9HB, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 1,075 hotels in London
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent base to explore from...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I'd have to say that it's not normally the sort of place that we'd stay at but a combination of this being a birthday treat for my better half and other excellent TA reviews persuaded me to push the boat out a bit further than it might normally go. Sited in Monmouth Street, just to the north of Covent Garden itself, it's ideally sited to use as a base to explore that area of London and for theatre-going, which was really the main purpose of the trip. I booked two nights in a luxury room and when we arrived, my initial disappointment that we were on the ground floor dissipated somewhat when shown to Room 8, situated with several others behind the check-in desk. "Magnificent" didn't quite do it justice - short entrance halfway leading to large spacious bedroom with ultra-king size bed, modern decoration and usual accessories. To the left was a door leading to a bathroom that wasn't that much smaller than the bedroom itself. Two washbasins, toilet, bidet, a bath that the Mrs could have used as a swimming pool and a wonderful walk in shower...and to top it all, at the age of 53, I finally get to stay in a hotel room where the bathroom has a TV in it....shallow ? Me ? Both bedroom and bathroom were absolutely spotless. Room had excellent air-con and despite some concerns at the road visible outside, there was no traffic noise and we had two good nights sleep. The deal we got included breakfast, which was served in the Brasserie Max. Now, the food and service in here were excellent (as was service throughout the hotel) - but somehow the atmosphere wasn't. It felt like we were gate-crashing a large business meeting - or rather several business meetings. It's not unreasonable that such an establishment should attract a large number of business people - or be a place that is chosen for a "power breakfast." It just wasn't for us really. Evenings seemed to be somewhat more relaxed affairs and we enjoyed post theatre drinks in there. Overall, a fantastic short break and I'd certainly return...but maybe take breakfast in one of the many, many, less formal eateries that are available in that part of town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    448
    71
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
76
195
36
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skagen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Being back at Covent Garden Hotel is like comming back home. From the first step out of the Taxi we were met by "Welcome back to Covent Garden Hotel" - it is fantastic.

The concierge, the front desk, the brasserie, the honesty bar - everywhere we were met by fantastic service, good food topped with a smile.

The rooms are very nice, clean and eventhough the Hotel is situated in the center of everything, You can not hear any traffic noise.

The recent years I have tried a lot of good hotels, but this is my all time favorite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel 3 of the 5 times we have gone to London and the location is so convenient for the west end and Covent Garden. They even have some parking behind the hotel which is a bonus. The staff are very accommodating and friendly and the rooms are clean and well furnished.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor on the south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel in a wonderful little spot in London, tucked away just enough that you feel like you're out of the hustle bustle of the theater district - surrounded by cool boutiques/coffee shops and the like. Not to mention that it's close to a few underground lines that make getting around so easy.

The staff of this hotel is top notch, truly professional and willing to drop anything to help. My room was upgraded to a 4th floor suite which was amazing - I felt like I was in my own little haven on the top floor over looking the London skyline. The decor is fresh/modern/boutique and the bed very comfortable. The room was large and bathroom was like a little spa! ( I took photos as an inspiration for our bathroom remodel!)

Breakfast was included with my room - which meant the whole shebang! So much to choose from I couldn't make up my mind. I had dinner here one night and was blown away - my waiter asked me if I was cold (which I was) and he turned off the AC in the restaurant for me! WOW.

I kept trying to re-book this hotel throughout my stay, but I must have gotten a super great price because it was way out my budget. This would be a perfect place to bring your lover, your spouse or even a special trip with your mum :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Beautiful little hotel nestled in Covent Garden. Lots of great pubs, restaurants, & shops nearby. Rooms are beautiful with lots of extra little touches and the staff is very nice and helpful. The rooms have actual keys instead of key cards and the floor that I was on had a large sitting room. I only stayed one night but I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Had a fabulous 3 nights mini getaway. So happy we did, the staff were amazing and the area was super. Close to everything and we felt like we were visiting family. The rooms were spacious. Not cheap but worth every penny.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Needed a bite to eat around 6.30pm on a Saturday night. Everywhere was full but the restaurant here found us a table for 3. Menu is pricey but you are paying for the ambience, the wonderful staff and the simply phenomenal food - well worth it!

Room Tip: only ate in restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Covent Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Covent Garden Hotel

Address: 10 Monmouth Street, London WC2H 9HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in London
#15 Romantic Hotel in London
#28 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Covent Garden Hotel opened in April 1996 but the building dates back to the 1890’s when it operated as a French hospital. It is located in Monmouth Street, a charming cobbled street in the heart of the theatre district and surrounded by interesting boutiques, restaurants, cafes and bars. Covent Garden Hotel is "a quirky modern take on traditional English style." The hotel's interior has been dramatically designed by owner and design director Kit Kemp, and reflects her personal attention to detail. The ground floor is just like a stage set. A quietly bustling lobby leads into Brasserie Max, the hotel’s bar and restaurant. Up a sweeping stone staircase and into a sumptuous wood paneled drawing room and library, each with a log burning fireplace, quirky furniture and vivid upholstery. Downstairs there is a gym, private event space and a screening room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Covent Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Covent Garden London
Hotel Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Covent Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.