We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best all round Hotel in London” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Covent Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Covent Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Covent Garden Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Monmouth Street, London WC2H 9HB, England (Covent Garden)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best all round Hotel in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

I am frequent hotel resident in London so know many different Hotel types but the Covent Garden always seems to draw me back
I stayed recenty with my family and they looked after us superbly as usual
It is not big or complex just straight forward and delivers on everything you need to make you feel at home

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    87
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
102
245
41
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I booked the Covent Garden Hotel unaware that there were works going on - scaffolding spoiling the lovely facade with works on the roof. However sensing my disapointment the reception staff did all that they could to accomodate me in a good room - ending in a small suite.
On this occassion I found the drawing room - a lovely spot to unwind, and the movie nights that are held in their private cinema (Les Mis) for just 10 pounds. The CGH remains a firm favourite with a cosy homely feel - it really is a home away from home. Yes this is an expensive London hotel however its in an EXCELLENT choice with charm aplenty. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: If the works are still happening try and book a room on the first floor facing Monmouth street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed overnight in deluxe room (8), beautiful room with the largest bathroom in the hotel, some may have issue with double decker buses going past frequently but windows
are triple glazed windows and have one way blinds. Great location, attention to detail in room unsurpassed: museums, galleries, theatre, shopping etc all up to date and listed. Luxury night cream gift also welcome. Upstairs sitting room stunning with log fire & honesty bar.
Staff wonderful. I was ill overnight and they allowed me to stay uncharged until I was able to travel later in the afternoon. Room service were also helpful suggesting what I could eat; a very personal service and a lovely hotel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for room 8 but imagine all rooms lovely. Only snag that windows huge and double decker buses pass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

As other reviewers have said - great location, gorgeous rooms, very helpful staff, comfy beds, exceptionally clean, cinema in the basement a hidden gem. This would have had a five star rating but .... charging for breakfast when the room rate is £400 plus per night is a disgrace. Charging £10 for a tea tray in the room is another rip off. Having scaffolding up and roof repairs underway without mentioning this on thier website is poor customer relations. If you have money to burn then this hotel is for you. If you are looking for real value for your money then there are other 5 star hotels in London that won't treat you as a money pit. Come on Covent Garden - you could be outstanding!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I think the best thing about ths hotel are the staff and location.
we couldn't ask for a better location in the center of London.

The hotel was clean and nice, the cleaning staff did a great job.

The breakfast was good like all breakfasts in London.

I would like to thank the staff for such a nice visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

After years of enjoying this great hotel I have decided to move on. Why? They charge me extra for breakfast, even though each stay comes to over a grand, they hardly ever include breakfast (I accepted it because The Delauney in the Strand do a brilliant Brunch) but when I sat back and thought about it, I decided that no breakfast and no upgrade (once in 10 years?) Why should I give them my business in these tough times. So, will not be returning. The staff were beyond great, better than The Ritz and Claridges, but the owners, were a little short sighted in my personal view. Everyone loves a deal once in a while, rich or not!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed over for my wife 's Birthday. What a lovely welcome.! What a gem of a hotel! All the staff are friendly but very competent, the rooms are wonderful, the interior design outstanding.My breakfast was individually cooked, none of these steaming tureens here! Very highly recommended and worth every penny. A real star!! A real must for staying in central London. Right in the heart of Theatreland! You will not be disappointed!!

Room Tip: No need to add anything. It is all a wonderful place to be!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Covent Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Covent Garden Hotel

Address: 10 Monmouth Street, London WC2H 9HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in London
#15 Family Hotel in London
#15 Romantic Hotel in London
#23 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Covent Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Covent Garden Hotel opened in April 1996 but the building dates back to the 1890’s when it operated as a French hospital. It is located in Monmouth Street, a charming cobbled street in the heart of the theatre district and surrounded by interesting boutiques, restaurants, cafes and bars. Covent Garden Hotel is "a quirky modern take on traditional English style." The hotel's interior has been dramatically designed by owner and design director Kit Kemp, and reflects her personal attention to detail. The ground floor is just like a stage set. A quietly bustling lobby leads into Brasserie Max, the hotel’s bar and restaurant. Up a sweeping stone staircase and into a sumptuous wood paneled drawing room and library, each with a log burning fireplace, quirky furniture and vivid upholstery. Downstairs there is a gym, private event space and a screening room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Covent Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Covent Garden London
Hotel Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Covent Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.