We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - one of a kind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Covent Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Covent Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Covent Garden Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Monmouth Street, London WC2H 9HB, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Olathe, Kansas
Top Contributor
493 reviews 493 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - one of a kind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The rooms are really individually decorated, no two the same. Pricey, but the quality of service and comfort goes with it as well. The front desk folks remember the last visit you made, no matter how far in the past. Nice.

Room Tip: room 417 - faces the back of the hotel and has a lot of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    82
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
88
218
38
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel was part of a Christmas present which included a west end show. The hotel was very good and the staff very pleasant and helpful. It was only a short walk to the theatre so we expected to pay a premium for this location. Our room was sumptious, clean and warm, as was the bathroom. The "turn down" service was a nice surprise. My niggle was the absence of tea/coffee making facilities in the room which for a £300 plus a night hotel I find an unecessary and avoidable ommission which spoiled the warm and personable welcome we received. The mini bar prices are ridiculous and deserve the boycott I imagine all but the desperate enact. The breakfast was included in the room rate (fortunately) and was very good also. I would stay again - if they will provide tea/coffee in room!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are great. Very nice and good size. Fantastic location and also a good gym. Also stayed in its sister hotel the soho which is an inferior location but I liked the hotel a bit more and the staff at the soho were more friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

...to this cozy, elegant, quiet, clean, charming, cheerful, well-run boutIque hotel with the best breakfast you will find anywhere. And generously provided wifi throughout. With Neal's Yard across the street, a "Diagon Alley" shortcut on the way to the CG station (we didn't take the tube this trip - plenty of taxis and no traffic).
Coffee addict? Skip the Starbucks and look for the line of people heading into Monmouth Cofffee Co. across the street from the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

stayed here in October on a business trip and was pleasantly surprised. the staff were very friendly and the hotel was good although a little noisy at Times but then what do you expect from London? would definitely consider the hotel again if I was to return to the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanpur
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed here as I didn't have any other options. Loved the attitude of the staff and liked the peaceful stay. Very close to tube station. Rooms could be quieter but overall a good hotel. Scones were very good. Food was good overall.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our 3 days at this wonderful hotel to celebrate my Wife's 50th birthday got off to great start when we were upgraded to a junior suite on arrival. The staff couldn't have been more friendly, helpful and professional. It seemed that every time we left the room it was cleaned again. The hotel was without a doubt the best we have ever stayed in and it puzzles me why it is only ranked as 16th? The location is perfect for theatres, restaurants and shopping. All the sights are within walking distance and Monmouth Street is nice and quiet for a peaceful night's sleep. I can't praise the Covent Garden Hotel highly enough. Thanks again for a magical experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Covent Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Covent Garden Hotel

Address: 10 Monmouth Street, London WC2H 9HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in London
#10 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#25 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Covent Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Covent Garden Hotel opened in April 1996 but the building dates back to the 1890’s when it operated as a French hospital. It is located in Monmouth Street, a charming cobbled street in the heart of the theatre district and surrounded by interesting boutiques, restaurants, cafes and bars. Covent Garden Hotel is "a quirky modern take on traditional English style." The hotel's interior has been dramatically designed by owner and design director Kit Kemp, and reflects her personal attention to detail. The ground floor is just like a stage set. A quietly bustling lobby leads into Brasserie Max, the hotel’s bar and restaurant. Up a sweeping stone staircase and into a sumptuous wood paneled drawing room and library, each with a log burning fireplace, quirky furniture and vivid upholstery. Downstairs there is a gym, private event space and a screening room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, TripOnline SA, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith and Odigeo so you can book your Covent Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Covent Garden London
Hotel Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Covent Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.