We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Covent Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Covent Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Covent Garden Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Monmouth Street, London WC2H 9HB, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 1,073 hotels in London
dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

stayed here in October on a business trip and was pleasantly surprised. the staff were very friendly and the hotel was good although a little noisy at Times but then what do you expect from London? would definitely consider the hotel again if I was to return to the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    451
    72
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
79
195
36
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kanpur
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed here as I didn't have any other options. Loved the attitude of the staff and liked the peaceful stay. Very close to tube station. Rooms could be quieter but overall a good hotel. Scones were very good. Food was good overall.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our 3 days at this wonderful hotel to celebrate my Wife's 50th birthday got off to great start when we were upgraded to a junior suite on arrival. The staff couldn't have been more friendly, helpful and professional. It seemed that every time we left the room it was cleaned again. The hotel was without a doubt the best we have ever stayed in and it puzzles me why it is only ranked as 16th? The location is perfect for theatres, restaurants and shopping. All the sights are within walking distance and Monmouth Street is nice and quiet for a peaceful night's sleep. I can't praise the Covent Garden Hotel highly enough. Thanks again for a magical experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We went here for afternoon tea for a family treat before Christmas and had a lovely time. The tea was very nice, not as good as we have had elsewhere, hence the very good rather than excellent rating. The scones were good, the sandwiches were average, the setting lovely and the service very attentive. Overlooking the street on a rainy day, with the twinkling Christmas lights was a lovely way to sepnd an afternoon. Not cheap however you could ask for more sandwiches and scones if you wanted to so it really is a great way to get the best value from it. A nice place for a special treat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Following a friends recommendation I decided to book here for my mums surprise visit to London and I have to say, the staff, the establishment and the whole experience made this break super special. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very special. The staff are a credit to the hotel, particularly the Restaurant Manager, (Renton). He really does go beyond the call of duty to ensure your stay is just perfect.

The rooms were outstanding. Quality, cleanliness and attention to detail again are exemplary. I have stayed in many hotels throughout the UK and have to say, the Covent Garden is up there with the best of them. I was so very impressed with every aspect of our stay. Wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone at the Covent Garden.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in December 2012 as somewhere very central to stay following a work Christmas party. The location is awesome. The room we had was a great size, right on the street but no road noise owing to the double windows they have installed. Breakfast was excellent, staff so relaxed with their guests and the overall atmosphere is one of relaxed sophistication. We had afternoon tea on the Saturday with our 5 year old son and we felt very comfortable and had a wonderful time.

Summary - this place is awesome. We will without a doubt be back again when needing to stay centrally. The staff are great, the location is great, the food was great, the lounge is great...... Need I say more.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Second time here. As before the staff are super-helpful and friendly; the room was extremely comfortable (as good or better than the best we've stayed at eg. Claridges); the atmosphere is just right; and the price is reasonable given the location and quality. Both rooms have been surprisingly peaceful at night given the central location, which is perfect for Soho and Covent Garden. Warning: the cocktails are exceedingly moreish.
Two minor criticisms, for which I nearly knocked off a star: the breakfast is expensive but not really good enough to justify it; and the WiFi charging and access is excessively complicated in an age where we carry three always-on WiFi devices between 2 - just make it free (ie. built into the room price!).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Covent Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Covent Garden Hotel

Address: 10 Monmouth Street, London WC2H 9HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#31 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Covent Garden Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Covent Garden Hotel opened in April 1996 but the building dates back to the 1890’s when it operated as a French hospital. It is located in Monmouth Street, a charming cobbled street in the heart of the theatre district and surrounded by interesting boutiques, restaurants, cafes and bars. Covent Garden Hotel is "a quirky modern take on traditional English style." The hotel's interior has been dramatically designed by owner and design director Kit Kemp, and reflects her personal attention to detail. The ground floor is just like a stage set. A quietly bustling lobby leads into Brasserie Max, the hotel’s bar and restaurant. Up a sweeping stone staircase and into a sumptuous wood paneled drawing room and library, each with a log burning fireplace, quirky furniture and vivid upholstery. Downstairs there is a gym, private event space and a screening room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with WHM Global Ltd., Booking.com, Orbitz, MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Covent Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Covent Garden London
Hotel Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Covent Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.