We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea treat at Covent Garden Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Covent Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Covent Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Covent Garden Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Monmouth Street, London WC2H 9HB, England (Covent Garden)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 1,052 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
204 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea treat at Covent Garden Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We went here for afternoon tea for a family treat before Christmas and had a lovely time. The tea was very nice, not as good as we have had elsewhere, hence the very good rather than excellent rating. The scones were good, the sandwiches were average, the setting lovely and the service very attentive. Overlooking the street on a rainy day, with the twinkling Christmas lights was a lovely way to sepnd an afternoon. Not cheap however you could ask for more sandwiches and scones if you wanted to so it really is a great way to get the best value from it. A nice place for a special treat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    89
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
110
256
42
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Following a friends recommendation I decided to book here for my mums surprise visit to London and I have to say, the staff, the establishment and the whole experience made this break super special. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very special. The staff are a credit to the hotel, particularly the Restaurant Manager, (Renton). He really does go beyond the call of duty to ensure your stay is just perfect.

The rooms were outstanding. Quality, cleanliness and attention to detail again are exemplary. I have stayed in many hotels throughout the UK and have to say, the Covent Garden is up there with the best of them. I was so very impressed with every aspect of our stay. Wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone at the Covent Garden.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in December 2012 as somewhere very central to stay following a work Christmas party. The location is awesome. The room we had was a great size, right on the street but no road noise owing to the double windows they have installed. Breakfast was excellent, staff so relaxed with their guests and the overall atmosphere is one of relaxed sophistication. We had afternoon tea on the Saturday with our 5 year old son and we felt very comfortable and had a wonderful time.

Summary - this place is awesome. We will without a doubt be back again when needing to stay centrally. The staff are great, the location is great, the food was great, the lounge is great...... Need I say more.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Second time here. As before the staff are super-helpful and friendly; the room was extremely comfortable (as good or better than the best we've stayed at eg. Claridges); the atmosphere is just right; and the price is reasonable given the location and quality. Both rooms have been surprisingly peaceful at night given the central location, which is perfect for Soho and Covent Garden. Warning: the cocktails are exceedingly moreish.
Two minor criticisms, for which I nearly knocked off a star: the breakfast is expensive but not really good enough to justify it; and the WiFi charging and access is excessively complicated in an age where we carry three always-on WiFi devices between 2 - just make it free (ie. built into the room price!).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Covent Garden hotel like all the Firmdale group hotels and has the most amazingly comfortable beds, I wish ours at home was like it .
Everything these guys do is better than good, their hotels feel special, the decor is cool and stylish but relaxing, service is friendly but sharp, the concierge knows his stuff and the bar is one of the best in town. Maybe we were a bit fazed after seeing the Stones the night before but found the breakfast menu a little confusing, hence managed a £62 bill. Excellent quality, but it took 40 minutes to arrive and was warm not hot. I'm sure they would have put it right if told but by now we were in a hurry. It's still the best in the area and we'll go back.

Room Tip: Our fourth floor room looked across the roofs of Coventry Garden, no Mary Poppins though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Had a 3-night stay at this hotel, fantastic staff, wonderful rooms and perfect location within walking distance of Soho and many great restaurants and shops. Being charged £20 a day for the Internet in such a pricey hotel is always a downer but not much else to complain about. Wonderful staff as well. Super comfy beds.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Only dropped in for lunch on Sunday and can't wait to find an excuse to stay, staff were ever so helpful even with 5 children they satisfied each one, food was perfect. Only problem was no where to change a nappy however this didn't detract from the fabulous experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#7 of 1,052 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,188 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,052 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#18 of 1,052 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,068 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#6 of 1,052 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 546 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#4 of 1,052 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Covent Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Covent Garden Hotel

Address: 10 Monmouth Street, London WC2H 9HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in London
#16 Luxury Hotel in London
#25 Romantic Hotel in London
#32 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Covent Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Covent Garden Hotel opened in April 1996 but the building dates back to the 1890’s when it operated as a French hospital. It is located in Monmouth Street, a charming cobbled street in the heart of the theatre district and surrounded by interesting boutiques, restaurants, cafes and bars. Covent Garden Hotel is "a quirky modern take on traditional English style." The hotel's interior has been dramatically designed by owner and design director Kit Kemp, and reflects her personal attention to detail. The ground floor is just like a stage set. A quietly bustling lobby leads into Brasserie Max, the hotel’s bar and restaurant. Up a sweeping stone staircase and into a sumptuous wood paneled drawing room and library, each with a log burning fireplace, quirky furniture and vivid upholstery. Downstairs there is a gym, private event space and a screening room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Covent Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Covent Garden London
Hotel Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Covent Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.